We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super spot for a great casual meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lisa G's

Lisa G's
6125 Sentinel Road, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1522
5185232093
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 85 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Super spot for a great casual meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were visiting the area, read some recommendations and decided to try Lisa G's - we try to seek out more local sorts of places when we travel. The food and service did not disappoint. We were greeted by the apparent manager who promptly seated us in the dining room, as the bar tables were already full at 5:30 PM! Willow was our server and she did a fantastic job! Among our choices were the potato fritters - THEY ARE A MUST :), the Greek Meatloaf - really tasty, a Lemon Caesar Salad (much less creamy and heavy than a usual caesar - yay!!) - and more.
We would definitely return - and try to sit at a table in the bar (away from large groups of kids). Lisa G's adertises that they are family and children friendly and at this time in the evening there were plenty of kids - they were a tad unruly and not well governed by their parents - but it was no fault of the restaurant. There were some visibly unhappy patrons, though.
By the time that we left there was a considerable wait for a table. Testament to the terrific food! If you like a casual local flavor - Check it out!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    116
    38
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Bottom line: it was ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

After a cold morning of skiing, we were ready to eat. Right around the corner from the house we were renting was Lisa G's, so we decided to give it a go. There was a bit of a wait, but we kept hearing great things about the place so we weren't surprised. Once we were seated, we waited for nearly 20 minutes before our waitress took our order. We'd been ready for 15 minutes and were growing impatient. My dad got an appetizer soup, which was really good, and it arrived quickly. The meals came after what seemed like forever. The fish and chips were fishy. The steak was only ok. The sandwiches were good. But the waitress was so bad at refilling our drinks and showing up when she was needed that it made the experience a negative one. She had a bad attitude toward us as well, which angered us more. The food is ok, but the wait staff is bad.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“yum yum yummy!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Greek meatloaf, lemon mashed potatoes, roasted brussel sprouts!!! mmmmmmmmmmmm good!! My fellow companions loved their food, too!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I don't know why people are commenting on the exterior of this restaurant. It is not rundown and its location especially in the summer is so pretty being adjacent to a beautiful waterfall. In the winter this cozy place reminds me of visiting a favorite relative's home. Lisa is a friendly and outgoing restauranteur who aims to please everyone. The menu is eclectic, fun and there is something for everybody. I dare you to not eat the homemade french fries. They are fantastic. On this visit we dined in the front room on the big cozy couch watching hockey and eating delicious lunchtime favorites the Moroccan burrito and the chicken BLT and SC. Absolutely melted when they brought the warm toasty French bread with our salads that accompanied the meal. The waiter was attentive and helpful and we never felt rushed. We will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

After a day of very cold skiing it was great to end up at Lisa's it was very inviting, friendly, and the menu options were great albeit a little different from the norm which was a nice change.
Service was great ...highly recommended it and we are picky diners!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lisa G's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisa G's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.