We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have known better...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jimmy's 21

Jimmy's 21
2425 Main St., Lake Placid, NY 12946
(518) 523-2353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 85 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Port Kent NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Should have known better...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stopped in for lunch on a Sunday at noon, no one else in restaurant. Ordered burgers, they came with fries and a small amount of fairly unpleasant cole slaw. The burgers were previously frozen patties, Extremely bland and tasteless and the fries were overcooked. We were just looking for a quick lunch, but for 22+ dollars for two burgers and 1 soft drink, there are much better options available. Perhaps there dinner menu is great, but we'll never find out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    114
    46
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a party of 7. Service was great, and the food delish. Would definitely go back. Too full for dessert.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonie, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not a bad place for a bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I visited Jimmy's during our recent trip to Lake Placid. We visited for lunch and there were about ten tables and four booths inside and it was about half full. They have a real nice view of Mirror Lake from about half the tables. We ordered fried mozzarella and a Jimmy Burger for each of us. Each came with fries, coleslaw, and a pickle. The burger itself was a good size and very filing. I figured I'd try a local beer, so I ordered the Lake Placid Ale which really wasn't all that great tasting, but it was served cold.

There are a couple things you should know before you go in. First, the bathrooms are downstairs and not the greatest. I'm 6'1" and I bumped my forehead on the top of the door frame on my way in. The door was broken and didn't shut right. Second, if you sit in a booth like we did, there's going to be some noise. I suspect the kitchen is downstairs and that they use a dumbwaiter to move the food between floors. If it sounds like there's a small earthquake going on, chances are someone's food is ready.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Food - Atmosphere Tense!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We visited Jimmy's 21 while vacationing in Lake Placid in Feb 2013. Let me just say that the food was very good. However the atmosphere was terrible. Tense! The owner constantly hovered around the dining room, barking orders at the wait staff, making them reset tables, ordering glass to be filled - etc. You could see and hear all this plainly while trying to enjoy dinner. We could not even hold a nice dinner conversation with all this going on around us. Wait staff was apologetic, but extremely tense and it showed, none of the staff were smiling, they were cold and to the point. We felt rushed so they could turnover the table for another waiting party. This was a busy Saturday night, but this was inexcuseable. We tried to tell the owener how we felt when we left, he just laughed and said his staff has been with him for over 20 years, they understand. He didn't even apologize for our experience. We do NOT recommend this resturaunt and will NOT be back on our next trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Food in the Center of Lake Placid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a don't miss place over looking the lake. Great food, atmosphere and service. We visit every time we go to Lake Placid and the staff is the same and they remember us year after year.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's 21 also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jimmy's 21, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.