We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whiteface Mtn Snowboarding/Ski Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Whiteface Mtn Snowboarding/Ski Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Whiteface Mtn snowboarding trip with fam-stayed 11-13 Mar.
Check-in was a breeze, key cards ready when we showed up.
3rd floor, nice, spacious, clean room with 2 Q beds, and a mini fridge for our cold beverages after a hard day.
Bed too soft for me and wife but the kids loved it.
The bar was opened for cocktails where you could sit in a large living room style area with a fire place. Chess/checker tables also available.
Small pool and 2 X jacuzzi, kids loved it. Jacuzzi was nice after a hard day on the slopes. Bring coffee mug for your cold beverages, NO glass/bottle allowed at pool area.
Fitness room with 2 X old style treadmills, dumb bells and cable machine with limited accessories. Can always run outside on the road/side walk.
Ample outdoors parking. Hotel close to all amenities. Maybe 5 minutes drive to main street Lake Placid and about 12 minutes (10 mi) drive to Whiteface.
Breakfast was $11.99/$6.99 for 12 and under for all you can eat. Good omelettes-standard breakfast at RI/FI.
They had a secure heated room for your ski/snowboard for lock ups-bring your locks.
Would of stay longer but the weather and snow conditions was not to our likings.
Enjoyed. We did. Do not listen to the whiners.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    122
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
117
143
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The room was extremely large. Bathroom was big and even had Paul Mitchell hair products. Beds were okay, but I don't find Courtyard beds that great. They are usually too hard for me unlike Marriott beds. Otherwise, the hotel was very nice all around. More charming than the typical Courtyard. Good parking and a decent bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel this past weekend and were very pleased with our experience. The hotel is right on Lake Placid's main road and was very easy to find. Check-in was not only a breeze, but a pleasure. The two gentlemen at the desk were as helpful and polite as could be. We stayed on the third floor. The room was exceptionally clean and tastefully furnished. There was a sofa that faced the flat screen television, a king sized bed, and a very nice armoire and desk. After spending some time in town, we returned to our room to enjoy some wine. In the room were glasses actually made of glass. (We've found plastic in our last few hotel stays elsewhere and this was a welcome surprise.) We also enjoyed a couple slices of pie from the downstairs restaurant. The bed was very comfortable, as we found out when we woke up at 8am rather than the 6am we're accustomed to. (We're parents of four children.) Checkout was also a breeze. We will definately return.

Room Tip: I always choose rooms on the highest floor possible. In this hotel, there was no reason for this, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The courtyard marriot was a fantastic place for us to stay for our spontaneous trip to Lake Placid this past weekend. At the front desk at Check In the staff was welcoming and very kind. The room was beautiful and cozy, not dirty at all. The beds were comfy and the couch was nice. It was nice to be able to call down for a 10pm dessert and have it there waiting in the bar area 5 minutes later. It was just a really great stay!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The staff was helpful and welcoming. Lots of snow during our stay, and they kept the lot well shoveled. Room was spacious and very clean. We stayed during the week and the hotel was quiet. Short drive to town. Good restaurants nearby--did not have breakfast at hotel, because it was somewhat expensive.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Skied Whiteface and headed for the Marriott in a snow storm. Was welcomed warmly by the front desk. Had a room on the third floor. The hotel is just a few years old and had a very homey atmosphere in their "great room". The bar was opened for cocktails where you could sit in a livingroom style area. We had a king size room with no complaints. The room was very clean and roomy with a pullout sofa. Next morning we had breakfast at the buffet. Jody, our waitress was very attentive, to say the least. I sneezed once and she was there with a box of tissues. Nice touch. She did the same with a couple who had children. Glenn was our chef who filled us in on the local area. Because of the storm,we didn't want to travel far so we went to Lisa G's down the road. That's where the local's go. Great meal and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My friend and I travelled from Canada and stayed one night at this hotel to go skiing at Whiteface Mountain. We had a room on the fourth floor with two queen beds. Check in went smoothly and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.Our room was neat clean and tidy and the beds were very comfortable.The bathroom was clean and had all the amenities expected. There is a restaurant and bar at the hotel. The bar area is large and has a fireplace with lots of comfortable chairs/couches in the area to sit on. We had supper at the bar. We had breakfast in the restaurant in the morning and our orders arrived as expected. In general, we found the supper and breakfast menu prices to be reasonable and the food we ordered was very good. We found the bar and restaurant staff to be friendly. My friend had mistakenly left ski goggles in the hotel room when we checked out. We went back after skiing and the cleaning staff had turned them in to the front desk. This was very much appreciated as the goggles were expensive. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid

Address: 5920 Cascade Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
#6 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lake Placid Hotel Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
Lake Placid Marriott
Lake Placid Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.