We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribean, Soul food and more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cowboy - CLOSED

The Cowboy
2226 Saranac Ave, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1019
518-837-5069
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: American, Bar, Dessert, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: A casual local establishment with a Tavern style atmosphere serving a fusion of global food. We cater to large parties and private functions as well as our window view dining area. We feature weekend brunch and lunch, dinner and cater to special occasions. Enjoy a cocktail and dinner at our wrap around bar and during the warmer months take advantage of our spacious deck. We welcome families with children.We now offer on-site and off-site catering as well as take out.
Diamond Point, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Caribean, Soul food and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A locals place with tourists welcome. Very diverse menu which incorporates many root vegetables in creative ways. Soups are excellent, though they tend to taste similar as the same base seems to be used. Go for the daily specials, they are terrific.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    50
    23
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous food and service hidden in a bar. Great streak and Brussels sprouts, though one meal more than served two of us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“best food in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The food, the service, and oh- the drinks, are all top notch. My wife and I will never go anywhere else when we come to Lake Placid.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I love the cowboy and go for dinner and drinks often, but this Sunday we finally stopped in for brunch. It was out of this world! I got the blackened eggs and he got the corned beef hash- both we're absolutely delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC DESSERTS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our family loves the food at The Cowboy. It's the first stop we make on all of our LP trips. The kids love the sweet potato fries and the veggie burger is apparently the best in the world! I love the soups and the daily specials make for a great addition to the menu. The breakfasts on the weekend are the best in town! Black eggs and green eggs plus the breakfast burrito and you don't have to eat lunch! They are yummy and filling!! The key lime pie and brownies are worth skipping lunch for. In fact, we had the key lime pie as a treat before breakfast just so we would have room for it. It's sooooo good! :) The service is always excellent and the staff there really knows their stuff and treat the restaurant like their own. That's quite unique for this area. I could eat here every day and often do when we are in LP. :) Excellent!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cowboy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.