We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn

The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn
77 Mirror Lake Dr, Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa, Lake Placid, NY 12946
+1 518-302-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 86 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Interlaken Avenue
Description: The View is the only AAA four-diamond fine dining restaurant in Lake Placid, New York. Overlooking Mirror Lake and the Adirondack High Peaks, this restaurant is renown for its commitment to food and wine. The concept is elegant comfort foods with an extensive wine list that has been recognized for excellence by the Wine Spectator for the past Thirteen years. The menu changes three times each year. Prepared Dinner at The James Beard House November 2008. We are also new member to The Adirondack Harvest. Taste Bistro & Bar adjoins the View with Casual dinner fare, have drinks by the fire and relax. Live music on Friday nights in Taste Bistro. The perfect place for the "special occasion".
Melville, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I have been going to the Mirror Lake Inn every Christmas for the past 10 years. Every year we have at least one dinner and two breakfasts at The View. The View offers a homey, yet elegant, true Adirondack Inn "feel" when dining there. The service is top notch, friendly and efficient. And the food is inventive, delicious and beautifully presented. The menu changes with the season, but everything I've ever ordered has been wonderful. The Adirondack breakfast buffet is one of the true breakfast experiences you can have anywhere in the country. The View is a first class restaurant that would rank among the very best in any major city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for being such a loyal guest at The View restaurant during Christmas over the years! We are happy that you enjoy the ambiance, breakfast, dinner and service by our staff. We look forward to your annual return!
Sincerely,
Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    42
    20
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A fantastic find ... A warm gem in a cold place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We booked this restaurant at last minute. We could not have been luckier. A fantastic restaurant, lovely food, great wine list and the service was elegant and informative. I will recommend this restaurant to friends and family.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great foods , Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We Stayed at the Inn and had Thanksgiving Dinner and breakfast every morning at "the View" it was delicious every time we went.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton, ma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Setting, Disappointing Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We are local and wanted to take our family out for a pre-Christmas dinner on December 23. Picking the right place for this special dinner took a lot of consideration and we decided upon the Mirror Lake Inn, because of the size of our party, the ages of the diners and our desire for it to be memorable. The Inn is gorgeous always, especially at Christmas. The dining room staff was attentive, perhaps a little young and inexperienced. When my husband tried to order a 2 of the same bottle of red wine for dinner, three times he had to choose a wine, the first two choices he made, the Inn did not have the 2 bottles of the wine! Then dinner, although some liked their meals, everyone's dinner was lukewarm at best, almost cold. One of your guests, meat was underdone. Not sure if it was the kitchen's fault or the servers fault. Someone should have checked the temperature of our food before it was brought out to us. All of us we underwhelmed. I believe that when you dine at a place with the reputation of the MLI, and pay the prices, shouldn't the food be "write home good"? This dinner was mediocre, forgettable, and quite disappointing. In fact, my husband was hungry when we got home!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLI, General Manager at The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you for being our guest.

We pride ourselves on providing a quality experience for all of our guests and we are very sorry if we did not meet your expectations. Although we always strive to provide an exceptional experience, on the occasion something goes wrong and sometime things go wrong we pride ourselves on immediately correcting the situation given the chance. Had you let us know at the time when it was possible for us to do something we would have immediately taken action and done something to satisfy you.

We very much appreciate you being our guest and hope that we have the pleasure you seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Carl Gronlund
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
“Extraordinary service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I had the pleasure of dining at the View at the Mirror Lake Inn for the first time in a couple of years. From the moment I arrived, all staff went out of their way to make sure my meal was perfect.

The cuisine was exceptional and the Christmas decorations gave the dining room a fairy tale feel.

I have been coming to this hotel for more than 35 years and I never cease to be impressed.

I strongly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn also viewed

 

Been to The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The View Restaurant at the Mirror Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.