We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas stay to see the snow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas stay to see the snow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel was nice. We had a nice room with a separate bedroom. The pool was also nice for the kids. My only complaint is that they do not have continental breakfast. Breakfast was pretty pricey, with the family considering how expensive the rooms were I thought that they would have had breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. Unfortunately, Courtyards have never had a continental breakfast as some other Marriott brands do. We hope to see you next time you're in Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    128
    37
    12
    9
See reviews for
124
148
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed during Memorial Day weekend in 2013 and found the hotel to exceed my expectations. I am platinum with Marriott and have stayed at a variety of hotels around the US. This Courtyard really went above and beyond to make sure my boyfriend and I had a good experience.

I used points for the stay, and they upgraded us to a room with a fireplace, which was a really nice touch. The bed was also THE single most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. I'm actually thinking about contacting them to get the exact information to buy for myself!

The location is a little drive from downtown, but not too far. The hotel was undergoing some renovations, so the breakfast area was actually in a ballroom type room - they did well considering the circumstances.

If I'm back in Lake Placid I'd absolutely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a room with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We love to hear about our great service. We can't wait to see you in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Couldn't be happier with our stay. Very modern and clean. Room was extremely spacious. Front desk was super helpful in recommending places to eat. Adirondack steak and seafood is probably one of the best places I've ever eaten. The pool and jacuzzi are very nice. The whirlpool tub in the king room is great. The breakfast bar in the lobby is very expensive but convenient. Housekeeping did a nice job of keeping the room clean. Hotel walls are very thin, people walking on the floor above sound like they have cinder blocks strapped to their feet... Other than that everything about this hotel was wonderful. We will definitely be returning before the end of the ski season!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Can't say enough. The staff was so friendly- airline lost our bags and hotel called us to notify us when they arrived. Accommodating and quick late check in after an extremely long day of travel. Rooms were nice and updated. The lobby is really really nice for a Courtyard- all updated and cozy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you so much for all of the kind words. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, clean linen, quiet evenings, helpful staff, couldn't ask for anything else at this particular courtyard. A lot of places to stay in lake placid we will definitely keep coming back here. Check in was easy and all employees were very willing to assist us. We left room early in morning came back by 10am and it was already cleaned. Great service!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for appreciating how hard our staff works. We want you to keep coming back. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed at the CY Lake Placid for Christmas and it was a great. The property was great, wish it had some better views but still worth it. The lounge with the fireplace was amazing, especially to sit down with a drink. The front desk staff was very helpful in recommending places to go and eat. and their anticipatory service was exceptional as well.

I will definitely be returning

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
todd p, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We look forward to having you back. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had no problems with the hotel or its staff at all during our January 2014 stay -- a great check in, great housekeeping, great room. However, a youth hockey tournament was in town and the hotel was rampant with preteen boys (and their sisters) running and wrecking havoc in the halls (parents were noticeably absent from the rooms and noticeably present in the hotel lounge and bar area). This created a very noisy atmosphere and was very jarring to myself and my boyfriend (who don't have kids and who aren't normally around them). Note: We did not care enough to call down to the desk and make a complaint. The hotel was great, I want to emphasize that, but also leave the warning that there is a potential for the hotel to be overrun with little hockey monsters!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Address: 5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
Lake Placid Marriott
Lake Placid Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.