We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Relax and Enjoy the Adirondacks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whiteface Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Whiteface Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Guaranteed Best Values
Ranked #2 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Rockville, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Relax and Enjoy the Adirondacks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

This was our second visit to The Whiteface Lodge, we returned this summer after we thoroughly enjoyed our first visit last summer. On both visits, we all were sad to leave. During the day, we enjoyed boating (tubing for the kids), hiking and horseback riding, and during the evenings we relaxed pool-side, enjoyed movies in the 50 person movie theater (with complimentary freshly made popcorn), the nightly campfire, we played scrabble in one of the outside, tastefully furnished open-huts, worked-out in the very nicely equipped and immaculately kept gym (wisely, no children permitted there), played ping-pong, chess, checkers, pool, shuffleboard, and air hockey in the game room (we didn't use the bowling alley this visit - but yet another wonderful activity). We couldn't use the tennis courts on this visit, which was a bit disappointing, but there is certainly no lack of activities to keep the family entertained. There is an ice cream bar close to the game room that the kids really enjoy as well. Lest we not forget, the quiet solitude to relax and read on the spacious decks, or simply enjoy the mountain air and nature. There is also a wonderful spa, sauna and steam room available to guests. This is just a sampling of what our family enjoyed during our visit to The Whiteface Lodge - it's what I would call a perfect family vacation! I would add that while this is a great place for families, the Lodge never once seemed the least bit loud or crowded. The size of the property and the range of the activities makes it a perfect blend. My partner and I are thinking of stealing away a weekend in the fall without the kids to enjoy more time in this beautiful place, where you can truly relax, feel pampered and leave the world behind! The staff is amazing, very responsive, polite and friendly (without being obtrusive)! All aspects of the Lodge are maintained in a first-class manner. Kudos to the management and proprietors of this gem in Lake Placid. Keep up the great job! We will absolutely be back for more R&R in the years to come.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    396
    76
    23
    15
    9
See reviews for
217
202
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maspeth, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Don't let some of the guest photos scare you. Some of them make the place look a little creepy. Nothing could be further from the truth. Whiteface Lodge is a beautiful hotel with a great Adirondack style. The staff are all friendly and helpful, the rooms are extremely comfortable and clean. We generally stay at a Four Seasons or Park Hyatt and this hotel, while maybe not exactly on that level, compares well. It does seem a bit geared more towards family and children so it might not be the best romantic getaway.
A couple of issues I did have were with the pool area and food. You're pretty much alone at the pool with no staff around. It would have been nice to have a bar available and maybe a grill, even if for just burgers or hot dogs, etc. You have to use the phone to call the hotel to have food, drinks delivered. The clubhouse attached to the pool is an event space that was abandoned the whole time we were there. It just didn't have that welcome and active feel.
While the food was excellent, there aren't any other options available. The main restaurant, bar and pool call-in all are the same menu. Some variety would have been welcome.
Overall, the Whiteface Lodge was better than expected. It's not right in town but there is a shuttle available. We walked into town both days but it isn't exactly an easy walk. The lake front space owned by the hotel is on the way to town and makes a great stop for the walk. I don't imagine staying anywhere else if we find ourselves back in beautiful Lake Placid. Looking forward to seeing it in the fall.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Vacations that don't include extended family visits are few and far between, so when we found out the in-laws wouldn't be coming up for a week my husband and I, our 8 year old daughter, and 9 year old son, decided to take an impromptu trip. We chose The Whiteface Lodge based on their website, the reviews, and a $300 promotional credit they were offering that would help offset the cost of meals, the included breakfast buffet, as well as the amazing amenities and activities offered on site and at their private beach on Lake Placid. We could have spent five or six days at a cheaper hotel but would have had to deal with organizing all the meals and activities, which is not a break for a mother! So we opted for four nights somewhere where we didn't have to worry about what we were getting in to. Not only did we not have to worry, but it went well above and beyond our expectations! I could go on and on about the staff, the room, the food and the amenities, but the crowning moment for me was when I went to the concierge (I believe her name was Michelle) and told her that my son had left his stuffed animal at home. He had been worried about forgetting it at the hotel and it was the one thing I didn't pack. So the first night my son was very, very upset. The next day I went to the hotel store but it was closed. Michelle actually had someone come open up the store so that my son could get a stuffed animal (he ended up with two, a frog called Herbert and a wolf called Whiteface). The next three nights were very happy nights! Of course the breakfast buffet is absolutely fantastic - bowls of fresh fruit, sausages, pastries, pancakes, the food superb, the campfire s'mores every night where they come out every 10 to 15 minutes to check that everything is well stocked, the pools, the game room, the ice cream parlor, the trails on property, the fishing pond with everything waiting for you when you are ready to go and fish, and the beach at the lake where you get to take out paddle boats, canoes and kayaks at no extra charge. The shuttles are not little white buses with everyone crammed in but leather seated SUV's with prompt, courteous, and friendly drivers. We didn't even get a chance to go to the bowling alley, watch the fish being fed, or join in the star gazing, but we hope to do that next time. I really could go on and on..... oh yes, did I mention the breathtaking scenery, proximity to town which you can be shuttled to and from, the amazing decor of the lodge? Memories for a lifetime!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London ON
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

