We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Placid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort to your Saves list
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Early Bird Winter Deal
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
GreenLeadersGold level
Diamond Point, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best of Placid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Have stayed here many times. Great place with nice amenities. 5th floor suites are the place to stay. Friendly staff, clean rooms, great Adirondack atmosphere, and "Green Initiatives" program. I highly reccomend the Golden Arrow.

Room Tip: Lakeside 5th floor Suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    250
    75
    35
    18
See reviews for
247
292
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto,ON
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was our wedding anniversary and we stayed here Nov 10th - 12th.... It took us 5 hrs drive from Toronto to Lake Placid.. Arrived at 11pm and the front staff was friendly and fast... Parking was free, underground. Tight squeeze for our Durango Crew vehicle! But hubby is a great driver, hehehehe... I noticed the carpet in the hallway was dated, staircase even more and elevator small.. No problem, room was nice and roomy, 2 double beds plus balcony, but everything was clean and fresh, bathroom was very clean too. We faced the parking lot from the front entrance. Was told when I booked that we had the last room because there was a hockey tournament
, hence no lake view... For a booked resort it was quiet tho... Yay!!

Next morning I asked if we could be upgraded to a lake view, by noon we had a lake view, it was awesome! This resort is located right in the heart of main st, where shopping, eating and waterfront viewing is at your finger tips... The weather was fantastic and my gosh had a great time walking up and down Main Street. Keep your car in the garage it was great!!

You need to eat at Breakfast Club for breakfast!! At Jimmy 21 for dinner, grab coffee w a view at this little outdoor plaza, I forgot the name but, it's way in the back and it has a balcony overlooking Mirror Lake, it's beautiful there, it's small but cute!! Shopping for shoes was hell awesome, great discounts!

Didn't use the pool cuz the weather was 22 degrees, we were out all the time.. The lobby is beautiful cozy warm feeling...

The Generation restaurant attached to hotel was closed due to accommodating hockey teams, that was crappy but oh well, lots more restaurants to choose from anyways, so no problema...

All in all, it was dated but who cares, still loved our stay, would come back with our teenagers next time.. It was worth the drive to Lake Placid!

Room Tip: Lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is located right on the Mirror lake (which is the smaller lake near Lake Placid town). It has its own beach. The view of the lake from our balcony in the room (our room was 325) was gorgeous!
It's also located right at the beginning of the town's center (main street). So location is excellent.
Parking is free - the hotel has its own parking.
The lobby is vast and impressive, with couches in an old style. There are huge windows to see the lake from the lobby too. There is a piano in the lobby.
Staff was very very welcoming and nice. This is the place we stayed in after we weren't welcomed in another hotel we previously booked (you can read about it in a different review). Although we didn't make a booking in advance, and we already agreed to take the room they offered us, after about 15 minutes which took us to bring the baggage from the other hotel, they gave us an upgraded room for the same price - on their own initiative.
The room was big and comfortable, furniture was a bit outdated, but the view from the balcony is the main thing.
The fact they serve no breakfast is a bit diappointing. The guests can eat at the "Generations" restaurant which is adjacent. Apparently there is a coupon for the restaurant on the town map they give you. Unfortunately, we didn't notice it in time, and paid full price. Breakfast was very big and tasty (and fat...), but a bit pricey.
If we ever come to Lake Placid again, we will stay there.

Room Tip: Loved room 325, although it's a bit far from the entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

When Hurricane Sandy roared through our town and knocked out our power for upwards of a week, my son and I took a road trip to visit my niece. I booked the Golden Arrow because of its location and paid $20 extra for a view of the Lake. When we arrived there was a hockey tournament going on and the parking lot was jammed with cars. After I checked in it took me 20 minutes to find the owners of the cars that had blocked me in so I could move my car to the parking garage. They really could use an attendant at the front of the hotel. I was promised by front desk clerk that they had placed me in a hallway that did not have hockey tournament guests but kids were running by the room until about 11:00 at night and they kept holding the elevator until the bell rang. And the parents were just as bad, yelling loudly for the children throughout the hallways. The walls were thin and the room looked extremely well used with dings in the furniture and scraped wall paper. Our room did have a little balcony that overlooked the lake and it would have been extremely pleasant except that kids were yelling all around us. I wish they had told me when I reserved my room that there was a hockey tournament going on - I would have chosen somewhere else!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Public Relations Manager at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I truly apologize for any inconveniences and noise you experienced during your time at the Golden Arrow. It seems that other than the other guests staying in the resort, you didn't find much wrong with your stay. I If you look at my responses to other reviews you will find that we send out emails informing Non-Hockey guests if there will be Hockey Teams in house during their stay. I’m sorry that you never received such notification. I will be sure to double check that all of these notices are sent out in the future.

