We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but you pay for it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kanu

Kanu
7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946
800.903.4045
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kanu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 86 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 86
Description: Join executive Chef David Haick and the culinary team in Kanu for their take on eclectic New American cuisine; seasonal ingredients with a union of flavors complimented by a distinct presentation.
Saranac Lake
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service but you pay for it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The service and food was great this was my second time eating here. But I think you can find the same great service and food elsewhere in town for a lower price. I would recommend this place for the wow factor if that what you going for.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I are staying at the Whiteface Lodge and were so happy with our meals at Kanu. Apparently there is a new chef and they are doing great. The staff was very attentive and accommodating. The food was delicious and we felt very relaxed and comfortable. We highly recommend coming here.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Service & Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Grabed a quick lunch of Pizza & Beer, before we checked in at the Whiteface Lodge! Pizza was big enough to split for two and the service was excellent!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice lounge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good lounge, would have liked a better selection of items but the overall ambiance was nice, loved the fireplaces and couches

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We had dinner at Kanu restaurant on Saturday September 15. Excellent restaurant. Not an overwhelming list of plates to choose from but every plate selected were tasteful. I had Mahi Mahi for main course (strongly recommend it) while my girlfriend had the scallops (highly recommended as well).

Excellent and attentive service to the customer need.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanu also viewed

 

Been to Kanu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.