Whiteface lodge is beautiful. We stayed here for 2 nights in late June with two kids (7 and 9 years old). The one bedroom/living room/full kitchen suite was outstanding...very high end. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. There is a great indoor/outdoor pool and hot tubs with nice views of grounds, forest, pond, and mountains in the distance. The decor in the lodge makes you feel like you are in the mountains. We ate breakfasts and dinners twice at the Kanu Restaurant at this hotel and had great meals in this beautiful lodge dining room. The staff at this hotel were very pleasant, helpful, and professional. Our kids loved the pool, and bowling. The hotel has a small access site to the actual Lake Placid, but you have to take a very short shuttle ride (or you can walk there) as there is no parking at that site (Canoe Club).
Overall, this is an outstanding hotel, although it is quite expensive.
There is lots to do in the Lake Placid area. We drove to the top of Whiteface mountain for a great view of the Lake Placid area, and we checked out the Highfalls Gorge (in Willmington NY) on the way back from Whiteface mountain. Of course, there are the olympic sites, lake placid town itself, hiking etc. Not enough time to do it all.
Enjoy your trip to Lake Placid.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

The Whiteface Lodge is approximately five years old with most of the rooms/units held as time shares. The rooms and facilities are very tasteful, comfortable, and well maintained. The upscale property caters to a variety of North American and European clients and is family friendly. The staff is very friendly, although we were disappointed in the lack of service during our stay which was about two weeks prior to the busy summer season. There was no concierge on duty during our trip so we tried using the front desk to help arrange activities using outside guide services, but with limited or no success. The Lodge is not part of the Whiteface Club & Resort (no golf). It's a comfortable place to sleep and works amazingly well on a rainy day (movie theater, bowling, game room, spa on the property). I recommend you have your hiking, kayaking and other outdoor activities planned in advance of your trip and enjoy the Whiteface Lodge for a comfortable rest.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

We recently stayed at the Whiteface Lodge. Between the movie theatre, huge gameroom, bowling alley, fantastic spa, restaurant and impeccable customer service, we didn't care that it rained two days of our trip because there was so much to do indoors! On the sunny days, we enjoyed the outdoor pool, fishing pond, hiking trails. The balcony every morning was a wonderful way to start each day and the breakfast was great! There's no need to leave the property because this place has everything including a private beach and several types of boats for your pleasure. One of the best vacations we have ever taken. LOVED IT!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

From the moment Anna checked us in, we knew that our volcanic ash scrubbed Swiss Alps plans, were to be re-invented. Susan showed us around the beautifully maintained building, and Marty the manager, showed us to our
incredibly comfortable one bedroom suite. Mountain views, well positioned near town and a superb staff made this
a fantastic vacation. Samuel and Jamie were incredibly helpful and knowledgeable regarding the area hikes and terrain.
The food was terrific, and the game room a blast.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#5 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whiteface Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.