We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Summit Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lake Placid Summit Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2375 Saranac Avenue, (same as 8-12 Saranac Avenue), Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 hotels in Lake Placid
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value, great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel is clearly a middle tier property and priced accordingly. Considering the excellent location it is a very good value for the price. We stayed over a holiday weekend and had a very spacious room with a beautiful view of Mirror Lake. The bed was great and the room had a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker. The bathroom was very up to date however the Jacuzzi jets looked like they could have used some cleaning. The furniture was worn. The overall condition of the property is fair and could used some updating and/or repair. The pool is large but the so-called hot tub just has hot water, no jets. The pool room echoes so much that it just takes one screaming 3 year old to make you want to get out of there.

I think the biggest problems at this hotel are self-inflicted wounds resulting from poor management. Case in point: The gentleman at the desk in the evening could not have been nicer and more helpful, great guy. On the other hand, the woman at the desk the next morning probably should not be dealing with guests. It was 9:00AM and some guests were in the lobby looking to have some of the complimentary coffee that the hotel provides. There were no more cups so the guests asked for some. The woman at the desk said they stop serving at 9:00, the guests said they called to ask about the coffee and were told that it was available until 10:00. Well it's 9:00, she said. End of discussion. Would've been simple enough to get a few more coffee cups to make people happy. If this hotel focused on a more consistent guest experience and put some money into upkeep and maintenance it could be a really great property.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review!

We agree that for our location and views, we offer fantastic pricing. Our rooms are spacious and bright with refrigerator and coffee maker as well as microwave in most of them. As you stated, updates are needed in some places and are ongoing.

Our pool is large and subsequently, can be a bit noisy. The hot tub is just that, a tub that is hot; it is not jetted.

I apologize for the apparent lack of customer service you experienced in the morning. We will certainly go over this with our desk staff and clarify the times that we offer coffee in the lobby. Though, as you mentioned earlier there are coffee makers in the rooms and ceramic coffee cups are provided there as well for your convenience.

Thanks again for leaving your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us while in Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    46
    38
    44
    31
See reviews for
50
64
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Upon entering the lobby the hotel looks like an upscale, classy accommodation...complete with beautiful chandeliers and a beautiful view. After checking in and walking further down the hall the place looks quite shabby and worn. It could definitely use a face lift. Although there appeared to be a restaurant and a lounge, they were closed. This was disappointing to us as we like to relax in the hotel lounge and have a cocktail or two before venturing out. On a positive note...the rooms are spacious, clean, quiet and bright. We had a lake view which was lovely. The bathroom was large and bright but the shower head needed to be replaced as we could only get a trickle of water for our showers. The hotel is close to the main drag so we were able to walk to shops and dining.

Room Tip: Request a lakeview room, otherwise you will be looking over a parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review!

Yes, we have done many updates to the hotel including to the main lobby and many, many of our rooms. As you mentioned, the lake view rooms have been updated and are light and bright with great views! And, yes there are still areas needing updating and we have plans for all of them.

Also, thank you for letting us know about the issue you had with your shower while you were still with us and not after checking out. It makes it possible for us to provide a resolution rather than an apology.

Our restaurant is not currently open but we are anticipating a re-opening this Spring. In the meantime, there are many dining options within minutes walk from the hotel; dozens of options within 5 minutes drive. This is true for the downtown shops as well.

Again thank you for taking the time to provide a review and we very much look forward to your next stay with us here in Lake Placid!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Srpings
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was another repeat visit to this hotel because it is a good value, convenient location and we can be assured of clean rooms. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean and in great condition. Our room was quiet and there is plenty of parking. It is a short walk to restaurants and shops on the main street so this is the first hotel we choose when visiting Lake Placid. The staff is always friendly, helpful and professional. We haven't used the pool or restaurant, but will on future trips.

Each time we visit, it is evident that they have made some improvements and updates, but the price is still lower than most places in the area. We appreciate that they may need to renovate in stages because they do not raise their prices so it gives us a clean, well-located, friendly place to stay that we can afford.

Thank you for another great visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to leave us a review!

It's great to hear from our return guests!

This goes to show what a great location with amazing views can offer for reasonable rates. Your review has summed it up very well: clean, comfortable, quiet and accommodating with easy access to main street.

There are updates still needed throughout and we continue to work on them year round. As you've stated, we are doing them in stages and for exactly the reason you mention: to keep our offerings high and our prices very reasonable.