We do keep non-hockey guests’ rooms as far from the hockey guests as possible, but as hard as we try, it is impossible to police our guests at all times. Again, I apologize for the unfortunate experience you had at the Golden Arrow. I hope that you will stay with us again (possibly when there aren't hockey teams in house) so we can prove what a peaceful place we can be.

Thank you again for your review, Happy Holidays from the Golden Arrow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

On business, we checked in during a Hockey Tournament - the place was swarming with loud voices and bangs in the halls; the place is nice but had the sound proofing of a franchise motel.

Our bathroom contained the used toiletries of the previous guest...and do remember to return the plastic card-key or you'll get charged $5 per key (really? At $280/night, you're worried about $.30 card keys? But not so much about QC with the Maid service?)

Beds were GREAT...the soap-service was EXCELLENT (laugh all you want, but it really was good stuff)...and the towels were definitely better than average. :)

The view is spectacular and the place has the aesthetic charm and potential to be an AWESOME place. As it is, its very good and I will consider going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GenerationsLP, Public Relations Manager at Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our "Bee Kind" products and the views from your room.

I have to apologize for the noise during your stay. We do notify all of our non-hockey guests via email before they arrive if there will be hockey teams staying at the resort at the time they're visiting. We do try to handle the noise as best we can. Every Hockey guest signs a contract prohibiting various items, excess noise being one of them, but again, it is a large resort and it's difficult to handle at all hours. We do encourage guests to let a staff member know at the time the noise is out of hand and we'd be happy to take care of it.

I also have to apologize about the used toiletries in your bathroom, that is unacceptable. We have a new room inspector starting soon and we hope that under her watchful eye circumstances like the one you experienced will not happen again.

We always take guest's comments and see that they're addressed. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Until then,

Safe and Happy Travels from the Golden Arrow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Our experiences at "Golden Arrow" has always been top shelf.. I am particularly pleased with the service, the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms.
We stay here 3-4 times a year and wouldn't consider going anywhere else around Lake Placid for all the reasons above and the cost is fair.

Room Tip: We love the Lake side rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here only overnight while speaking at a conference across the street. Every aspect of this hotel is well managed-it is family owned and operated (of course that can sometimes be pretty bad and thus one is often tempted to go with the name brand-no need to here) and they know what they are doing. Room was spacious, clean,well appointed , well maintained and quiet. Had a room with a balcony overlooking the lake and sat with a bottle wine watching the sunset. Worth the price.

Room Tip: Lakeside upper level for view and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort

Address: 2559 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Golden Arrow Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“The Only thing we Overlook is the Lake.” Surrender yourself to the untouched beauty of the Adirondack Mountains at the first resort in the United States to receive the Audubon’s Society highest Platinum Eco Rating for Hotels. It’s a place to renew yourself on the serene shores of Mirror Lake, and a place to thrill yourself, just moments from the famed Olympic Village at the heart of Lake Placid, New York. We are proud to offer Deluxe Accommodations as well as over 20 different kinds of suites and specialty rooms. All of our rooms are 100% smoke free, our lake front rooms above ground level have private balconies, and the ground level rooms have large glass doors leading out to a patio. Don’t forget your pup because we are a Pet Friendly resort. The Golden Arrow has an indoor pool, steam bath, two whirlpool hot tubs, and sauna. There is also a private white sand beach that is the perfect place to take in a magnificent panorama of the Adirondack Mountains. In the summer there are complimentary kayaks, canoes, and paddleboats available, we also have an authentic Italian Gondola that can be taken out for a minimal charge. In the winter you can ski, skate, and even take a dog sled ride on Mirror Lake right out our back door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arrow Lakeside Hotel Lake Placid
Hotel Golden Arrow Lakeside
Golden Arrow Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.