We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lisa G's

Lisa G's
6125 Sentinel Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1522
5185232093
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 85 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Ate here on a Monday night, mid April. Place was packed, both at bar and sit down areas. It was 60 cent wing night. Our wait was only about 5 minutes, and both the host and hostess were very nice. Our waitress, also very nice, took our order of appetizers, which were delicious...when they finally arrived. It took almost 20 minutes for them to come, which I find unreasonable. Were it not for similar complaints from other Trip Advisors, I'd call it an anomaly, but seems to be more than a coincidence. It's unfortunate, because the wings were great. The Caesar Salad dressing was a bit too watery, but the lettuce was crisp and fresh. The fish and chips were very good, with a nice, light batter, but the fish portion was too small, only two "medium" size pieces (compared to many other fish plates over the years). Our bill, for the five of us - three adult dinners and two kids meals, plus two appetizers, came to about $80 pre-tax, which I'd consider reasonable. Would I come back on the next visit to LP? Maybe yes, but probably only on Monday, specifically for the wings and a beer or two. Otherwise, Lisa G's doesn't stand out. My "average" rating for the service is a moderation between the politeness of the staff and their courtesy versus the looong waits for the courses.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    116
    38
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Affordable but Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were in Lake Placid on a personal trip and wanted lite fare for dinner. Lisa G's was recommended by several. I had the Fish and Chips (2 pieces of tilapia... a little on the dry side) accompanied by enough fresh cut fries with garlic and scallions to serve 3 adults. (Very tasty the excessive portion was unnecessary and overwhelming.) My husband had the New England Clam Chowder (very tasty) and the Southern Fried Chicken Sandwich served with potato chips. He said it was excellent, but again, the portion of chips was huge. The Seven Falls Cabernet Sauvignon was excellent. Would we go back? Yes, however, a word to the wise... Select a table towards the front and on the left. We were in a booth on the right adjacent to the bar ( separated by open windows). The problem was not only the noise from the bar but the fact that people sitting at high top tables in the bar were staring down on us... Very uncomfortable and while a second glass of wine might have been nice, I certainly didn't feel like lingering.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fun and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great little local restaurant. We are vegetarians and the vegetarian options were few, but excellent. The drinks were strong and good. Maybe a little too strong. We would definitely return

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1st time, last time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We visited on a Sunday night. We were sat promptly but waited a long time for service. I had the Monty Cristo. There was cartilage in the chicken. My wife found some of the chicken in her Asian salad cold and tasteless. Promised bread not delivered. No one asked about our meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
383 helpful votes 383 helpful votes
“Good service, but so-so food. Fries were great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We came here on the recommendation of a local business, so figured that it was frequented by locals.

The Pros:
1. large, spacious eating place. Nice decor, and on the back wall, there is a mural which is a "continuation" of the restaurant that the kids enjoyed playing "find me" games on. It was centrally located.
2. the staff: without question, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Quick and attentive. Everyone had a smile - makes a difference.
3. The fries are excellent.

The Cons:
1. the food was average for an eatery. We ordered 2 burgers, and I specifically asked for the children's burger to be well done, not medium, as I am a concerned parent for E. coli. The burger came out medium, of which my child ate a 1/4 of it before I noticed and checked. The other burger was medium - well, pink, but the other member of our party didn't mind. It was sent back, and cooked to the desired doneness.
2. The southern fried chicken sandwich was OK, but nothing special over a breaded chicken McGrill at McDonald's
3. the hot dog was mediocre and warm, not hot. Not even grilled! It was a boiled hot dog.
4. The salad was nothing special, with balsamic dressing.

Neutral
1. the prices were not too expensive. It was OK for a pub/bistro. $50 for 2 adults and 2 kids.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lisa G's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisa G's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.