We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Adirondack Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Adirondack Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Adirondack Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2625 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Adirondack Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #14 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I've stayed here twice, once in the fall and once during ski season. It is a nice hotel and the location is perfect for walking almost everywhere in town. The rooms are a good size, some much bigger than others and most seem to have access to an outside sitting area with Adirondack chairs. The pool is below ground so very little, if any, natural light.

The breakfast room is huge but only accessible during breakfast hours which doesn't really make sense since it would be a great place for large groups to socialize instead of in the hallways disturbing other guests. There are many board games available in the lobby but not much room or table space in there. The breakfast is quite extensive offering a good variety of hot foods, fruit, yogurt, breads, pastries, etc.

Some rooms have refrigerators (no freezers for ice packs) but only the suites have microwaves. We were told there was a microwave in the breakfast room but it was locked. I agree with other reviews, the rooms could use a sprucing up. The beds are very comfortable and the bedding seems newer.

The hotel offers discounted lift tickets ($60 instead of $84) at Whiteface but they don't tell you or advertise it at the front desk. Instead, there is a little sign on a table in the lobby that is easily missed. Luckily I noticed it when returning from breakfast. I mentioned to the front desk clerk that it should be moved to the front desk or advertised on their website.

On my first stay, we had to wait 90 minutes after the check-in time to get our room then they wouldn't extend our check-out for an hour. On my second stay, a school group spent the entire evening socializing in the hallways, even after being asked to move into rooms by both guests and staff. Had they opened the breakfast room for them, other guests wouldn't have been disturbed.

For the most part it is a good hotel, near lots of restaurants, across from the Olympic Arena, and often with reasonable rates for the town during the week.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    73
    45
    16
    18
See reviews for
81
81
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SINY
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Reading the review by David F,it hit the mark, location is great, staff was great, breakfest selection was real good, pool area was hot but still good, game room had foosball table that was warped & needs to be replaced as was the pool table that was warped & in horrible shape. The hotel is old, thin walls & floors. I suggested to online BW survey that when they redo the carpeting, they should use thicker padding to reduse noise. Would stay here again as long as the price is right. Large beds & service of rooms where also excellant!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family stayed over Winter Break and found this place to be quite interesting. The rooms were clean and big. The furniture however was mismatched and tired. The place could use new wallpaper and paint and definitely new carpet in the halls and rooms. The lobby is small by the "Breakfast Bar" is as big a some places restaurants!!! Why they do not have a bar in this place I do not know !!! The pool deck is 85 degrees! Talk about uncomfortable! Don't get me wrong the place is nice ... It's location is OUTSTANDING and it can be had for reasonable rates ... BUT Best Western is really missing the boat with this place!!! It could be oh, so much more! Anthony, where are you?!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights for a New Year's Eve getaway. We were very pleased with the Best Western Adirondack Inn - I thoroughly read reviews of the hotel, and many others, before booking. We considered staying at the one the "fancier" hotels in Lake Placid Village, but with rates everywhere being more expensive for a holiday weekend, we chose the Best Western because we could get an AAA rate, there was no minimum-night-stay, and it was close to everything.

I took the advice of other reviewers and requested a 2nd floor room and was happy I did. The room had high ceilings, the bed was soft and comfortable (if you like soft mattresses), the bedding was clean and appeared fairly new, the heat worked great, there was a heating lamp in the bathroom too which was awesome, and there was also a small couch and table with two chairs, and a small fridge. Sure, some fixtures and wallpaper were a little dated, but overall the room and hotel has a charming “Adirondack” feel to it. There was a sliding glass door that opened onto a shared balcony overlooking the parking lot, but we obviously didn't have any reason to venture out there in the end of December. It still looked pretty out there with the snow, and was decorated with lights. There was a flat-screen TV (maybe 27") with decent selection of cable channels, no movie purchase options, though. Not a huge issue when you don't really want to spend all of your time away watching movies anyways, but we may have taken advantage of it if the option was available.

It was important to us to stay somewhere that was in a "walk-able" area so we didn't have to move the car and drive too much. This hotel is in a great spot - right across the street from the Olympic Center (where we saw Stars on Ice) and the Olympic Museum, and the speed-skating oval. We easily walked up and down Main St. to do some shopping and check out the restaurants.

After a long morning of snowshoeing, we took advantage of the pool and hot tub - the pool area appeared clean and well-maintained. The hot tub was great and heated up quickly! I was so glad we stayed at a hotel with a pool and hot tub; it's a real treat in the middle of winter to go swimming!! We also were lucky enough to have the pool area all to ourselves that afternoon. There was also a sauna that we didn't use, and a small game room with a pool table downstairs. The hotel also had a small selection of board games, although we were disappointed to open up the Scrabble box and find that all the tiles were missing, whoops, haha.

We only ate the free continental breakfast the 2nd morning; it was your basic hotel offerings - scrambled eggs, French toast, sausage patties, along with an assortment of cereal, oatmeal packets, muffins, etc. Coffee/tea was also available all day in the breakfast room for guests.

The common areas of the hotel were nice and decorated for the holidays. There was one fireplace near the reception desk with comfy chairs, a table to play games at, and we also spent some time lounging in front of the large-screen TV they have in the breakfast room.

The hotel was fully booked, but never seemed overly crowded in the breakfast or common areas. Seemed to be a lot of families there, but as a couple, we were very happy with our choice to stay here and will absolutely come back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd Floor - loved the high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our second visit to Lake Placid and after a traumatic experience at a budget hotel in Saranac Lake a few years ago we were willing to pay a little more this time around.

In the end it was a pretty reasonable deal, especially for a long weekend between Christmas and New Years - the room was a little dated but clean and adequate - nothing to write home about but no complaints either. I was pleasantly surprised by the included continental breakfast, and would have loved to have time to use the pool and hottub - a little strange that they're in the basement but they looked clean and the water was nice and warm.

You couldn't ask for a better location in Lake Placid, across the street from the Olympic Center and we could almost skate right onto the famous oval from our room. Almost every restaurant in town is within walking distance, and it's a five minute drive to the Jumping Complex, 10mins to the sliding track and maybe 15mins to Whiteface. If winter sports are a part of your plan you won't find a better place to stay.

Also worth noting that in winter, some of the alternatives (like the Crown Plaza) involve some tricky roads - the day after a heavy snowstorm we watched a minibus slide backwards down the hill trying to make it to the Crown Plaza - The Adirondack Inn is right on the main street so no hassles there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Adirondack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Adirondack Inn

Address: 2625 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946 (Formerly Adirondack Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Adirondack Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-owned Best Western Adirondack Inn is perfectly situated on Main Street in Lake Placid, New York—just across the street from the Olympic Center and next to Mirror Lake Beach. For travelers to the Adirondacks and the Best Western Adirondack Inn, this is a truly picturesque setting for a family vacation or romantic weekend escape in upstate New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Adirondack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Adirondack Hotel Lake Placid
Best Western Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Adirondack Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.