We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Save Saved
You added Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lower Mid Week Pricing
Ranked #6 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“The Best place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2006

I have been going to Lake Placid for quite a few years. I have stayed at some small town motels and resorts, but of all the hotels, the Best Western Golden Arrow (soon to change the name to I don't know what) was a great hotel with excellent location.
I especially enjoy the view from the lobby with its grand chalet style atmosphere. I have styed here twice and both times, I chose the lake view side. It really is the only way to enjoy the serene beauty of Mirror Lake and the surrounding High peaks reigion of the Adirondack Mountains. The hotel is situated right on the edge of Mirror Lake in the center of Lake Placid Olympic Village. The hotel is right on the Main rd and convenientwalking distance to everything in the village.
The hotel offers complementary boats )row boats, kayaks, peddle boats, & canoes) for it's patrons, which is great when you want to really be alone on a peaceful lake to just take it all in or to have a romantic boat ride or to just spend quality time with your family. This is probably the best thing that the hotel offers as it really is an experience that needs to be taken in. No motorized boats are allowed on Mirror Lake, but they are allowed on nearby Lake Placid which is a much larger horsehoe style lake.
As far as the rooms and service. The staff seemd very friendly and helpful both trimes I stayed there. The rooms were okay. I have stayed in better rooms, but I didn't plan staying my whole vacation in my room. The 2 bed rooms only had 2 full size beds which makes it more difficult for 2 people to sleep in one bed (especially since we are used to King sized. They do have King Sized beds in some rooms, but not a 2 bed room. Even 2 queens would suffice. the bottom floor hallway is not the most pleasant smelling areas, but the room did not smell. Maybe someone spilled something. The Hotel also has special rooms for Dog owners.
The hotel also has a private roped in beach with real beach sand for the little ones so you don't miss out much on the Jersey, LI, or Cape Cod shores.
The restuarant on the main street is probably one of the best kid friendly eateries in town.
This is truly an all year round place with so much to do. The Adirondack High Peaks region are some of the most beautiful peaceful mountains in the country. This is a very underated village for summertime, but I enjoy it there more in the spring, summer, & fall when the real beauty of the Adirondacks shines, than in the winter when it transforms into the winter sports capital of the NorthEast with Skiing/Snowboarding, snowmobiling, skating, bobsledding, ski jumping, and much more.
During the other seasons, the region has some of the best novice to advanced mountain climbing in the NorthEast. This region is a photographers dream. There many natural beauties to take in; the High Falls Groge, Ausable Chasms, and Whiteface Mnt (which has a 12 mile road that you can drive to the top, you can hike up, or ride a gondola to Little Whiteface) just to name a few. If you enjoy more of a challenge, Mt Marci and the other High Peaks are nearby.
If you have youg children, there is the original Santa's Workshop in North Pole, NY, around the area or Upper Jay. The rides there are primarily for young children and they get to meet real reindeer.
I have styed at other places ( the Lake Placid Resiort, now called the Crowne Plaza Resort) which was nice...especially the Chalets that are between 250-500 per night. They are great for a romantic weekend getaway with a real wood fireplace in the living room and full sized hot tub surrounded by mirrors, right in the Master bedroom and a 2nd story loft with 2 twin beds. Other than that, the walk up the extremely steep hill of stairs (proably like 100 of them) made walking back from the village more of a task than a pleasure and the 3 resort golf courses are not right on premises, you either have to drive or wait for the shuttle....another inconvenice.
Overall, if you plan on going to Lake Placid and want the convenience of great views, great lake access, convenient main st access, free recreation, and peaceful pleasure, try the Best Western Golden Arrow. For 200+ per night it is a pretty good hotel. I would like it even more if the rooms had larger beds, but it is Lake Placid and it is more expensive than other areas so 200 per night on the lake is a good deal.


Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    220
    68
    34
    16
See reviews for
222
233
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

This is a great place to stay. Our room was lovely and had a wonderful view of the lake and mountains. Our only concern was the inconsideration of the pet owners who brought their dogs into the childrens' play area and permitted them to relieve themselves and didn't bother to pick up the droppings. A separate area for pets should be provided.

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

Truly..the location of this place cannot be bet. The Golden Arrow is one end of Main street with the Hilton at the other end. The staff was very helpful. The Lake view rooms have a tiny balcony (bit disappointing) but the views are wonderful. Cannot ask for much more at this price.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2006

Just had another wonderful stay!
After a great getaway with one of my sons in January, I returned with my wife for a few days this week. If possible, the staff was even nicer and more accomodating, the room was even cleaner, more comfortable, more spacious and had an even more spectacular view, and we were made to feel even more at home.
Having stayed at countless Best Westerns all around the country for the last several decades, I can say with some expertise that the Golden Arrow is one of the real jewels of the entire BW system.
We'll be returning regularly.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night just after New Year's. It was a great deal for the night, especially given the great lake/mountain view and little balcony we had off our room. It is very family oriented (and lots of kids running around). The lobby is the best part...fireplace and "lodge" like feel with great view. The room was huge and somewhat updated but the pillows were bad (we asked for new ones) and had that air freshener overkill smell...but seemed clean. The location is great and parking easy due to the underground garage. Not a bad deal for one or two nights.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2006

My boyfriend and I spent the weekend in Lake Placid and the Golden Arrow was one one of the only decent hotels that had rooms on short notice. Our room itself was pleasant and clean, though the nicely marbled shower had low water pressure and we found that keeping a constant temperature was tricky. A key factor in our choice of this hotel was the indoor hottub so we were disappointed to find that it was only about 90 degrees and had a constant cold stream of water coming directly in from the pool. We stayed only a few minutes and sadly left because it simply wasn't pleasant. A complaint to the front desk brought a confusing answer with something about how guests complained that it gets too hot. Regardless, the lobby was nicely appointed with comfy couches and a gas fireplace, so we warmed outselves there a couple of times. The staff were a bit unprofessional and joked around too casually while guests were near, and in the parking garage we found two housekeeping staff smoking while sitting on the hood of our car.

Still, we loved the hotel location and views of Mirror Lake and would certainly return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2005

I rolled in to Lake Placid with no hotel or any clue where I'd stay, but chose the Golden b/c it was on the lake. Yet I had a ground floor facing the road. No bother, I had to leave right at dawn, anyway. But my room was very nice, comfortable, with a nice bed. The air was fine, setting room temperatures was no problem for maintaining my comfort level.

The high speed access was hard to deal with, had to be done in the lobby. I hope they rectify that issue. But it was a pleasant stay, and I would return again. I was charged the higher rate, because it was done over the phone instead of by a website or something.

The staff was nice and helpful, and the ambience was cabin- like, very mellow and not loud with modern appearances. Yet it by all means was classy and not dated. A woodsy feel with the use of lumber.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.