We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Sushi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aki Sushi & Japanese

Aki Sushi & Japanese
324 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
(518) 523-5826
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 86 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Restaurant details
Saranac Lake, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's Sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It's not the best sushi I've ever had, but when I get the craving it meets the need. Place is small and comfortable. Service is a bit indifferent, but fortunately for me, I go there alone but with a book. Sake selection is pretty good if you are into it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Wanted to like this place more...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We came here craving and sushi and because of generally enthusiastic reviews on this site. Unfortunately, while it was OK and not bad, it just didn't measure up to our usual neighborhood Japanese places in NYC. The room is small and sort of drab; I wish a bit more thought would have been put into decor. The menu of special rolls is extensive and this is where they excel; we enjoyed the 2 special rolls we ordered. But the standard rolls like spicy salmon or tuna were dinky - only 6 small pieces and the fish just wasn't that fresh. We had to order more mid-way through our meal, as did the diners next to us. So this is one in Lake Placid we won't be returning to - this is a town with a lot of restaurants! Oh well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The last review we read gave this restaurant only 1 star which caused us some trepidation. But we're sushi lovers and there were many other rave reviews. We were not disappointed. The sushi was extremely fresh and tasty, some of the best I've had in quite some time, and the service excellent. It wasn't super cheap, but we're not right next to the ocean in Lake Placid and it was in line with other restaurants in the area. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“Are You Kidding me?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Went to Aki Sushi as a result of all the glowing reviews here. I don't know what you all are smoking? We have eaten Sushi in Tokyo, Vancouver and many other large US and Canadian cities. I was not expecting miracles but this place has the worst sushi I have ever tasted. It was barely edible. Just looking at the plate put in front of us and I knew we were in trouble. Nothing was fresh, actually it was totally tasteless and bland. The Tune was off and should not have been served. The Tempura was a pile of greasy tasteless vegetables, that I wouldn't feed to my pet. We should have walked out, instead we grinned(not) and beared it. The service was not glowing either, the waitress was careless and mixed up up a couple of orders that we had written out and and blamed us for the errors. needles to say it was the worst sushi (if you can call it that) experience of our lives

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sushi in the Adirondacks - it's TRUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Small establishment on lower Main Street. A real find. Friendly owner. Try their specialty rolls, fun names and great food including the Spider Roll, and the Rainbow Roll. For a small place it's got chops. Enjoyable.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aki Sushi & Japanese also viewed

 

Been to Aki Sushi & Japanese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aki Sushi & Japanese, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.