We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden Arrow is a gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort to your Saves list
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Happy Hour All Day!
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
GreenLeadersGold level
Troy, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Golden Arrow is a gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I had a very enjoyable weekend, from start to finish, at the Golden Arrow. Check in was easy and the friendly clerk checked us in with a smile and some humor! There was a hockey tournament in town and he put us in a room away from the families. Our room on the first floor was a lakeside room and immediately we went to the doors and looked out at a beautiful view, complete with a dog sled going by and young kids playing hockey on the rink. The beds were extremely comfortable. The indoor pool area is beautiful! Large pool, hot tub, steam room, sauna. All of them clean, and we had the whole place to ourselves. We enjoyed some drinks at the lounge the first evening and breakfast at Generations the first morning, both good. The entrance through the Alpine mall is really convenient! Recommend Delta Blues across the street for some night life. Great bands played both Friday and Saturday night. Really friendly people, too! We would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are a must. We were on the first floor and could walk right out onto the frozen lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    261
    76
    35
    18
See reviews for
253
306
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Perfect stay at the Golden Arrow. We stayed in a suite with fireplace overlooking the lake. Watching children playing ice hockey on the frozen lake, with dog sled rides was great. Our room was perfect. The hotel staff was very good.
The hotel resturant was also very good. People make your hotel stays either very good or not. A big shout out to Veronica in the hotel resturant

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Public Relations Manager at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Michael,
Thank you very much for your review. I am thrilled you had such a great experience at the Golden Arrow. I have relayed the message to the staff and Veronica!
We hope to see you again soon!
Cheers,
Olivia Zeis/ Director of Marketing/PR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex County
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had to call a few times after I made reservations online. I was suppose to receive a call back with an answer to my question, but I never got a call back. I called again the next day and my question was answered to my satisfaction. The rep was always very pleasant. I also emailed the day before our arrival to ask for an early check in, which they could not guarantee, but we got it!
We stayed in The Main Street Condo 500 Unit. It's a hop, skip and a jump from the parking garage. Upon walking up the hallway stairs to the unit, I was a little nervous b/c it was sandy, salty and musty. My family of 6 was pleasantly surprised when we opened the door to the unit. There was a large leather sectional,large coffee table,flat screen tv, small kitchen table with seating for 6. There small bedroom was adequate...wish there was a TV in there. The downstairs bathroom had shower. The upstairs loft was quite large, with two queen beds, an arm chair, desk and flat screen tv. There was plenty of room to walk around in the loft. The bathroom upstairs in have a tub but the jets did not work. I only wished that the carpets were better taken care of...

Room Tip: Not a unit for small children. I would be nervous that they would try to lean over the loft balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We got the 3 days for 2 deal and it was great value. We were even able to ski for three days due to the great soaks in the very hot tub and sauna. The pool area was a bit noisy late in the afternoon but quiet earlier in the afternoon.
Surprisingly, Lake Placid was not busy during the Ontario March Break; great for us.
Our room, #425, had two queen-size beds and a great view. The room was bid enough to relax in while the weather decided what to do.
The location is fantastic for strolling in Lake Placid for shopping and going out for dinner. I loved the back way out to the street via the Alpine Mall; it saved us walking longer in the rain and/or cold.

Room Tip: #425 was big and had a great view but was a bit of a walk from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Can't begin to describe my feelings about the Golden Arrow. I've been coming up for more years than I'll admit to and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The location is just right, Baby Bear. It is the one hotel directly on Mirror Lake (which means the lovely beach,chairs, row boats, and dock for the summer and easy access to the ice and dog sled ride people in the winter) and yet it's in the midst of the shops and restaurants on Main Street. The rooms are comfortable and the housekeeping staff run a tight ship (and are just great ladies too). The Holderieds and the entire the crew (maintenance, front desk, and back office staff) keep the Golden Arrow in a special place in my heart. They welcome me and my cats with great warmth. For many years, my mother and I were regulars (for a total of maybe five weeks in a year). As she grew older, the kindness showed by EVERYbody was overwhelming. She was 98 on our last vacation together here, which was possible only because we were at the Golden Arrow. Yep, I recommend it.

Room Tip: Spend the extra ten bucks or whatever and go lakeside. The village side rooms are just fine and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcium, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Nice hotel right on the main street of Lake Placid, on the shore of Mirror Lake. Inside access to the Alpine Mall and Generations restaurant. Easy walking to all shops and eateries, as well as the Olympic Arena, site of the 1980 Miracle on Ice victory of the USA hockey team over the USSR team.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just at the edge of the main street, the hotel is walking distance from the heart of the town's busy thoroughfare. Cozy and luxurious suites, Golden Arrow is ideal for families and couples. We visited during Christmas and the hotel was busy but efficiently managed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.