We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding family destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whiteface Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Whiteface Lodge to your Saves list
The Whiteface Lodge
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding family destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We are just wrapping up a 4-night stay in a one-bedroom suite at the Whiteface Lodge. As other reviewers have said, the place is beautiful - both inside and out. The attention to detail is remarkable, from the heated pathways in the courtyard and tunnel between the main building and clubhouse to the underground valet parking and soundproofing in the room. And the quality of the construction shows; the beams, doors, paneling and finishes are all solid wood so one gets the impression that the property will age quite well.

The amenities are so extensive that, despite the other winter attractions and activities that drew us to Lake Placid, we didn't step off the property for the first 2.5 days! The adults and kids in our group loved the ice skating (huge, well-maintained outdoor rink with skate rentals), indoor-outdoor heated pool and hot tubs, snowshoeing and sledding (snowshoes and sleds available for use with short but fun trails on the property), bowling, games room, and screening room. I really appreciated that all these amenities - even the skate rentals, showshoes and valet parking - were included in our rate, as my experience at other resorts is that they tend to nickel-and-dime you via onsite activities.

Several other reviews mentioned uneven service; while our experience has been quite positive, I would tend to agree. When we arrived, there was no valet or porter to be found and the front desk reception was unenthusiastic and didn't really help introduce us to the property. Several times, I approached staff that were chitchatting with one another and I felt like I was interrupting. Wait staff in the restaurant and service staff elsewhere have been friendly but lack the polish that one finds in other top resorts - I've experienced more refined service at just about every Asian hotel I've ever stayed at. Then again, this is the Adirondacks!

One service standout is the twice-daily housekeeping service - they did everything from washing our dishes to both closing and opening the sofa bed. And they are unusually friendly.

The included breakfast was great when served a la carte on our first day, but the buffet on other days was not very extensive (though what was there was delicious).

The suites are very well-equipped with kitchen wares and the decor and bedding are both top notch, but I couldn't figure out why there is only a washing machine and no dryer.

Despite these (relatively minor) shortcomings and the high price, we would enthusiastically return to the Whiteface Lodge!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    81
    23
    15
    9
See reviews for
231
235
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manorville, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited Lake Placid during our children's Feb break and had a wonderful time. Although we thought it was quite expensive....we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The lodge was beautiful and our one bedroom sweet was perfect. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was not our first visit to the Whiteface lodge and certainly not our last. We have 4 children between the ages of 10 and 4 and no one ever wants to leave the property when we are there. Amazing from start to finish and full of activities to keep the little ones busy. Skiing was great this time around- 12 inches of fresh powder made teaching our four year olds a little tough- but was great for the rest of us. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend last July. It was our first time to Lake Placid and we are so glad we chose the Whiteface Lodge. The accommodations were great. We had a one bedroom, 1 1/2 bath with a separate kitchen and living area. We were on the ground floor with a nice outside porch. The rooms were very spacious and the entire resort was very clean. The service was great, especially the valets.
Lake Placid is a nice small town with some great restaurants. The hiking in the area is amazing and we could have stayed a few weeks and done a different hike each day. It was great to have a kitchen to make breakfast and a pack lunch. The pool was nice to come back to after a full day of hiking. We did a rafting trip and there was a controlled dam release on the day we went so the rapids fantastic. It was about 1 1/2 drive away but worth it.
We were pleasantly surprised by all there was to do in the area and would definitely come back to Lake Placid again and stay at the Whiteface Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this property. It is family friendly, and has excellent customer service. The indoor/outdoor pool, beautiful setting, and attention to detail, put this lodging in the "extraordinary" category. Also, the beds were quite comfortable, the walls were soundproof, and we loved the radiant floor heat in the bathrooms. Chocolate chip cookies and hot cocoa were complimentary during the afternoon, and s'mores around the campfire at night. This is a fantastic choice for a family vacation. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars is the value, and the distance from the village.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

A wonderful mountain lodge with great service and amenities. Very spacious rooms and suites lets you just unwind.The resort is designed in Adirondack-style, and not a single detail deviates from this theme, from the ice holders in the rooms to the high-chairs in the restaurant. The entire hotel is spotless, and while I know provisions and clean laundry are delivered to the resort, those basic functions are hidden from even the most observant guest. The food and restaurants are way above whats available in the area. What to me really makes Whiteface is the staff they are professional and actually really happy. They do anything to make your stay the best it can be. I love the Adirondack region and the Whiteface Lodge just makes it that much nicer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Whiteface Lodge in early January during a quiet week between the holidays and the US Freestyle competition. This hotel was a wonderful choice. Our room was a spacious, well-designed suite with a sort of "lodge modern" decor, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the amenities were top-notch. The only downside was that the dinners at Kanu weren't particularly good, but the complimentary breakfasts, when not served buffet style, were excellent. We will definitely return next winter.

Room Tip: Get a mountain view room rather than one that overlooks the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whiteface Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.