Thanks again so much for your review and we cannot wait for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This hotel was perfect for my family of 6. It had 2 rooms that joined. We left the door open and the kids room had no exiting door to the main hall. The had their space but we were able to monitor them closely. The staff were friendly and helpful. The accommodations and public areas were very clean. The pool could use an update and was so cold we couldn't go in. Other
than a cold pool, the place was perfect for a family with kids.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review!

Many people enjoy our family units for the conveniences you mentioned. There are two rooms, essentially in an adjoining configuration, but without an additional door into the main hallway. This gives the kids and you some space, but with a little less concern for them leaving the room.

Our staff is often given praise for their friendly, knowledgeable guest services.

We have updated our pool, but may have to look at other upgrades in the future as well. As for the temperature, the pool is kept at approximately 84 degrees. We will have to look at whether or not that needs to be increased when the outside temperature is well below zero.

We appreciate very much that you took the time to leave feedback and look forward to your next visit to the Summit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We arrived at Lake Placid in the rain and had prebooked at the Summit Hotel. This hotel needs a complete renovation. It looks shabby and worn out. We felt that the reception staff were not very attentive and on entering our room our hearts sank. The room was dark, felt dank and smelt stale and looking between the bed and the side cabinets the floor had not been cleaned in a long while. We did not feel clean and felt uncomfortable at sleeping in the sheets but as we arrived later in the day and were here just for one night put up with the situation. The hotel must habve been great in the 80s at the time of the Olympics but just feels uncared for yet it is in a good location off the Main Street. The restaurant was closed. Nearby are great little shops and restaurants and the nearby Mirror Lake) walking to the shops and eateries was easy, a lot easier than taking the car. although the hotel's restaurant was closed there were plenty of places to eat just a short walk away. I would not stay here again unless a complete refurbishment has taken place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

The only thing I can really say about your comments is that I wish you had communicated with our staff instead of being unhappy with your accommodations. We could have fixed your room. Also, we have many, many rooms which have been renovated. I am positive that we had a room that would have made you happy. Though you were not comfortable in the sheets, I am confident the sheets and bed were clean.

Yes, we do have more work to do, but have done many renovations and updates to make the Summit a much more comfortable and up-to-date place.

In the future, a room number would be helpful so that if there are actual problems, we can correct them.

Again, thank you for the review and we do hope that you'll give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at Summit hotel from 11 to 14 October 2013. A lot things should be taken care of. I start with the smell all over the hallways and even in the rooms. I guess is because of the carpet, so it needs a good cleaning or it needs to be changed.
In the room I found an underwear which means that the room cleaning was not done properly. The water wouldn't flow from the bath tub, the drain was blocked.
At the pool the water was too cold, which means the hotel doesn't heat it and the water in the Hot tub was filthy.
The door to the balcony was locked with a piece of wood...
This hotel is well located but in my opinion it needs a lot of renovations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your taking the time to provide a review.

You mentioned the smell in the hallways; specifics would be appreciated. I have walked the hallways many, many times and I don't know of any particular offending odor. Occasionally they smell of fresh paint from the hallways being touched up. We vacuum on a daily basis and shampoo the carpets regularly.

As for the the clothing in the room, please accept my apologies for our housekeeping staff missing the dresser drawers. I don't think that means that the room wasn't cleaned properly. Did you let anyone know the water in the tub drained slowly? Both of these issues are easily remedied with notification to the desk.

The pool is kept between 84 and 86 degrees, year round. If we didn't heat it, the temperature would most likely be in the 40's or 50's. We keep our pool at the same temperature as most hotels in Lake Placid.

I would agree that we still have updates to make, but we offer clean accommodations in a great location at very reasonable rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a main floor room which was is pretty decent shape. Given that this location was much lower priced than others on the same street I can overlook a few minor blemishes. The only main concern was that the restaurant was closed down, but there were lots of local spots to fill in. Pool was in good shape.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your input.

Many many of our rooms have been updated over the last few years, though we do have some further work to do and haven't stopped improving. Though, as you pointed out our rates are much cheaper than many others in Lake Placid; especially with our great location in downtown.

We are also disappointed that the restaurant is closed but are working on having a new open in the new year.

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and apologize for any "blemishes" along the way. We look forward to you staying with us the next time you're in Lake Placid!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Placid Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Summit Hotel

Address: 2375 Saranac Avenue, (same as 8-12 Saranac Avenue), Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Lake Placid
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Placid Summit Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lake Placid Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lake Placid
Lake Placid Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid Summit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.