We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort to your Saves list
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Happy Hour All Day!
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
GreenLeadersGold level
edison nj
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

it is with-in walking distace of many good resturantes and attacunes.Theplace it self is very nice and is worth the price also you get a full beakfast.The only brawback was that alot was closed due to seanal matanance.I would go in sept at the latest.

Room Tip: i would go for a lakeside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Verizon,

Thank you for your review of the Golden Arrow. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. During this time of year the middle of the week is slow for the resort. We take advantage of this by getting maintenance projects done. The fact that we are slow is reflected in our pricing, you definitely get the most bang for your buck in late fall, early winter. The last week in September is VERY beautiful here, that’s usually when the fall foliage is at its peak, and I would definitely recommend visiting at that time.

I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area. Thank you again for your review.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    261
    76
    35
    18
See reviews for
253
306
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Having found Golden Arrow online, we didn't know what to expect other than what their website stated. We were happy to discover they were all they said they were. They have the best location being right in town but also right on the water with beautiful views. Visiting in late September meant we had nature's beautiful show everywhere we turned - the leaves were phenomenal. As for the hotel, it was nicely decorated (the lobby was beautiful) and it was clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. We stayed in two rooms over the course of our stay - a "regular room" which was located on the top floor at the far end of the resort - it had a great view and was very private and quiet - the king size bed was very comfortable. The room had been updated (but probably not the bathroom) and was more than suitable for our needs. The next night we opted for the Haystack Specialty room which was also nice as it had a fireplace and a in-room tub as well as a lovely updated three piece bath. Unfortunately, the view of the lake and mountains was blocked by the large evergreens directly in front of the balcony so we would probably not choose this room again solely for that reason. We had dinner in the restaurant and although it was very busy (a large bus tour group of seniors arrived unannounced) they made sure we got our food. The food was good but a little overpriced for the quality. We did not have an opportunity to enjoy the pool or the beach but both looked nice. We plan to come back next summer and bring our family - it was definitely a great place to stay. The resort's closeness to all the amenities and natural wonders made this a great place to stay.

Room Tip: As noted in the review, the Haystack room we stayed in had an obstructed view which isn't mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Erin H,

Thank you for your review of the Golden Arrow. I’m very glad we exceeded your expectations of the resort. It’s great to hear that we are accurately representing ourselves online. Thank you for the kind compliments on our location, lobby, and helpful staff. I do apologize that there was a tree blocking part of your view in the Haystack room. I would recommend booking the Normandy room as it has similar amenities to the Haystack but is more centrally located and without any obstructions.

I am ecstatic that you will be returning with your family next summer! We have many deluxe accommodations, specialty rooms, and suites that would be able to meet the specifications of your family, please inquire with one of our reservation specialists upon booking. Thank you, again, for your wonderful review. I wish you safe and happy travels until you stay with us again.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have stayed in Lake Placid many times over the past 10+ years and we have always stayed at the "4 Diamond" Resort on the other end of the lake but their minimum stay policies and lack of flexability with those rules kept us from staying there. I can't thank them enough for helping us find the Golden Arrow Resort. We stayed there this past weekend for our Anniversary and had a excellent relaxing stay. My wife and I stayed in the Haystack Suite and found the room to be perfect. It had a fireplace, large kohler air tub, great bathroom with a large shower, and comfortable king bed.
We were also extremely supprised to find a very thoughtful anniversary gift from the Golden Arrow in our room when we arrived! The other "4 Diamond" place we have stayed at for 9 years never left us anything at 4x the price/night.
We did not eat at Generations as it was setup for a buffet style dinner/breakfast for the CanAm hockey group. Although in past years we have had breakfast there and found it to be good.
Good Customer service goes a long way these days, and the Golden Arrow has exceeded all our expectations. Their attention to details and willingness to go the extra mile was very much appreciated and we will be rewarding them with our loyality. My wife and I will refer guest to stay at the Golden Arrow and we will be returning this winter for some skiing, as well as our anniversary next October.

Green Features: This Hotel has made a huge commitment to being Green. We are always looking to support companies that are environmentally responsible. The Golden Arrow goes above and beyond to make sure they are taking care of the beautiful Adirondack environment around them. Great Job.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Amick780,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review of the Golden Arrow. I am thrilled that our staff could make you and your wife’s anniversary extra special. The Haystack room is one of my favorites as well; it has the perfect amount of coziness and elegance.

