We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night finding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy's 21

Jimmy's 21
2425 Main St., Lake Placid, NY 12946
(518) 523-2353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 85 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Plattsburgh, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Late night finding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was the best desperate meal I have ever had. It was desperate not because of the restaurant but because we had gone all over town at 9pm looking for somewhere good to eat without a long wait or that had already closed. We stumbled onto this restaurant. My boyfriend was incredibly impressed with their chicken parm. "You know the food is good when you finish eating it and are sad its gone." My salad was just what I was looking for as well. I'm pretty sure this was my boyfriends favorite restaurant out of the entire trip.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    106
    46
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointed Evening”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We were just in Lake Placid over the weekend. We had intended to eat at Milanos North for our anniversary but it was closed so we tried Jimmy's 21. The food was actually very good even though it wasn't served hot and I received the wrong item for my dinner. The service was extremely poor not only for us but for others seated nearby. I saw another person get the wrong dinner as well. We got our salads right away but not our bread or drinks or appetizer. We needed to ask and then received no apology. When we did get our dinners, I told the waitress that my dinner was chicken and not veal. She held it up to look at it and confirmed it was not veal. She didn't offer to exchange it and took the price of one glass of wine off our bill. Even though food was good we will probably not go back again. This was the lowest tip we have ever left in a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buck county
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Try the chicken Parm!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Another quiet, mirror lake view, Italian food, amazing flavor to the sauce, nice portion of pasta, had the early bird special, we like quiet eateries, it all depends what time of the year you go.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

While in town for the ECAC hockey finals, a friend and I enjoyed a delicious lunch at Jimmy's 21. We sat next to a large window to enjoy the view of the snow and dog sled riders. We both enjoyed our meal and the drinks were made perfectly. We made a great choice when picking Jimmy's 21.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Very good Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

About a month ago i went to jimmys 21 with my family. The food was very good Italian food liked it a lot. The atmosphere was not too bad. The owner was the host who seemed to keep everything in order. We came in around 9:30 when they close at 10:00 but they still served us kindly even though we were the only people in the dinning room. The food came in about an average time and i had a shrimp scampi the sauce tasted excellent. Then my 2 boys had chicken fingers which the waiter said were home made and tasted very good then my wife had the mediterranean salad which came with seafood on top and a little balsamic dressing! Loved most of the experience. Would go back again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's 21 also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy's 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.