We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More scenic if you drive.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adirondack Scenic Railway

Adirondack Scenic Railway
20 Averyville Road, Lake Placid, NY 12866
+1 518-891-3238
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 38 things to do in Lake Placid
Activities: Canoeing, Kayaking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: All aboard for the Adirondacks, travel through remote forests, past sparkling rivers, over bridges, tranquil ponds and streams, into the magnificent beauty of the six million acre Adirondack Park. Become a witness of nature's beauty and look out for the many animals and birds along the routes. Our train adventures offer many different scenic excursions departing from Utica's Union Station, Thendara Station near Old Forge, Saranac Lake Union Depot and Lake Placid Station. For more information on departures or for contact information please check out our website.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“More scenic if you drive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I took the railroad trip in the 2nd week of october. The colors were out in full force. The music as one reviewer put it is bad :-) but at least it is not loud. The coaches are comfy, you can walk around. There are closed coaches and open ones. the open ones are basically 2 long rows of seats facing open windows. yes.. the roof is still there. It can be a little cold. We preferred the closed coach.It is a 45 minute trip from lake placid to saranac lake.
While i could never say that the scenery was bad, (it is adirondacks in the fall season. the foliage is always beautiful) i strongly felt that when we drove from lake placid to saranac lake we saw a whole lot more and were also able to stop and take pictures. You zip by a lot of scenery and it is not a very long trip. There is a 45 minute stop -over at saranac station. those with kids can enjoy a large merry go round near the station. The village was certainly interesting to look at. It makes for a nice 30 minute stroll.
Overall , if you want to quickly take a little scenery in , check the village out for a few minutes and return it is not bad. But i would drive around lake placid and to saranac next time instead of taking the train.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    16
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good ride, bad music”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We went on the wine tasting/adult Halloween train ride tonight. The ride and wine were great; however the music and singing was quite the opposite. We were never told that it was going to turn into a karaoke train ride. The music was loud, and you couldn't hear when the conductor was speaking. While its a great concept, they should have been more upfront about all the details.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice ride, but be careful which car you sit in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The ride was pleasant. There was a long line for tickets, even though we had purchased online. Because they didn't open up the ticket booth until 15 minutes prior to the train departure, the train left 30 minutes late. There were not enough seats for everyone in the enclosed cars, so families with children had to sit in the unheated car. Also the car windows in one of the cars were obscured so you had to stand to see the foliage.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ride a piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lovely hour and a half ride from Saranac Lake to Lake Placid and back. Interesting things on display at train stations at both ends. Option of heated cars or open car. Help support the historic railroad. They are trying to get the lines linked up to go from Placid all the way to Utica. What a nice trip that would be!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice train ride and fall foliage views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This tourist railroad has four stations with an assortment of trips between them. It operates on former New York Central RR tracks. We chose an afternoon round trip between the Lake Placid Station and the Saranac Lake Station (about 2.5 hours round trip). Our motive power was a very clean EMD GP9 pulling an assortment of 50's era passenger coaches (with one "open air" car). Overall, a nice experience.

Friendly staff, well-maintained stations and rolling stock, adequate parking. I would rate this trip one point higher except for some minor issues -- trip distance is rather short, leisurely speeds, mostly straight track, few scenic vistas. I think that some of the other trip segments might offer a bit more excitement.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adirondack Scenic Railway also viewed

 

Been to Adirondack Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adirondack Scenic Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.