We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's definitely worth the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whiteface Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Whiteface Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Utica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's definitely worth the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I absolutely loved my Superior room at this resort/spa/inn!! It's pricey but the location is awesome. If you want to cook in your room there is a grocery store near by! Very relaxing place. Next time I'm staying longer than just one night. I'm thinking making this our yearly vacation! Definitely check it out if you are visiting lake placid area! Perfect year round getaway spot!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    67
    22
    15
    8
See reviews for
197
190
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Ontario
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Two families with teenagers stayed here the 2nd weekend of September. In a word, awesome. The Whiteface is not cheap but well worth every penny and dollar. We stayed in a three-bedroom suite which was spacious with a good kitchen and lounging area. Bedrooms were spacious, housekeeping-ice-concierge-turndown services were great and the staff, with no exceptions were amazing and could solve any problem. Food at Kanu was great, indoor/outdoor pool was fun and the gym is amazing. Games room with foozball, ping pong, air hockey and pool table along with two bowling lanes is great for kids and adults of all ages. This is a four-season quality resort and part the Leading Hotels of the World group. We will go back ... and soon.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Excellent place to stay in the Summer. Great rooms, great facilities, including Cinema, pool and games room. Lovely people to look after you. We really enjoyed the Canoe Club, where you are shuttled down to the Lake and you are able to relax with a stunning view of lakes and mountains. If you have more energy, then canoes, paddle boards, kayaks are available on a first come first serve basis in the boat house. I now believe that Lake holidays are better than beach holidays, and you couldn't get much better then the Whiteface Lodge in LP.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a treat! This place is fabulous! Spa...amazing. Salon...great service. Accommodations...could not want for anything (maybe a private chef!)...this property is TOP TIER. I have done a lot of traveling and would come here any time and will recommend it. The staff are very helpful, friendly, happy, and willing to go out of their way to see to all your needs. Kudos to management for running such an incredible facility. It takes a lot to keep a place this well-run and a lot of forsight to maintain this caliber of facility. NOT SURE IF I MADE MYSELF CLEAR...WE LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Select a studio or 1 bedroom for 2 people...ample room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

our first Adirondack experience and they serve it up like it should be. only thing one could ask for is more privacy (rent your own camp?). s'mores every night by the fire. great indoor/outdoor pool. tennis. small beach (accessible only by short shuttle). excellent linens and bathroom setup. complimentary choc. chip cookies every night (a little overboard). free day camp for the little ones. 3 movies a day in their cinema. given the deal we had ($100 spending money at the hotel per day) it seemed like everything was complimentary. the food... eh... it could be better. but whatever.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Firstly - if you want stay here book in advance, it wasn't available for most long weekends I tried to book it for.

The hotel location is just on the banks of the huge lake placid. Has a great restaurant, and Jetty, from where you can hire speed boats, paddle boats, etc and spend your day in the lap of the majestic Adirondacks.

the view from this place is Amazing. It has got its private beach on the lake where Kids can have a great time. But be prepared to splurge. Its definitely not cheap.

only cons that I can think of this place is that its nestled away in the wilderness (which is actually a pros), which can be a problem if you are seeking some downtown fun with shopping and other restaurants etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a cheap trip to the Adirondacks this is not the place for you. If you want one of the best places to go in the Adirondacks, then stop off at the bank, load up, and head out with the family to the Whiteface Lodge. This is definitely a resort meant for families. If you're traveling as a couple with no kids, for the money you will spend you will probably enjoy the Lake Placid Club more. But unlike the Lake Placid Club, Whiteface Lodge does not tell you to take your kids elsewhere. Instead, it welcomes them. We stayed for several August days in a four bedroom suite that was bigger than Donald Trump's ego. Two grandparents, a mother, father and three kids eight, seven and four. Rooms for everyone, and visitors if we were lonely, which we weren't. Unlike some of the reviewers here, we found the food to be excellent, although we preferred the casual bar area to the more formal dining room. The staff could not be more accommodating in all areas of the operation. Go. And when you do, you will be surprised that many of your fellow financially fortunate guests will be as friendly as you are.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous suites and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whiteface Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.