We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and comfortable winter get-away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whiteface Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Whiteface Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Whiteface Lodge
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cozy and comfortable winter get-away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was our first visit to Whiteface Lodge and we highly enjoyed our two night mid-week stay here in mid-December. It was quiet while we were there, not too many other guests and we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. We enjoyed hours in the outdoor hot tubs and pool under falling snow, and took advantage of the restaurant and games room. We ordered off the breakfast menu since there were not enough guests for the full buffet and our meals were fantastic. Also had cocktails and dinner in the lounge which was so laid back and cozy around the fireplace. Service was excellent, and we appreciated the little extra touches like the chocolate chip cookies. Great view from the room and balcony, and although we didn't take advantage of the movie theatre or the campfire and smores, I'm sure they're just as great as everything else at Whiteface. Oh, I forgot to mention the 3-story high Christmas trees and all the other beautiful decorations around the Lodge. Just gorgeous. We can't wait to go back next year and will recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    67
    22
    15
    8
See reviews for
197
190
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We like to call The Whiteface Lodge our home away from home! We have been quite a few times now and every time we love it just a little bit more. From the minute you arrive everything is taken care of. From the great Bell service to checking in and once that is taken care of the fun begins. We are big skiers but we sometimes find it hard to leave in the morning with the great breakfast and the wonderful staff pouring coffee and Hot chocolates ! Dinner is amazing at Kanu and for lighter fare The Kanu Lounge is just as perfect. When we do come back from skiing we never know what to do first from ice skating and s'mores to the game room with a bowling alley and the spa is wonderful.Everything is under one roof and as great as Lake Placid is we always find it hard to leave this amazing property!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

As soon as we walked into the lodge we knew we would love our stay. The staff was marvelous. Our suite was deliciously comfortable with a great bed, tons of storage space and a lovely sitting room with a gas fireplace. We had dinner there two nights...both times in the bar area and it was quite good. The outstanding aspect of the lodge is the service...anything we needed was immediately attended to. The spa personnel treated us like royalty--not just during the time of my massage (which incidentally was one of the BEST I have ever had--ask for Susan)--but everytime we went down there for a sauna/steam. The iceskating rink was quite a surprise--we were expecting some puny little ice covered pond--and what was there instead was a good sized well groomed rink replete with skates and hot chocolate from morning till night. We took advantage of almost everything the hotel offered...the movie theater,the game room, snow shoeing, the fabulous hot tubs and indoor/outdoor pool. We were there with our teenage daughter for three nights and when we left we felt like we had been on a grand week long vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful, relaxing stay at Whiteface Lodge. We were there for three days the first week of December. As we drove up to the resort we were instantly impressed with the look of the resort, and once we got in we felt at home. It was so warm and inviting! Check in was smooth and soon enough we were in our one bedroom suite which was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly. The kitchen was perfectly equipped. The living room was extremely cozy with the fireplace which was a nice touch. We loved the large window in the living room and bedroom looking out onto the beautiful grounds and the huge balcony. The beds were soooooo comfortable, we slept so well! The heated floor in the bathroom felt wonderful! We appreciated all the little touches such as leaving complimentary chap stick, filled water bottles and glasses by the bedside, biscuits at turn down service, newspaper left outside our front door every morning. We had breakfast at Kanu and wow did we enjoy it! I had never tasted waffles that good! We also had supper there and again, the food was delicious! The grounds of the resort were very nice, though we did not venture out too much because it was sooo cold! We did go to Main Street which is a short distance from the resort. It is pretty with the little shops and restaurants. We also treated ourselves to a couples massage which we really enjoyed. The resort also has a game room, a theatre and a mini bowling alley! What more can you ask for!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went up for one night and loved it. Ice skating, swimming outside, great bar and restaurant and FREE breakfast was a buffet with the pancakes & bacon were very delicious!!! Will definitely be back. The beds are comfy. The little porch, the elec fireplace, tub/Jacuzi all very nice. Was a very nice one night and very relaxing night w/the hubby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Overall I really liked this hotel. I will first state what kept me from giving this place a 5 star rating: Service. The service is simply not 5 star, the rest of the place is absolutely 5 star quality. It starts when you arrive, there are not enough valets at the door, not enough people at the front desk on checkin. These things can simply be a matter of timing of course. When we first arrived the valet took our two bags straight to the room. He did not wait to escort us to the room - not that it was difficult to find the room and fortunately we passed him in the hallway on his way back to give him a tip. He had taken off so fast from the car I couldn't tip him before he left with our stuff. One time when returning with the car and looking for the valet it took better 5 minutes (perhaps even 10) for the valet to arrive. Another example, when in eating in the Kanu Lounge the service was really lacking. The first night we arrived we ate dinner in the lounge (the food was good) but the server brought my drink but forgot about my spouse's drink - so we had to remind him we each ordered a drink. At the pool/hot tub area I never saw any staff except one removing towels. I would have expected a staff person to be in the area on a routine basis, perhaps even offer drinks to those in the hot tub or just to make sure everything is in order. I had one or two other minor items on service but you get the point. Overall the staff is very friendly/pleasant, the service is good and perhaps even better than good but just not attentive enough to deliver a 5 star rating.

Now to the rest of the place. It is truly comfortable and relaxing. The rooms are well appointed and quite appealing. I enjoyed the fireplace in the room, the small dinette, the Adirondack decorations, the comfort of all the chairs, couch and bed. I could hear some things in the hallway but not enough to be at all distracting. I was never disturbed by any sounds from rooms to the side or above us. I thought the grounds were quite beautiful - there was snow on the ground when we were there and they had lights in the evergreen trees which looked terrific. Overall the place should be 5 star except the service keeps me from giving that rating.

I will go back, I had a terrific time and recommend this place if going to Lake Placid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sand Lake, New York, United States
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent a week for our 40th anniversary at the Whiteface Lodge. It exceeded all of our expectations for an Adirondack lodge. Our suite was beautiful, well appointed, warm, quiet and comfortable. The entire Lodge was the same. The entire staff was very friendly and helpful, from the valets, front desk clerks, concierge, servers and maids. Indoor-outdoor pool and hot tubs were a joy to use every day and seemed very clean. The atmosphere in the main restaurant and lounge were second to none with such great fireplaces. The food was okay but average - fortunately there are so many fantastic and unusual restaurants to choose from in LP. We will definitely return next trip to LP.

Room Tip: Suites facing Whiteface Mountain (not Rt. 86) are very private and quite and you can't beat the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#4 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous suites and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whiteface Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.