I cannot thank you enough for your kind words and compliments; it’s always nice to know that the staff’s work is appreciated! I’m very glad we have gained a loyal customer. I look forward to seeing you again this winter. I wish you safe and happy travels until we meet again.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice views of mirror lake from the balcony. Friendly staff and great location, walkable to main st,Olympic center. Even there is a indoor walk into alpine mall, I guess for the colder months. When we were there temp was warm. When we decided to checkout late , no issues from the front desk. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Maketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Webcrawl,

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation. It’s always wonderful to hear good feedback on the resort. I’m very glad you were happy with the location of the resort and friendly staff.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you’re in Lake Placid. Until then, I wish you safe and happy travels.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarence Center, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here with my family while in town for a hockey tournament. After reading the previous reviews, i emailed them and requested an updated room. I didnt receive a reply so i sent it again. I did receive a reply that time and was told we would not only get an updated room but one with a lake view. Unfortunately, we got the lake view but our room was terribly rundown, especially the bathroom. It was very small with cracked tile, stained wallpaper and dirty baseboards. The room was also old and kind of dark but the beds were comfortable. Housekeeping seems to be an issue. We waited until after 5:00 to have our room cleaned. Our package included breakfast and dinner. The dining room was always very crowded and messy. The air vents were covered with dust and cobwebs. We usually had to wait for a table because they dont have enough staff to clean off the dirty ones.
There are some positives to this place...the view is beautiful, the staff is pretty friendly and our kids had a lot of fun but i dont know that i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Mauzy61,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I’m glad that you enjoyed the beautiful view from your guest room and that your kids had fun.

I apologize that your room was not as updated as you had hoped. We are constantly working on updating rooms, but being a very busy resort, it sometimes in difficult. Starting in November we are working on redoing an entire wing of the resort so that will give us more to choose from when honoring requests like yours. We also try to keep hockey teams together so that can make it difficult to honor all requests as well. Our suites and specialty rooms are all updated so if you definitely want to be guaranteed an updated room, I would request one of those. They are more expensive than the other rooms, but we do have many at different price points.

I have relayed your comments to the proper restaurant and housekeeping supervisors so they can address them as they see fit. I truly thank you for your comments.

I do hope you will stay with us again so we can prove to you how great of an experience you could have here. I wish you safe and happy travels until we meet again.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Can't fault this hotel. We had a wonderful room overlooking the lake which was like a mirror and the fall colours were superb. Food was very good, service excellent, great staff. Situated in centre of Town and very convenient for shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Ab_roody,

Thank you very much for your review. I’m delighted that you were able to enjoy the fall season at the Golden Arrow. It’s a very beautiful time to experience the Adirondacks. Thank you for your kind compliments of our food, service, staff, and convenient location.

I hope you will be able to come back and visit again soon!

My Best,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DANVILLE
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were part of a large group staying in this hotel and we all arrived earlier than anticipated. As soon as the rooms were ready, which was before the check-in time, the front desk accomodated us. Their service was courteous and friendly, and they didn't mind having our bicycles held inside the front door while we waited.

The rooms were amazingly large, and updated, and we immediately noticed the beautiful view of the lake from our room. Everything we needed was provided, including hair blower, robe, and the usual goodies associated with a 4 star hotel. The only thing we found confusing with this hotel was getting from one end of the hotel to another. Sometimes we had to go down one floor on the elevator, switch to another elevator to eventually get to our destination inside the hotel.

Especially convenient during inclement weather is the ability to access a small inside shopping mall which feeds to the outdoors, without having to walk a distance outside the hotel's front entry to get to the street.

Our bicycles were conveniently stored inside the hotel in a lower floor room.

There was no restaurant or continental breakfast associated with this hotel, but there are plenty of options within a few blocks of the hotel. The Olympic skating rink is practically directly across the street for those who want to see a bit of sports history in action.

The hotel is centrally located and easy to get to by bike. Both car and pedestrian traffic was a bit of a hassle even during October, but it's navigable.

We highly recommmend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake, and stay at least on the third or fourth floor for the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Director of Marketing at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear bhailey,

Thank you for your review and recommendation of the Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort. It’s great to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay. I will admit that the layout of the resort can be confusing at times; this is because the building was added to by the Holderied family many times over the course of 40 years. We try to make sure no one gets lost by having adequate signage and making sure that our employees are around to help when needed.

We actually do have a restaurant attached to the hotel, it’s called Generations and they serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Their specialty is farm to fork cuisine, utilizing many fresh ingredients from the farms of the Adirondacks. You should definitely check it out next time you’re in town.

I’m very glad you enjoyed the resort; I hope you and your group will stay with us again! I wish you safe and happy travels until we meet again.

Cheers,
Olivia Zeis
Director of Marketing
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.