We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort to your Saves list
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring BOGO Sale
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Ossining, New York
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We came for a romantic weekend, and stayed in the Normandy suite, the one that has the large jacuzzi tub. Well, the jacuzzi really was as great as advertised; large and comfortable, and so was the bathroom itself. The room itself was spacious, with wood-burning fireplace (firewood was kindly provided, and more than we could burn), large king size bed and large comfortable couch. We couldn't use the balcony because it was very cold, but the view of the lake was beautiful. I can only imagine how magnificent it is in the summer. We had a microwave and coffee maker, so we could enjoy nice tea time in the evenings.
We went to their restaurant for breakfast, and were pleasantly surprised to find breakfast buffet for only 10 dollars per person; which was filling and delicious, great before a strenuous hike.
The staff was super friendly and helpful. Location on the Main street makes it easy to go into "town" to enjoy some souvenir shopping or to find a place to eat.
However, this room has a connecting door to the adjacent room, to make it into one large suite I guess; and as a result, you can hear anything and everything that goes on in the other room. So much for privacy.. Also, I was surprised to find out that there were no tissues provided, which is a usual amenity in all the hotels I stayed. I don't know whether it has to do with them being "green", but it was inconvenient.
Parking garages were a little bit of a maze.. but we figured it out. Just go slow :)

Room Tip: If you want privacy and quiet, don't choose the room with connecting door. Overall, the walls ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Aleksandra L,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of the Golden Arrow. It seems that you thouroughly enjoyed your stay. I'm glad that you were able to use the Jacuzzi tub in your room, wood burning fire place, take in the beautiful view, and enjoy a delicious breakfast while you were here.

I apologize that being connected to another room was disruptive to you. Maybe next time you stay with us you might try our Haystack Specialty Room or Algonquin Suite; Both of those rooms have Jacuzzi tubs as well as wood burning fireplaces, but are not connected to any other room.
We actually do have boxes of tissues in all of our rooms, in Normandy they are in the vanity so it's possible that the tissue was not sticking out of the box making it difficult to see. We would have been happy to bring you up another box if you would have shared that complaint with us while in house. I apologize that it was an inconvenience to you.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review your experience. I hope you will visit us this summer, it is a very different, but equally beautiful experience. I wish you safe and happy travels until we meet again.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    279
    80
    38
    19
See reviews for
271
326
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York NY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Got us a Groupon deal and boy was it well worth it. I have been visiting Lake Placid on and off for many years but never stayed here. Cannot beat its location on Main Street and on Mirror Lake which our room opened up to, and with the added benefits of having easily and readily available to us the use of canoes, kayaks, etc. for our enjoyment. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast in the restaurant very good, and loved the fact that they have a Green Roof Garden where they grow produce to use in their kitchen. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: lakefront room opening to beach/lake for easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear TonyNYC-NY,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at the Golden Arrow. It’s wonderful that you were able to give us a try this time around for your trip to Lake Placid. I’m glad you enjoyed our unbeatable location, complimentary boats, friendly staff, and restaurant complete with green roof!

Thank you, again, for your review. I look forward to your return to the Golden Arrow. I wish you safe and happy travels until we meet again. :)

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and were extremely pleased. It's not fancy but it is clean and the beds are comfortable. The lake view rooms are a great value with a nice expansive view of beautiful Mirror Lake. The indoor pool area is fantastic with two whirlpools and a well kept pool. Sometimes little things matter like the fact that it only costs 1 quarter to play foosball or billiards in their game room. On a rainy day it kept us and the kids occupied. It is in town and a short walk to some great restaurants and quaint shops. My one criticism is the parking area. I have a small car and it is difficult to navigate into a spot in their underground garages. For those with large vehicles outdoor parking is the best option. Overall, the Golden Arrow is a great value for Lake Placid.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Dave M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience at the Golden Arrow. It sounds like you and your family were able to enjoy many aspects of the resort, that’s fantastic. It’s great that you were able to use the pool, enjoy the beautiful view from your room, play in the game room, and walk to many of the quaint shops on Main Street.

I apologize that the parking situation was difficult for you. We try to do our best to help guests find adequate parking, but I realize that it can sometimes be tight. Luckily there are many places you can walk to from the hotel so I hope you were able to park your car and leave it for a while.

I thank you again for your wonderful review and I hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This past July was our fourth visit to Lake Placid and our third year at Golden Arrow. Each year we have extended our stay, and next year we will be there for a full week. The staff is great. They are extremely pet friendly, the facilities are great, and we are very glad they are so committed to protecting the environment. We also enjoy eating at Generations. All in all, we think Golden Arrow is the best hotel in Lake Placid!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear eajsalzer,

Thank you for naming us the best hotel in Lake Placid! I happen to have the same opinion ;). It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoy our pet friendliness, commitment to being ‘green’, and restaurant Generations. We will see you in July, until then, I wish you safe and happy travels.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was our 7th trip to the area of the past 30+ years. We've noticed this resort over the years but for some unexplained reason never consider it as a place to stay. On our last visit (4 years ago) we met a couple that raved about it so we were determined to give it a try. So glad we did. Our room was comfortable and cleans. We had a great view from our room, loved having a Kurig coffee maker and fridge, loved that the resort is "green", loved the employees, loved the location, etc. We will absolutely go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Michelle F,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, I’m very glad you were able to give us a try for your most recent visit to Lake Placid. It’s great that you loved our comfortable and clean guest rooms as well as the view from your room, Keurig coffee maker and fridge.

We can’t wait to have you back for your next visit to the area. Again, thank you for your kind words.

Sincerely,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

For the price and location my husband and I agree this is the best place to stay. We stayed 2 nights in September 2013 for our one year anniversary. The room had an amazing view of mirror lake. We were able to walk downtown from the hotel which saved the hassle of trying to find parking down town. We walked to the brewery which was about 5 min or less. The hotel has free kayaks which we used to tour mirror lake. Our room was large. Bathrooms were nice. The pool and hotel features are dated. The lobby is gorgeous! Staff were helpful n knowledgeable! You really cannot beat this location and price. Yes other hotels are closer but also much more $$ hope this review helps! Enjoy your stay!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Lindsey S,

Thank you very much for your review, I am sure many people will find it very helpful. I love that you and your husband were able to enjoy your first anniversary here. Thank you for pointing out how convenient our location is and that your room was large, bathroom was nice and had an amazing view.

I hope you will stay with us again next time you are in Lake Placid, maybe for your next anniversary! I wish you safe and happy travels until we meet again.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonda, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed from Monday, Feb. 3 to Wednesday, Feb. 5. Everything was terrific. Our room was ready for early check in as requested. The young ladies working at the front desk were friendly. As soon as we entered our room, I was relaxed. The green cleaning products they use gave it a pleasant, fresh scent. We stayed in the "Haystack suite" and it was perfect. Our view was beautiful, the tub relaxing and the fireplace warm and comforting. The plush robes provided became our wardrobe whenever we were in. Unfortunately, I came down with a migraine on Tuesday, but was able to rest as the hotel was quiet . We are looking forward to staying again and again!

Room Tip: For a romantic escape, you cant go wrong in the Haystack Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear sassy94,

Thank you for your review of the Golden Arrow. I am very glad you had such a wonderful romantic getaway at the resort, I could not have described the Haystack room better myself! It’s unfortunate you came down with a migraine during your stay, but I’m glad you were able to rest quietly.

We look forward to having you back at the Golden Arrow very soon. I wish you the safest and happiest of travels until we meet again.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.