We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roomy, cozy, and close to town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Roomy, cozy, and close to town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Couple of things we really appreciated about this hotel. One was the roominess of the queen suite. Two very large rooms which easily slept 6 and in our case 7 ( with the crib!) and the comfortable beds, always a huge plus in my book! The kids absolutely loved the pool but the chlorine level was seemingly toxic. Kidding, but it was very strong, goggles were a must. The hotel is two minutes drive from "downtown" Lake Placid and there are some great places to visit and eat (another big plus in my book!). We would recommend a ride to the top of Little White Face and Ausable Chasm, although the second as a bit of a ride ( 50 Min.,). We had a very nice time,the staff was helpful, and it would have been a fabulous vacation if the baby had slept through the night! Not the Courtyards fault. We would definitely recommend this hotel if your going to Lake Placid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    121
    32
    10
    9
See reviews for
115
138
9
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Overall this is a good hotel. There was plenty of parking, and the check-in and check-out processes were very quick. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. There were three of us that stayed in the Queen Suite. The rooms were very clean and spacious (two rooms in the suite). I was a little disappointed that sheets had not been left out on the pull out sofa sleeper, but this was easily fixed by going down to the front desk and requesting the sheets and extra towels. The highlight of our stay was meeting Larry who was extremely helpful. He brought the sheets and a mattress pad up to our room for us and even instructed us on the best way to make up the sofa sleeper so it was extra comfy. The pool area was very clean but the pool itself was smaller than average. However, there are also 2 hot tubs in the pool area so that was a plus. I would not recommend eating off the "pub" menu. Maybe we hit it on a bad night, but we ordered chicken wings (which were burnt and it looked like they used old grease) and one cheese pizza (which had the taste of a frozen pizza it and it wasn't cooked all the way through). The pizza was $13 and totally not worth it. They were out of several menu items including celery to go with the wings, mozzarella sticks, shrimp, tuna, salmon...etc.. you get the idea. We did not try the breakfast buffet so I can't comment on that. Again, maybe our experience with the "pub" food was not typical. I don't know as this was our first stay here. One last note: I thought this hotel was very reasonably priced compared to others we had looked at.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The hotel is good, Courtyard Marriott standards at its best. Considering what Lakes Placid offers in terms of accomodation, I would say this is the best choice. I do not understand this policy they have on the ski tickets. For some reason you have to get your ticket on the morning you are going to ski. I even wanted to get them the night before, after the ski lift had closed but no flexibility there... this is unfortunate because at Mont Tremblant you can pick your tickets at check in and use them whenever you want during your stay. I do not normally go skiing on the day I am leaving, but I was forced to ski on the day we checked out due to their weird rule.
I found the reception staff not very polite; especially the big guy at the reception; I am gold Marriott so I do stay at Marriott properties very often and everyone at the reception puts on a nice smile usually. Not in Lake Placid though... not an issue; you can live with it.

Besides that, everything is nice; the hotel is new, rooms are great and breakfast is good as well but that is due to the brand standards and not necessarily to the people working over there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We took advantage of a one-night special to get away for a 2 day stay this past Sunday/Monday, and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is relatively new, and nicely maintained. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. We had a room with a king, and the layout was nicely thought out with the bed facing the window, rather than parallel to it. Bathroom was very large. Pool and exercise room were smallish, but we didn't suffer at all given that it was a relatively quiet period. My wife had the pool to herself on the following morning as I slogged away on one of the treadmills. We did not sample any of the food or bar services being only in town for the weekend. Also, the hotel was a little out of the way and too far to walk to "downtown" - especially at this time of year. However, it is a viable alternative to some of the pricier places on the strip. All in all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hotel is a little out of way - not on the "main drag" in downtown Lake Placid - but that suited us fine since it was clearly more quiet that a downtown hotel would have been - and had fewer hockey teams running around. You do have to drive to downtown. Its on the close side of town to Whiteface - only 9 miles away. It has a lovely lobby, bar area, and breakfast area. (At $11.00 p.p. the continental breakfast is a bit expensive so we made our own breakfast sandwiches pre-ski, and ate in our room as we had a microwave) The king fireplace suite is huge - separate bedroom, 2 HD flatscreen TV's, a couch, chair and ottoman. The desk chair needed replacing - old and uncomfortable. KIng size bed was quite soft. The bathroom was clean but the shower curtains quite dated. Overall, very good value for the money as the room was so spacious. It's nice that the windows open, even though its just a few inches. The front desk personnel (Todd in particular) was VERY helpful and friendly - he went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: King Suite with fireplace is HUGE (Room 427) but was dark. They need to improve the lighting in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Whiteface Mtn snowboarding trip with fam-stayed 11-13 Mar.
Check-in was a breeze, key cards ready when we showed up.
3rd floor, nice, spacious, clean room with 2 Q beds, and a mini fridge for our cold beverages after a hard day.
Bed too soft for me and wife but the kids loved it.
The bar was opened for cocktails where you could sit in a large living room style area with a fire place. Chess/checker tables also available.
Small pool and 2 X jacuzzi, kids loved it. Jacuzzi was nice after a hard day on the slopes. Bring coffee mug for your cold beverages, NO glass/bottle allowed at pool area.
Fitness room with 2 X old style treadmills, dumb bells and cable machine with limited accessories. Can always run outside on the road/side walk.
Ample outdoors parking. Hotel close to all amenities. Maybe 5 minutes drive to main street Lake Placid and about 12 minutes (10 mi) drive to Whiteface.
Breakfast was $11.99/$6.99 for 12 and under for all you can eat. Good omelettes-standard breakfast at RI/FI.
They had a secure heated room for your ski/snowboard for lock ups-bring your locks.
Would of stay longer but the weather and snow conditions was not to our likings.
Enjoyed. We did. Do not listen to the whiners.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The room was extremely large. Bathroom was big and even had Paul Mitchell hair products. Beds were okay, but I don't find Courtyard beds that great. They are usually too hard for me unlike Marriott beds. Otherwise, the hotel was very nice all around. More charming than the typical Courtyard. Good parking and a decent bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Address: 5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
Lake Placid Marriott
Lake Placid Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.