We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced...under delivered, stay away!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn
77 Mirror Lake Dr, Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, Lake Placid, NY 12946
+1 518-302-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 86 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $19 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Interlaken Avenue
Description: The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, New York. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Thirteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Prepared Dinner at The James Beard House November 2008. We are also new member to The Adirondack Harvest. Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live music on Friday nights in Taste Bistro. The perfect place for the "special occasion".
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Overpriced...under delivered, stay away!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in a Marcy room which was lovely but should be at $500/night.. Greeted by front desk clear who had her speech memorized and wasn't going to vary from it. Offered us a bland chocolate chip coffee as she lectured at us instead of answering the questions we asked and wanted answered. The lake staff was lovely and certainly fun to kayak around the lake in the complimentary kayaks. The View Restaurant is absurdly overpriced with entrees averaging in the high 30's with no flavor and average plate design and small portions. Restaurants in NYC or Philadelphia charge the same or less but at least these are award winning chefs and their food have flavor. The view is lovely of the lake but free by day if you want a photo. The afternoon tea which they offer features the same bland chocolate chip cookie not worth the calories from check in which is 20 feet away. Where was the scone, cookie assortment...I kid you not a commercial Milano would have been better. As for the room, they hit you with a chamber maid fee at registration of $7.50 and don't tell you it's optional, wifi was $14.95 for 2 days and free at the Marriott Courtyard down the road where I've stay before. Overall, for $500 for a room to sleep it's living off its reputation and not what is actually delivered.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for being our guest.

We are glad that you felt your room was lovely. Our front desk staff receives many comments about how helpful, warm and welcoming they are. We do have specific items that we like to cover at check-in and most of our guests really appreciate the information we provide as it enhances their stay and we are always happy to answer any questions our guests have at check-in or at any time during their stay.

We have been making our signature homemade chocolate chip cookies from the same recipe for more than 50 years and our guests love them.

Our award winning Executive Chef and his staff prepare and present excellent food and I am sorry it was not to your liking. The House Smoke Roasted Trout is one of our most popular menu items and the Oven Roasted Quail feature received rave reviews. In fact, the guests at a nearby table apologized to your server and reassured her that the Quail dish was excellent and felt that you were loud, unreasonable and were just looking for something for free.

As stated in your confirmation letter we do add a gratuity for our housekeeper as our guests prefer to not have to worry about remembering to leave something for the housekeeper. At your request we removed the gratuity. It’s unfortunate that you left nothing, but we will take care of our staff.

Unlike many other resorts we do not charge a resort fee, which typically costs $20-$50 per day (for items such as internet charges). Additionally, along with not charging a resort fee we do not charge for the use of our indoor and outdoor heated pools, whirlpool, sauna, private beach, kayaks, canoes, rowboats, paddle boats, tennis, snow shoes, exercise room, afternoon tea, coffee and our homemade chocolate chip cookies. Glad you enjoyed the kayaks.

Our staff is passionate about providing exceptional service and will go to great lengths to make even unreasonable people happy however occasionally we just don’t succeed. As you declared yourself a representative of a major travel magazine we were surprised and taken back by your unprofessional and demeaning behavior toward our staff and establishment.

We hope you enjoy your future travels.

Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    36
    19
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nj
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Romantic, elegant dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Visited this lovely restaurant while staying at the Mirror LAke Inn for dinner and we were not disappointed . The setting over looking the lake was beautiful. The staff was very attentive and professional . Our meals were fabulous . I had the scallops and my husband had the free range chicken - both mouth watering delicious. They started us with a chef tasting before our appetizer and added a sorbet between courses. There was also after dessert cookies and homemade candy. What a beautiful night . You should have a reservation. They do recommend no children and in fact when a baby started crying, they shut the doors between the family and the rest if the diners. We didn't mind the baby though - we rather miss the sound since our kids are grown but I understand why they do that as it is an expensive meal and the ambiance is very quiet and refined .
We also had the breakfast buffet which was excellent too .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Weekend On the Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My family and I stayed in one of the Lake side cottages on Mirror Lake. WOW it was beautiful, we had the perfect view of the Lake and our own private porch which made it even better. We were delighted by the nightly turn down service. Speaking of service, the people who work at the Mirror Lake Inn only made our stay that much better. They truly went above and beyond for us; Tomaslav was great especially with my youngest daughter, he made her laugh. We did dine in the View Restaurant and the food was fantastic; I had Quail and it was better than I could have hoped for. The wait staff is very attentive but not on top of you; they let you enjoy your meal. We also had breakfast everyday there and it was $19.95 per person and well worth it considering it was all you could eat. What is great about the Mirror Lake Inn besides the fact its right on the lake and you can walk right into town; you are away from all the noise of Main Street. My family and I are looking forward to staying here again on our next trip to Lake Placid.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Thank you for being our guest at The View restaurant and Mirror Lake Inn! All our staff appreciate seeing guest comments and compliments! We are happy that you enjoyed your weekend, the room, views, service, food and location. We so glad that Tomaslav made your youngest daughter laugh! We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Amazing Buffet Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

After being disappointed by the droning upheaval of a water ski show (alas we thought Mirror Lake was motor boat free) we sought and found refuge in the charming and elegant View restaurant which did not disappoint with a sumptuous array of homemade jams, exquisite omelets, pastries and more. Our server made us feel so welcome and everything was absolutely perfect!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lake Placid Elegance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The View has an old world charm and quiet atmosphere which was perfect for a romantic dinner. The food was delicious especially, the filet mignon and the service impeccable.

We were seated right by the window, but the trees across the street were so overgrown, you can barely see the lake.

The staff handled an unfortunate situation professionally when a "trainee" waiter seated a family with small children next to us. The children were so loud and unruly (one lying on the floor), we requested to be moved to the other end of the room as did other guests. Fortunately, the restaurant had heavy doors which divides the halves and the staff closed the doors to reduce the noise. The management had suggested the more casual restaurant portion of the hotel which was right next door, but the arrogant father refused. Again, the restaurant handled the situation well, but should probably set guidelines against babies and children under 12 after 9PM.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn also viewed

 

Been to The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.