We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some bad, an OK stay for the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Summit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Placid Summit Hotel to your Saves list
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2375 Saranac Avenue, (same as 8-12 Saranac Avenue), Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Aiea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad, an OK stay for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We rolled into Lake Placid without any hotel reservations made in advance, not sure if we wanted to stay there. We chose the Summit Hotel using the hotelcoupons.com coupon book (available on the NY Thruway and at many tourist info spots throughout the region) after checking a couple of other places first (no vacancy). The four of us were able to get a 2 bedroom/2 bath suite for a base price of $180/night, which kept us within our budget. I would especially like to compliment Diane (?), who was nice enough to show us the room before we committed (the place was filling up). The general comments about the hotel needing renovation are true. It's a bit worn out. But, it wasn't dirty and it wasn't a dump. There were a lot of cosmetic annoyances (small holes and dents in the bathroom walls and the like), but the necessities were there. The hotel's location is actually fantastic, being just off the end of the happening strip of stores and restaurants and overlooking the lake (I think it's Mirror Lake). So, walking to shopping and eating was easy, a lot easier than taking the car (parking's tight). Free parking at the hotel is also a little tight, so claim a spot early and don't give it up. The hotel's restaurant was closed, but there were plenty of places to eat a short walk away. Wi-Fi worked fine for us in the room. Check-in and check-out were not a problem. I would have to agree with the reviewer that said it wasn't as bad as some reviews make it sound. It's not the Crowne Plaza. But, we were satisfied with what we got for what we paid. And, we were thankful there was an opening for our one night in Lake Placid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving a review! We appreciate your comments.

It sounds like one of our family suites was a perfect fit for your stay. With 2 bedrooms and bathrooms in an adjoining-rooms configuration, they are often an economical and certainly a convenient option to two separate rooms.

As you said, there are some areas that still need updating and we are continually working toward that goal. The hotel is definitely not a dump. There are areas that still need updating before they're perfect.

We are not the Crowne, but we offer clean, comfortable accommodations in a great location at reasonable rates.

Thanks again for your review and we hope that you'll consider choosing us again the next time you're in Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    50
    50
    49
    35
See reviews for
53
78
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

While the hotel is ideally situated it is not a location I would recommend. The room was clean but tired. The balcony door would not lock and instead was secured closed with a piece of wood. There was nothing upon which to put your luggage unless you chose to use the only chair or desk or to place your things on top of the microwave. The room does not have a closet or any area to hang a jacket and while the bathroom was clean, there were no hooks to hang wet towels or clothes. The walls in the hallways were dented and in need of TLC. While it appeared from signage and from the internet that there was a restaurant on site, it did not appear to be open while we were in town. The staff were present and helpful but not overly friendly or welcoming. In fact, I would say the same about a great deal of the hospitality staff in the town of Lake Placid. They all did their job but, with the exception of the majority of bartending staff, did nothing more. They lacked the warmth and pleasantness that you generally find in a tourist town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I do however disagree with some of it and am confused by the rest.

Our location is, bar none one of the best in the village. We are at the intersection of Main Street and Saranac Avenue; the two main streets in the village. There are restaurants and shops just a few feet from the hotel. We offer spectacular views of the lake as well. So I'm confused about why you wouldn't recommend it.

All of our rooms have closets and luggage racks. We also have hooks on the back of all bathroom doors. Did you mention your storage issues to our staff before you checked out? If in fact hooks were missing in the bathroom, we certainly could have replaced them.

All of our hallways have been remodeled in the last two years with wainscoting throughout the entire hotel on the bottom half of all the walls. The uppers were patched and painted along the way as well.

Your comments about staff are confusing. I could understand leaving comments if our staff were rude or unhelpful, but according to your own comments they were helpful.

Also, we are not affiliated with any restaurant or bar in town. I'm confused by your leaving comments on our page about your experiences at other establishments.

Lastly, the ratings you gave us were contradictory. You gave us 4 out of 5 on location but that was the first thing you critiqued negatively. Sleep quality you rated 2 out or 5 but never mentioned it in your review. A vast majority of our beds have been replaced in the last two years so we don't often hear they are uncomfortable. Also, you mentioned in your review that the room was clean but then rated cleanliness a 2 out of 5.

Thank you again for leaving a review. I hope the next time you're in Lake Placid you'll let the establishments you're patronizing know the issues you're experiencing as they happen so they can be resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Let me start by saying based on some of the reviews I was expecting very little when checking in to the hotel. Lets just say it isn't a roach motel but it's also not a five star motel.
The good - the room was fairly clean, the bathroom we had was recently remodel (see notes on bad below) so we didn't have issues that other reviewers have said about too small of a bathroom space. It was convenient to have a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker since breakfast is not provided. The staff that we encountered were friendly. It is in walking distance to the main area of Lake Placid so you don't have to worry about parking which can be impossible to find during the busy season. The parking lot is extremely tight for parking spaces.
The bad - the fan in the bathroom obviously hadn't been cleaned in a very long time and had layers of dust built up on it which made me question the housekeeping overall. While the bathroom was renovated there was peeling paint around the top of the tub surround. The ceiling looked like there was water damage and or staining. I also was pretty sure when the people above us were showering we could hear water dripping in to the walls or ceiling. The shower also had almost no water pressure.
The room overall while clean was in need of maintenance - the furniture had corners that were broken, there was broken chunks missing from the baseboards, there were holes in the walls that needed to be patched. There is definite need of maintanance.
We found that while the pool was advertised as being heat. It was not or was barely heated since it was rather cool.
Overall it was fine for what we needed a place to crash with our children while visiting the area for a very quick weekend trip. It was definitely overpriced but that's what you have to expect for a tourist town in season on a weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We very much appreciate your feedback. It is only with your comments that we can improve.

