We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome lodging.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Whiteface Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Whiteface Lodge to your Saves list
The Whiteface Lodge
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off-Starting at $221
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
N Tonawanda
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome lodging.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This isn't an inexpensive destination, but it is truly wonderful and restful. The staff is awesome and very helpful from the moment you pull up at their front entrance. They offer valet parking, which is very welcome during the winter months. The front desk was very friendly and answered all of our questions during our three night stay.
The rooms are so nice, and it is not at all like any hotel we normally stay in. These are exquisitely furnished “apartments” with all the perks and amenities you could think of. They are actually privately owned (fractional ownerships) and managed by the resort, but you can see why the owners chose these units for their vacation homes.
The complex features an indoor/outdoor pool with indoor and outdoor hot tubs, all accessible to the main inn by underground tunnels or through the courtyard when the weather allows. The second floor features both a fine dining restaurant and a very comfortable lounge/ bar area.
We didn’t bring children on this visit, but I can see why this would be a great family destination with all of the activities available, including a movie theater, bowling alley, game room, and nightly bon fires. Most of the activities are locating in the basement level, along with the spa, so you don’t hear anything from the rooms.
This is truly a great spot to stay when visiting the Lake Placid and Adirondack Mountains.

Room Tip: We loved the third floor and probably request a view of Whiteface Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    79
    23
    15
    9
See reviews for
226
225
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Although very expensive it is a great place to stay. My kids just love it with its indoor outdoor pool, fire pit for roasting marshmallows and a ice cream counter. The rooms are beautiful with fireplace and all the amenities of home. The spa is great and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom floor are great my kids loved love seeing the deer come right up to the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, va
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We traveled with our two young children (4 and 7 months at the time) and it was a perfect experience. The staff was really helpful and kind and the resort premises were fantastic. It's expensive but you also get a ton of space, a washer/dryer in your room and a full kitchen. One night we made pasta in our room, ate and ran out before cleaning up so as to not miss the s'mores by the fire pit... when we returned, the entire mess was cleaned up by the maid service who came in to do the turn down service. We kind of felt bad as we fully intended to clean it up ourselves... but wow was that ever the best surprise! We put the kids to bed and uncorked some wine and got to enjoy our evening. It is vacation after all! Really, really recommend this place. The only downside is the lake access requires a short drive. Not the end of the world but a little inconvenient especially if you've got kids who have to sit in car seats. The on-site restaurant is great, the spa is lovely and don't miss out on the Whiteface mint chip ice cream at the ice cream parlour. Like nothing I've had before... delicious.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This modern full service condo hotel is a beautiful recreation of an old Adirondack Lodge. It is always a pleasure to stay at the Whiteface Lodge. It’s warm, comfortable, inviting and architecturally very interesting. It also offers great food and excellent service.

The only criticism that I might have and I hesitate at that, is that the guitar player / singer (he is very good, by the way, so this is not a criticism of his talent) who provides the entertainment in the dining room in the evening, is just too loud for the size of the room. One has to yell to communicate with your waiter or with other guests at your table.

The skiing is some of the best in the east too!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Before coming to the Whiteface Lodge we were skeptical about spending this much for a hotel that was not slopeside……after spending 4 nights here we would come again. The lodge is even more impressive in person then it is in pictures but, what really makes it stand out is the amenities for the entire family and the service. Our group consisted of 4 adults and 4 children ranging in age from 9 – 16. Everyone loved their time here from the ice skating (including skates), snow shoeing, outdoor pool and hot tub, heated outdoor walkways, complimentary hot chocolate, cookies & smores, game room, bowling alley, movie theatre and breakfast…..there was plenty to do without the kids looking constantly asking for money to feed a video game machine. The live music in the lounge in front of a fireplace and deep leather chairs was heaven for the adults. The restaurant was excellent and the service outstanding from everyone (especially the valets and bell staff) except for one rude bartender but everyone else more than made up for him. Bottom line don’t let the price scare you away this is an excellent resort, convenient to whiteface mountain, the town of lake placid and the Olympic village.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed here during Christmas holidays and it was like a fairytale with the snow dusted pine trees and beautiful decorations. We stayed in a 3bed suite and was perfect for our family. The living space is not that large but you are never in your room because there is so much to do there. Our daughter who was 2 at the time still talks about the place. There was free ice skating, movie theatre, snow shoeing etc. My husband and I did the bobsled nearby and we took our daughter to the Santa village nearby which is for kids under 48". Perfect for the holidays. Oh and the nearby restaurants along with the hotel restaurant where amazing! We will def be back again.

Room Tip: Mountain View Room on top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at The WhiteFace Lodge. The accomodations and decor of the rooms and the hotel were just lovely. The ice skating rink, indoor/outdoor pool, bowling alley, fitness room and game room were highlights for our family. And it was a short drive to Whiteface mountain and the town of Lake Placid. Hotel is a bit pricey and food was overpriced as well but the atmosphere was inviting. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whiteface Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.