We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in the Adirondacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in the Adirondacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very nice hotel just a short distance outside Lake Placid with great views of the Adirondack mountains. Good breakfast and nice lobby to grab an evening drink. Provides a good base of operations for spending time in Lake Placid and the surrounding Adirondacks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I love the fact that our hotel is close to town, but at the same time nice and quiet at night to come back to. You can enjoy the sights and attractions and then come back and relax on our property. We have done a renovation to our lobby, so now we have a fresh look and amenities to help you unwind. I personally think that adding a Starbucks was much needed :) Thank you again and we hope to see you back to our property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    124
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
121
143
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballston Lake, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

So bad experience in the spring here as we seemed to be the only visitors not playing in a huge hockey tourney in town. Let mgr, Todd Peterson , know how disappointed we were with a few things. Me Peterson assured us our next visit would be better. Wasn't sure if he meant it or not but came back to town last night for some biking and kayaking with no plan to stay over. Called me Peterson and stayed here . No complaints and very eased with the service, our room, parking etc. thank you mr Peterson for the old fashioned true customer service. We will be back and will recommend your hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear "PJLSW,"

I am very happy to hear that your stay with us went better this time around and that you were able to take advantage of the area for some time on the lake and on the bikes.Todd was one of our best and most valued assets on the property. He has since moved to another property and will be missed, but please do not hesitate to let any of our other great staff members here know if we can help you with any future reservations or plans. Thank you again for your kind words and we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gadsden, Alabama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

great place to stay. our first time at a courtyard. huge suite. plenty of room.large living area with sofa bed.chest and closet in living area.2 tvs,frig and microwave in kitchen area big king size bedroom with closet and chests. big bath.heated indodor pool(91 degrees) felt great. 2 hot tubs, on was 101 degrees and the other was 103 degrees. i loved the cooler while my husband loved the hotter one. we had got the plan that included breakfast the next morning. a great breakfast buffet. very good bacon. this courtyard at lake placid is very nice. enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: suites are really nice. if you can splurge, get a suite.
See more room tips
Green Features: i wish all motels and hotels were like this.when we stay at hotels that are environmentally friendly we try to do our part. i was very pleased with what the hotel was doing.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason b, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Catherine,
Thank you so much for your kind words. I personally love that type of suite you had stayed in. I’m happy to hear your stay went well and hope you had fun exploring town. Also, thank you for taking notice of Marriott's efforts to limit our environmental impact. That is something that we take seriously and go to great lengths to make sure we are all "doing our part" for the environment. We look forward to you coming back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed her for 2 days in May and it was just as good as the last time. The remodeled the lobby and restaurant area, which came out nice. We had a room with a nice jetted tub. The staff were very helpful and let us check in a few hours early. The pool was being remodeled but it wasn't a huge issue. I will stay there next time we go.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for coming back to see our new Bistro. I will tell share this with the staff. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. Despite our late arrival Mr. Eric Otiz (supervisor) was very helpful with providing service well beyond the expectation (computer help). We have traveled with friends from Czech Republic and we all were impressed with accommodation and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much for all of your kind words. Eric is one of our most valuable assets. I'll be sure to tell him. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A few buddies and I just stayed at this hotel because we were doing the Lake Placid Half Marathon and wanted a good spot in town to stay the day before the race. We found a Groupon deal to get a room at a discounted rate, and there in lies a little bit of beef we had with this hotel.

I'll list the pros and explain the cons:

Pros:
Nice clean room
Very nice lobby with lounge, TV's and a bar
Pleasant staff

Cons:
We are 3 grown men in our late 20's who weren't looking to share beds. We asked if we could get a cot so we each had our own bed. The desk said they sure they would send up "an extra bed". What was sent was a few sheets and just an ultra thin mattress - no frame no box or anything to keep it off the ground. This great looking Marriott expects that if you need an extra sleeping arrangement you're just gonna toss a paper mattress on the floor? Definitely not impressed.

"Breakfast is 6:30-10am" - but forgot to mention it's not free. Sure a lot of places charge for breakfast but A LOT offer free breakfast for a cheaper rate than we paid. We just felt inconvenienced again. You're better off finding the diner in town and going there if you have to pay for breakfast anyway.

Bottom line:
All in all it is a nice hotel with clean rooms in a convenient location. But if you're looking to take advantage of some amenities, be aware that it's not impressive. I just expected more from a Marriott at their price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for the kind words, and the constructive criticism. To address a couple of them: No courtyards have, or ever have had, complimentary breakfast. As for the extra bed in the room, it is against fire code to put a rollaway bed into a standard room, as it doesn't fit. Any of our upgraded rooms have enough square footage to put one in legally. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We come up to Lake Placid once per year and have always stayed here and enjoyed ourselves, as they provided a nice hotel at a good price with great rooms, wonderful beds, etc. Upon arrival this trip only after we checked in, we found the pool and hot tub as well as the outdoor fire pit were all "closed for repairs."

This would have been nice to know at the time of making the reservation, after making the reservation, or even upon checking in, but the counter person failed to mention this. It's like it was hidden for a reason...to get you to stay there and not go elsewhere.

We found out by changing into our swim suits and going down to the pool area...SURPRISE, WE'RE CLOSED ! If we had kids with us, we would have left.

The pool and hot tub are great amenities and without them it was tough coming back from a long day hike without that creature comfort to come back to. If you have kids, call before you go ! Its supposed to be closed for at least another week or two.

The outdoor fire pit was also closed for repair, and the staff did not turn on the indoor gas fireplace during our duration. They also got rid of the "complimentary" coffee in the lobby (you can now by Starbucks inside) and the "welcome home" cookies, previously put out each night are a thing of the past. My wife described the changes to be un-welcoming.

(Not the Courtyard's fault, but the main road leading to it from Lake Placid is closed for bridge repairs so you need to take a short 5 minute detour.)

Had we known all this, we would have stayed elsewhere, probably the new Hampton. $161 per night AAA discount is a lot for a hotel with no pool or hot tub. When we expressed our dis-satisfaction upon checking out today, we expected an "I'm sorry" and possibly an adjustment to the bill. No such luck.

Since the Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid did not and still does not advertise the "closed for repair" pool and hot-tub on their website, nor were we informed when making the reservation, or upon confirmation or even at check-in, I guess we will have to start calling the hotel before we arrive, to make sure everything advertised is actually available.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, its the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
First, let me say that I'm sorry for the inconveneience for the pool being out of order. It was an emergency that we didn't know about in advance. We actually did put the infomation on our website a few days before your stay, as soon as we knew. Now I will try to address all of your concerns. Our Fire Pit has never been in operation, it is still under construction, and has never been advertised on as open. As for not being told at check-in, my entire staff was told to tell guests immediately, so we wouldn't run into an issue such as this. I wish I had your actual name, so I could find the staff member that checked you in, and address it. I'm very sorry for that. I have twin 6 yr. olds myself, and understnd the importance of a pool. As for the indoor fireplace, since the temperatures have finally warmed up to seasonal levels, we don't have it on constantly, but we will turn it on for anyone that wishes. Marriott no longer allows complimentary cookies or coffee once the new Bistro is constructed in the hotel, as the Bistro serves cookies and Starbucks as part of the menu. That is not a choice each property can make. Please call me personally the next time you will be in the area, and I will handle your reservation. Once again, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, as you have in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Address: 5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
Lake Placid Marriott
Lake Placid Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.