We are definitely neither a roach motel nor a 5 star hotel. We are striving to be a moderately priced, clean hotel with a great location.

It sounds like we have some work to do in regards to our longer term cleaning efforts. No one likes to see dust in the bathroom fan! We have spent much of the Fall touching up furniture and walls.

As for the pool, we keep it between 84 and 86 degrees year round. This is the temperature range that most hotels in Lake Placid keep their indoor pools at.

Many, many of our rooms have been remodeled or updated within the last few years and a majority of our bathrooms have been as well. All of them have coffee makers and refrigerators and most have a microwave as well.

As for our pricing, our rates are some of the best in town, particularly for our location and for the amenities we offer.

Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon in Lake Placid!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Arrived here after a long drive from Canada and was immediately wary as the hotel lobby area was not clean. We were booked in by a receptionist who went through the motions but offered no information ie that the restaurant was closed and we would have to go elsewhere to eat! We walked down the corridor to the lift which was similarly unclean to our room 205 . On opening the door we thought we had been transported through a time portal and transferred back to the 1960s. The room was unclean and had toe nail clippings on the floor. The duvet was badly stained and one of the windows was so badly discoloured you could not see through it. I could go on listing the faults but I will not bore you. We complained and were shown to another room which had previously been booked by cockroaches but who had unfortunately not checked out! We left at high speed and booked into The Crown Plaza around the corner which was back in the 21st Century. You have been warned!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I am confused by and disagree with your review in general.

Was the front desk agent rude or specifically unhelpful? Or did they forget to mention that the restaurant had closed, literally the day you checked in? Some members of the staff did not get the message that it had closed until their next shift.

Regarding room 205, was it a toe nail clipping on the carpet that reminded you of the 1960's or the recently purchased (2011) duvet covers that weren't to your liking? We strive for cleanliness in all areas of the hotel. Sometimes, we make mistakes but we continue to learn from them.

If when you checked in, you had asked for a room with a budget for a room at a high end hotel, we certainly would have provided you an option to those standards. Since room 205 is one of our most basic rooms, I can only assume that you asked us for a budget room.

Your "warning" is unnecessary and unwarranted and we do not appreciate your negativity and apparent embellishments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Arkansas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hotel has not been updated since the 1980 Olympics. Very, very small poorly lit bathroom area. Need very short legs to use the toilet and close the door! Bed was very hard and uncomfortable. Didn't even try the restaurant as the menu was not inviting at all. Wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I disagree wholeheartedly with your review though.

The hotel has seen many many updates and upgrades since the 1980's. As we have stated on this site many times, upgrades are ongoing and will continue. We have also mentioned that there are some bathrooms that still need updating. Even those however have been updated since the Olympics.

Did you mention to the desk staff after you checked in that you were unsatisfied with your room? Since most of our rooms have renovated bathrooms, we could easily have moved you to a room with a more satisfactory bathroom.

As for the beds, we have received overwhelming positive feedback. They are recently purchased queen sized Sealy mattresses.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us; however I don't think we were given a chance to make the stay right before you checked out and left a bad review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellmore, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I paid $75, and for that, this was a great place. Nice location one block from the lake and from the start of "downtown." Rooms are a decent size, and windows open to get some fresh air. No breakfast, though, and you have to walk outside in order to get to the on-site restaurant. I just walked downtown to the plethora of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much for the review!

As you said, the hotel is in a great location. I'm not sure why you have downtown in quotations, but we're very proud of our downtown and our proximity to it.

I don't think you can find a rate cheaper $75; especially with our location.

Lastly, the downstairs restaurant, though now closed, does have access from inside the building; right next to the front desk.

We appreciate that you chose our hotel and hope to see you again at the Summit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANTON
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Lake Placid can be a pricy place to stay. We paid $100 for a room on a weekday in the summer. It was one of the more reasonably priced hotels in downtown Lake Placid. The rooms were clean and the service was good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPSummit1, Public Relations Manager at Lake Placid Summit Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your review!

Lake Placid being one of the best tourist destinations in the North East can be a pricey place to visit. Though there are restaurants and as you've discovered, some hotels with reasonable rates.

We do our very best to keep the property clean and to provide great service. We are always looking to make improvements in the property as well as cleanliness and service.

I'm glad you chose the Summit Hotel and had a great experience; this is our goal and it's good to hear we're succeeding! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Placid Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Placid Summit Hotel

Address: 2375 Saranac Avenue, (same as 8-12 Saranac Avenue), Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Placid Summit Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Lake Placid Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Lake Placid
Lake Placid Summit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid Summit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.