We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and not up to standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
NY's Finger Lakes
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Overpriced and not up to standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This Courtyard is expensive (yes, it is a resort town) and definitely not up to the usual standard of Marriott. The rooms were comfortable but not in any way welcoming to the visitor. The courtyard at the Courtyard was a small space with a stone fireplace and a few uncomfortable chairs. We found out that the fireplace has never worked and is a trash pit.
Our beds were marginally comfortable and the bathroom was clean and functional.
The biggest reason for my low rating is that the cost of the room is disproportionally high when compared with the quality of the lodging.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Keith,

Let me first apologize. I'm sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations. I have checked with the maintenance staff regarding the fireplace in the courtyard. They are currently waiting on a couple parts to complete the project to UL Specifications. Without those components, we cannot operate the fireplace safely around our guests. We have placed a safety cover over the top of it to keep guests from using it as a trash receptacle or even worse......trying to start a fire in it! But I have since talked with the head of housekeeping to make sure that trash isn't being deposited in the fire pit.
Regarding the room rates during your stay. During certain times of the year we may have special events or holidays where the rate may be competitively and comparatively priced based upon volume of guests in town and other hotels in the area. I encourage you to explore different times of the year as well as different seasons, because our rates will fluctuate. Different times of the year may yield great deals and savings. We do hope to have you back though for a future stay. Please feel free to contact the property for and further questions. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    148
    39
    13
    10
See reviews for
143
163
11
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here the end of May. I found the place on groupon. I came with my sister and two kids. (Poor husband had to work). From the min we walked in we had a warm welcome. The room was very clean (I have OCD) the view was breathtaking. It was so nice to wake up in the morning and see the mountains. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub. It was only min to the main strip. It was near a corner store that was very handy for snacks & ect. They have a Starbucks inside that was nice. Also the staff was helpful to find places we were looking for or giving us tips on where to go eat. We had a great time and were sad to go home. Nice from start to end. Would definitely go back! Next time with my husband.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear "Biz"

I am excited to hear your stay went so well. It seems like the staff was spot on in their recommendations to you. Town has a lot to offer as far as activities. I hope you, your sister, and the kids were able to explore and have some fun while you were with us. Please do not hesitate to let us know when you are coming back. And if it is a future stay where it is just you and your husband, I would love to discus with you some of the suites we have available on the property and also some of the great restaurants with great atmospheres in town. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to you coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Everyone expects a courtyard just to be basic but this hotel had a wonderful pool, great lobby and very nice rooms. Many families sat in this spacious and warm lobby with couches and large screen TV next to a small bar area and watched the World Cup. It was so cozy and clean and the staff are wonderful and very accomodating. We had a room with a living room and it was spacious. Would definitely tell others to sta here when coming to the adirondacks. Must climb Cascade mountain, boat on Lake Placid with Lake Placid Boat rentals. Steve and his family are great! Eat at Cafe Rustica. The BEST lingiuni and clam sauce we ever had. Everything was great. Don't be fooled because it is in a shopping area. It was a a memorable mel and there is a trolly to take you back and forth into town. The chef is fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Elliott,

Thank you so much for all of your feedback. Not only does that make us proud you said such nice things, but also it's very helpful you gave tips to future guests. Cafe Rustica is one of my favorite places in town. They had a homemade meatloaf recipe last winter that was to die for! When you are back at our property don't hesitate to ask me for some more recommendations in town, I have quite a few ideas. Thank you again and hope to see you back at our property soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Very nice property and hotel.

We were on the 1st floor near the pool.

Our room was very large room, clean, comfortable, well decorated and quiet.

Pool and hot tub great.

Staff were very friendly and check in and out was easy.

Free wi-fi and free parking.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear HojasRojas,

Thank you so much for your response. I am very happy to hear your stay went well. The property has had a few changes over the last year that we are very excited about. One being the new lobby and bistro set up with a starbucks. We look forward to seeing you for a future stay. Perhaps a different season? For example: Winter you can take advantage of some skiing at whiteface mountain or a dog sled ride on mirror lake. See you then, and thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Reserved 4 rooms on marriott.com as part of a surprise party, then sent hotel email directly informing them. I needed to make sure when we checked in that desk staff didn’t ask us which one of the 4 rooms was ours or the surprise would have been blown. The desk staff was perfect and was even careful when other 3 rooms where checking in.

We arrived mid June late Friday evening check in. Hotel is immaculate, everything appears brand new, lobby has plenty of seats. Room huge, we had 1 king br suite with separate living room. 2 TV’s and full wetbar and fridge. Breakfast was good, buffet was always stocked. I would suggest you book package with breakfast for the convenience. Everyone we saw staying in hotel was nice and well behaved. Plenty of free parking and free internet.

Try Adirondack Steak & Seafood, they have really nice private room for party that was fantastic. Also bobsled run and ski jump venue, as well as gondola ride at Whiteface shouldn’t be missed. You can save a lot of money if you buy the Olympic Sites Passport.

Its true you have to drive to get downtown but it’s only a 2 minute ride, which is hardly a hassle even if you go out all night long. Since most people arrive by car anyway book here to save money (since you are not right in town), and enjoy first class accommodations as well as first class staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dead itbetterbeclean,

Thank you so very much for your response to your stay on our property. I am very happy to hear our staff was able to "sneak" around the check in process to ensure the surprise would remain unspoiled. It is a unique skill that we have developed over the years working with all of our guests’ special occasions and requests. Our lobby had just been updated in the last year to what you saw recently during your stay. Our rooms are scheduled for a remodel in the near future, so I invited you to come check them out when we are done! Please let us know when you are coming back so we may make your stay into another memorable experience. Also, I have quite a few recommendations for some other great restaurants if you would like to try some new cuisine and atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very nice hotel just a short distance outside Lake Placid with great views of the Adirondack mountains. Good breakfast and nice lobby to grab an evening drink. Provides a good base of operations for spending time in Lake Placid and the surrounding Adirondacks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I love the fact that our hotel is close to town, but at the same time nice and quiet at night to come back to. You can enjoy the sights and attractions and then come back and relax on our property. We have done a renovation to our lobby, so now we have a fresh look and amenities to help you unwind. I personally think that adding a Starbucks was much needed :) Thank you again and we hope to see you back to our property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

So bad experience in the spring here as we seemed to be the only visitors not playing in a huge hockey tourney in town. Let mgr, Todd Peterson , know how disappointed we were with a few things. Me Peterson assured us our next visit would be better. Wasn't sure if he meant it or not but came back to town last night for some biking and kayaking with no plan to stay over. Called me Peterson and stayed here . No complaints and very eased with the service, our room, parking etc. thank you mr Peterson for the old fashioned true customer service. We will be back and will recommend your hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear "PJLSW,"

I am very happy to hear that your stay with us went better this time around and that you were able to take advantage of the area for some time on the lake and on the bikes.Todd was one of our best and most valued assets on the property. He has since moved to another property and will be missed, but please do not hesitate to let any of our other great staff members here know if we can help you with any future reservations or plans. Thank you again for your kind words and we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
1.1 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
#5 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
#3 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 731 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Whiteface Lodge
The Whiteface Lodge
#1 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Address: 5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
Lake Placid Courtyard
Lake Placid Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.