We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Whiteface Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Whiteface Lodge to your Saves list
The Whiteface Lodge
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at the Whiteface hotel and had a wonderful stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and really looked after us.
We thought of Lake Placid as a ski resort but the area has plenty to do and The Olympic Training centre had national teams that were training and you could meet and talk to them much easier than in the winter.

we were on a boat package and the only mistake we made was not taking the old Speedboat trip rather than the family Waterski-ing, but we had a great experience there and will be back.

Room Tip: A great hotel for summer and winter with plenty to do but book early and meet with the concierge as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    81
    23
    15
    9
See reviews for
231
235
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed for three nights in a first-floor suite with a patio overlooking a pond. Very quiet, very comfortable.

Pro: No expense was spared in furnishing the hotel and the rooms. They are well appointed with the highest quality items and it is a lovely and comfortable place to stay. If we had not been so busy, I would have loved to sink into one of the comfy chairs in the common areas to read a book! There is a guest laundry room with at least 4 washers and dryers, all complimentary with complimentary detergent -- it was so nice not having to scrounge for quarters! The Kanu Lounge had live music and though it was just a couple of guys with guitars, it lent a fun and relaxing atmosphere to the lounge. The wait staff in the Kanu restaurant was wonderful and full of tips on things to do and places to go. (One waitress, Nicole, was very attentive to my 11 year old son, who was not feeling well; I appreciated that.) And Kanu offered fresh, delicious baked goods made on-premises during brunch.

Cons: Do not -- DO NOT -- use the "european style" washer/dryer combo machine that is in the suites. This machine is LOUD and it runs for more than FOUR HOURS. I regretted doing any laundry in this machine and did the rest of it in the guest laundry room. Our dinner at Kanu was just average. I found the front desk staff to be somewhat mixed, i.e., most were friendly, a few had some attitude. Finally, the pool area was a disappointment -- other guests had "trashed" the indoor pool area (shame on them!) but no one at the resort seemed to be responsible for checking it regularly and keeping it tidy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to give the kids something to remember. The room was great and the kids really enjoyed the "free" cookies, smores, slippers, etc. However, it really wasn't worth the $500+ per night they are charging. Something around $300 a night would be much more in line with what you get. Not sure what the occupancy levels are, but we probably won't go back for the full rate. Also, anyone can just drive up, park and use many of the amenities. They should try to police this somehow so that the actual paying guests aren't crowded out by free-loaders.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This hotel is a great place for families vacationing in Lake Placid. Our room, a one-bedroom suite, was spacious, well-appointed and so clean. The entire property is tastefully decorated in an upscale Adirondack lodge style. So many activities are complimentary...kayaks & canoes, bowling, game room, movies, nightly s'mores...my boys (ages 10 & 8) had a blast. Each night, chocolate chip cookies were left for us with the turndown service...a nice touch! The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, especially the staff at the Canoe Club and the valets who shuttle guests between the hotel and the canoe club/main street shopping area. Our stay here exceeded my expectations, and I look forward to returning again with my family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Given the price, and yes, it is very expensive, much more should be expected. Stayed here for 6 days and wished we could have left after two. It is not on or near Lake Placid -- you need to take a shuttle (they will not allow you to drive to their lot on the lake). The shuttle stops running at 6pm so don't plan on any romantic sunsets. Service was mediocre at best -- seems they hired all college students....non of whom likely have stayed at high-end resorts or know what high-end service is. Lastly, be prepared for kids.....lots of kids. In fact, it is sort of like a very expensive version of Disney's wilderness lodge........without the theme park. I will say, our room was very nice.

If you are going to lake placid, check out the Lake Placid Lodge. We drove up to it.....right on the lake!! Felt much more like an exclusive lakeside resort!! I believe the prices are similar.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, ask for a one bedroom facing the courtyard. We could hear the road (again, det...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris County, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Book your stay at the Whiteface Lodge and you won't be sorry. It really is worth it. It's the most we have ever paid for a room - but we still talk about our stay there. Everything is superb - the room, the food, the environment - all wonderful. My 5 year old son felt the same way - we came back refreshed. We just booked our next winter's stay - and it's August! Can't wait to go......

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our family recently returned from a trip and stayed at this wonderful resort in Lake Placid. It is fantastic in so many ways....service was superb on every level from the time we arrived until checkout. We stayed 4 nights in a 3 bedroom suite and our kids had their own TV, private baths and robes and slippers. We were given nightly turndown service along with fresh chocolate chip cookies. Their staff is very accomodating to every need. We had delicious breakfasts in the lodge every day and also ate dinner their a couple of nights. Terrific food and service at all times. Would HIGHLY recommend to anyone. There were a lot of families with small children who arrived Friday night for the weekend and it got rather busy but they have tons of activities for the children. If you want a quiet romantic time with your spouse I would recommend going during the week. I can definitely see why the resort is popular with families! Would love to go back sometime during the winter months and see how beautiful it looks with the snow and the 30 foot Christmas tree we were told adorns the front of the lodge. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Whiteface Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteface Lodge

Address: 7 Whiteface Inn Lane, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Family Hotel in Lake Placid
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Whiteface Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Adirondack Mountains, this exclusive resort is a haven of comfort and elegance. A retreat where guests can relax in sumptuous all suites resort and enjoy superb cuisine. A refined atmosphere, log architecture, fire places, world class spa, year round activities and the Canoe Beach club on Lake Placid. The Lodge is both a family friendly destination and an adult playground or romantic escape. A Member of Leading Hotels of The World and the most Luxurious Full Service Resort in the Adirondacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Whiteface Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Hotel Lake Placid
Whiteface Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whiteface Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.