We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar

The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar
2431 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
+1 518-523-3036
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 85 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: French, American, Bistro, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In our 15th year as Lake Placid's premiere wine bar with award winning wines paired with an eclectic French American fare in a quaint, romantic setting over looking Mirror Lake or have a bite and a glass of wine in our Bar and lounge- serving both Lunch and in between cafe menu and dinner everyday.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

You won't be disappointed with the food and the prices. They have a varied and eclectic menu and we can't wait to return again. Great service and nice located.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    119
    48
    26
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

It beautiful almost British style restaurant, great atmosphere. The view of Lake Placid is amazing. The staff is great. The food is amazing not your typical pub style food very inventive and delicious. The beer is very good as well.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place, great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Popped in to the Brown Dog for what we anticipated would be a glass of wine before heading in for the evening. It certainly didn't work out the way we planned. Our bartender Kolin, was a knowledgeable and charismatic fellow who had spot on recommendations for wine selections and appetizer pairings. Long story short, thanks to him we ended up staying MUCH later than we originally planned and were significantly worse for the wear the next day. Well worth it though! The fantastic food and wine selections coupled with a warm, rustic and cozy ambiance make this a must stop whenever we're in town.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great wine - as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

Boyfriend and I were in lake placid for our 3 year anniversary weekend. We had a great experience at the Brown Dog last year so it was definitely on the schedule for this visit.We stopped in on Friday night and tried the nightly $5 wine special and ordered a couple other glasses and the cheese plate which was absolutely delicious. We had fun talking to Kolin- the bartender who was great. We told him we would return for dinner the next night. On Saturday we came back and ordered a couple glasses of wine along with some 3oz samples from the interesting wine list. We then proceeded to dinner and were served by our waitress Erin who we requested to serve us due to our great experience with her last year. I had the sugared salmon and my boyfriend had the swordfish, both dishes were served over risotto and were to die for. We love this restaurant so much, it's probably in our top 3 favorites ever. This is due to the awesome service we always get here. (and of course the amazing food)- thank you Erin and Kolin for making our visits so special. We will be back again as soon as possible!

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, VT
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

The restaurant was empty when we arrived on a Wednesday in late March for lunch. Our friendly waitress seated us by the water view windows. I ordered eggplant parmesan - excellent ($10). It came over spaghetti and with a side of bread. My husband ordered a reuben, which came with fries, a pickle and a tiny cole slaw for $10. He said it all was great. The cole slaw was very good and a bigger portion would have been appreciated. Overall, we really liked this place. Good to see the place open, when some others were closed.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.