We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food in the Adirondacks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Rustica

Caffe Rustica
1936 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946
518-523-7511
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 85 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food in the Adirondacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We've dined at Caffe Rustica a few times now and always have flavorful and delicious food. Whether you are looking creative brick oven pizzas prepared in the old world pub style or Tuscan style salads and meat/fish dishes you'll have a great meal at Caffe Rustica.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    50
    18
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We are residents of Lake Placid and eat at Caffe Rustica on a regular basis. We yet need to have one negative experience at this establishment. With its open kitchen and the glow of the brick oven, the wonderful decor and aromas, enchanting background music, varied menu and consistently delightful food and service, we always look forward to our next visit. Daily specials are also well chosen and always excellent. Am always quick to recommend with confidence.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“you pay for what you get and dont bring your kids to a hi end restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

the menu is exquisite, the wine pricey , the experience extraordinarily satisfying, the ambiance unique, the staff dedicated !! why cant people on a visit with kids stick to restaurants that specialize in hot dogs, hamburgs and mac and cheese. I do not see how parents traveling with kids can expect a Macdonald and pizza pizza menu in this type of upscale , gem of a restaurant !!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Staff attitudes will keep us away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We have had dinner here twice, most recently when our realtor gave us a gift certificate to else rate our vacation home purchase. On both occasions the food was good, but the staff made us feel unwelcome. We called to see if reservations were taken--no. We arrived and several tables were empty, but we were told we would have a 20 minute wait, and told the empty tables were reserved. After waiting 20 minutes and the tables still empty, and after inquiring again, we were finally seated. Not sure what the games were about, but we are disinclined to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Always good food in a nice atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

I love this restaurant. The pizza is wonderful, the specials are great and the service is professional.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Rustica also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Rustica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Rustica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.