We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice courses, but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Placid Club Golf Courses

Lake Placid Club Golf Courses
88 Morningside Drive, Lake Placid Resort, Lake Placid, NY 12946
518-523-4460
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 35 Activities in Lake Placid
Type: Golf Courses, Outdoor Activities
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 45 Holes of Championship Golf - Links Course, Mountain Course, & Pristine 9. The Lake Placid Club Links course was designed in 1909 by the renowned Scottish architect Seymour Dunn. Dunn remained true to his origins, and the Links course represents Scottish Links style golf at its best with bunker-laden fairways, native fescue, and large undulating greens. The Lake Placid Club Mountain course was laid out in 1910 by Alexander H. Findlay who immigrated to the U.S. from Scotland in the early 1880's and became one of the pioneers of golf in America. In 1931 the course was remodeled by Alister MacKenzie, designer of Augusta National – the home of "The Masters". With smaller greens and more tree-lined fairways, this course begs for the straight shot. The engaging design takes full advantage of the scenic vistas and will appeal to players of all levels. It is quite simply the essence of "mountain golf". Pristine 9 Executive Course - A little slice of golf heaven with 7 par 3's and 2 par 4's. The par threes range from 90 to 200 yards in length and have small undulating greens while the par 4's are reachable at 260 and 270 yards, eagles are rare, and birdies fly away with frequent three putts. Moose are known to frequent the Pristine 9 as they love to go for a dip on Hole 7 where the tee shot requires a carry over a pond. Typical round takes about an hour and a half, so it makes for family fun or a quick getaway for lunch on the run. Spectacular Weddings and Special Events: Overlooking the Historic Lake Placid Club Golf Courses, the Golf House offers the most beautiful view of the High Peaks in the Adirondacks. With an open-beamed ceiling, a massive stone fireplace & magnificent antler chandeliers, your Lake Placid special event at our Golf House is the epitome of an Adirondack experience. If you prefer the outdoors the covered pavilion attached to the Golf House gives you the best of both worlds...outdoor feeling while protected from the elements.
Wayland, NY USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice courses, but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The greens are in really great shape, and the Mountain course is not extremely challenging. The carts are gas, but spacious. There are a few challenging holes. I thought $75 to play 18 holes with a cart was a bit much, although there are reduced rates after noon.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JesseQuonce, Media Director at Lake Placid Club Golf Courses, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent golf outing at the historic Lake Placid Club Golf Courses. I would like to point out that our 2012 price structure (prices including cart) is as follows: $75 before 12pm, $50 between 12pm and 3pm, and just $25 after 3pm. Also, there are many affordable Play and Stay packages are available through the Crowne Plaza Resort, some starting as low as $99 per night. For current availability and pricing on these Golf Packages, I would recommend calling the hotel directly. We sincerely appreciate your review, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Was like owning my own course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was my second time playing Lake Placid Club. The first time I played the Links course and this time I tried the Mountain course. Both times I waited until 3 for a tee time, the price drops to $25 for 18 and a cart (my wife's scotch, so if I want to play golf). I was told there were people ahead of me and I would probably catch up. I didn't see anyone on the course until I got to the 9th hole, and didn't catch up to anyone until the 15th. Even then, there was no delay. Going to try and talk friends into a weekend next season.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Didn't golf, but sure enjoyed the amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our nephew and his new bride recently hosted their wedding reception at the Lake Placid Club.

The entire evening was jaw-dropping. The view from the elegant "pavilion" was stunning, the food (from appetizers to entrees) was out of this world, and the staff was attentive without being intrusive.

Couldn't have been a nicer experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario,Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Courses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We played both the Links course and the Mountain course. The courses were in great shape considering what a dry summer we have had. They were lush and so green. The Links course was the easier of the two. The Mountain course was much harder and there were many blind shots you had to take. The scenery was beautiful and both my husband and I enjoyed our golf games. We had lunch on the patio and the service, as well as the food was fantastic! Would love to return and play again in the near future.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, VA
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful vistas, challenging course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I played the mountain course, and it did indeed have beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. The single check-in person wasn't very helpful, and finding the practice range was not easy. Practice balls were expensive at $5 for maybe 24 balls. There was no starter. The golf cart had no windshield or golf bag cover, so watch out if you play when rain threatens.
The layout was sometimes confusing and not self-evident, and we had to cross a fairly busy road several times. Fairways were very rolling, with a lot of blind shots. Some holes had more of a links feel, with tall fescue and wildflower-filled roughs. There was not a return to the clubhouse after #9, so the one, unlabeled rest room (available once from each 9) was welcome. Some greens were not in the best condition and a little bumpy; fairways had clover mixed in with the grass. Bunkers seemed to be dirt, not sand. There is not a drop of drinking water available after leaving the club house, so take your own.
It seems the course suffers from lack of capital, but overall it is a fun experience. Those blind shots were an enjoyable challenge. It was part of a golf package through the Crown Plaza hotel.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Club Golf Courses also viewed

 

Been to Lake Placid Club Golf Courses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Placid Club Golf Courses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.