We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Pickering
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. Despite our late arrival Mr. Eric Otiz (supervisor) was very helpful with providing service well beyond the expectation (computer help). We have traveled with friends from Czech Republic and we all were impressed with accommodation and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much for all of your kind words. Eric is one of our most valuable assets. I'll be sure to tell him. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    128
    37
    12
    9
See reviews for
124
148
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beacon, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A few buddies and I just stayed at this hotel because we were doing the Lake Placid Half Marathon and wanted a good spot in town to stay the day before the race. We found a Groupon deal to get a room at a discounted rate, and there in lies a little bit of beef we had with this hotel.

I'll list the pros and explain the cons:

Pros:
Nice clean room
Very nice lobby with lounge, TV's and a bar
Pleasant staff

Cons:
We are 3 grown men in our late 20's who weren't looking to share beds. We asked if we could get a cot so we each had our own bed. The desk said they sure they would send up "an extra bed". What was sent was a few sheets and just an ultra thin mattress - no frame no box or anything to keep it off the ground. This great looking Marriott expects that if you need an extra sleeping arrangement you're just gonna toss a paper mattress on the floor? Definitely not impressed.

"Breakfast is 6:30-10am" - but forgot to mention it's not free. Sure a lot of places charge for breakfast but A LOT offer free breakfast for a cheaper rate than we paid. We just felt inconvenienced again. You're better off finding the diner in town and going there if you have to pay for breakfast anyway.

Bottom line:
All in all it is a nice hotel with clean rooms in a convenient location. But if you're looking to take advantage of some amenities, be aware that it's not impressive. I just expected more from a Marriott at their price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for the kind words, and the constructive criticism. To address a couple of them: No courtyards have, or ever have had, complimentary breakfast. As for the extra bed in the room, it is against fire code to put a rollaway bed into a standard room, as it doesn't fit. Any of our upgraded rooms have enough square footage to put one in legally. We hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We come up to Lake Placid once per year and have always stayed here and enjoyed ourselves, as they provided a nice hotel at a good price with great rooms, wonderful beds, etc. Upon arrival this trip only after we checked in, we found the pool and hot tub as well as the outdoor fire pit were all "closed for repairs."

This would have been nice to know at the time of making the reservation, after making the reservation, or even upon checking in, but the counter person failed to mention this. It's like it was hidden for a reason...to get you to stay there and not go elsewhere.

We found out by changing into our swim suits and going down to the pool area...SURPRISE, WE'RE CLOSED ! If we had kids with us, we would have left.

The pool and hot tub are great amenities and without them it was tough coming back from a long day hike without that creature comfort to come back to. If you have kids, call before you go ! Its supposed to be closed for at least another week or two.

The outdoor fire pit was also closed for repair, and the staff did not turn on the indoor gas fireplace during our duration. They also got rid of the "complimentary" coffee in the lobby (you can now by Starbucks inside) and the "welcome home" cookies, previously put out each night are a thing of the past. My wife described the changes to be un-welcoming.

(Not the Courtyard's fault, but the main road leading to it from Lake Placid is closed for bridge repairs so you need to take a short 5 minute detour.)

Had we known all this, we would have stayed elsewhere, probably the new Hampton. $161 per night AAA discount is a lot for a hotel with no pool or hot tub. When we expressed our dis-satisfaction upon checking out today, we expected an "I'm sorry" and possibly an adjustment to the bill. No such luck.

Since the Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid did not and still does not advertise the "closed for repair" pool and hot-tub on their website, nor were we informed when making the reservation, or upon confirmation or even at check-in, I guess we will have to start calling the hotel before we arrive, to make sure everything advertised is actually available.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, its the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
First, let me say that I'm sorry for the inconveneience for the pool being out of order. It was an emergency that we didn't know about in advance. We actually did put the infomation on our website a few days before your stay, as soon as we knew. Now I will try to address all of your concerns. Our Fire Pit has never been in operation, it is still under construction, and has never been advertised on as open. As for not being told at check-in, my entire staff was told to tell guests immediately, so we wouldn't run into an issue such as this. I wish I had your actual name, so I could find the staff member that checked you in, and address it. I'm very sorry for that. I have twin 6 yr. olds myself, and understnd the importance of a pool. As for the indoor fireplace, since the temperatures have finally warmed up to seasonal levels, we don't have it on constantly, but we will turn it on for anyone that wishes. Marriott no longer allows complimentary cookies or coffee once the new Bistro is constructed in the hotel, as the Bistro serves cookies and Starbucks as part of the menu. That is not a choice each property can make. Please call me personally the next time you will be in the area, and I will handle your reservation. Once again, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, as you have in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stay almost exclusively at Marriott properties if available and this is one of the finest. Great decor,sparkling clean rooms,very comfy beds and excellent breakfast and bistro service. Great stop all the way. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your great experince with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moravia, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had the king suite with a fireplace and jaccuzzi tub. I chose the hotel because of the reviews and the lovely photos. We specifically wanted a hotel with an indoor pool to relax in at night. Our room was beautiful, except that the fireplace in the corner made it so the closet door would not open all the way. Apparently we chose the wrong weekend to visit...the place was full of young children running wild unsupervised. We were particularly upset when we went down to use the pool at the end of the evening and found it full of the kids (again, unsupervised). I love kids, I have 5 (they were not with us), but this group was out of control, jumping from the 2 hot tubs (which were attached to the pool) into the pool, splashing and throwing towels at each other in the pool and hot tubs. We saw all of this going on through the window in the hallway, and decided we would try again the next night. We continued on to the lobby, where we found the parents of these children drinking and having their own party. It was not the setting we were interested in, so we went to a local restaurant instead. The next night, we found the same thing with the pool and lobby. We are smokers and found a nice quiet corner outside where we could smoke without bothering anyone. Apparently we must have left empty packs in the trash can in our room because the hotel charged us $250 (without notice) because there was "evidence" that we had been smoking in the room, which did not happen. We spent $844 total for 2 nights in this place. We should have gone back to the Best Western Adirondack Inn where we normally stay. Lesson learned.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Richard,

We rarely charge anyone for smoking in the room, unless we have clear evidence of it. We keep details of each room we charge in case the guest calls back, as we may not know of the smoking until after checkout. We have no smoking on the registration card you sign, on table tents in the room, on the inside of the room door, and on our website. We take it very seriously, as we promise our guests that we have a non-smoking property. I don't have enough information to get in touch with you from your comment. If you would like to call me back, I can look into it further for you. You didn't specify your dates of stay, but I'm guessing from your review that it was a youth hockey weekend. I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. I'm sorry you won't be staying with us in the future, but we would love it if you would give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We were 4 persons for 2 nights in 1 room and we had a very good price including breakfasts (which is a very good buffet!). Location is good, but you have to take your car to go in Lake Placid for shopping, restaurants, bars. Near many mountains of the High Peaks for hiking and you have the spas + pool in the hotel to rest after a long hike! Service was good and the room was excellent, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thanks for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Very nice hotel, great location, breakfast was okay, maybe a bit pricey for what was offered. Easy to access, proximity to town and to Whiteface mountain. Spacious room, nice bathroom but a little noisy. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Address: 5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
Lake Placid Marriott
Lake Placid Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.