We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great wine, good service, lost us on political comments” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar

The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar
2431 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
518-523-3036
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 85 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Description: In our 14th year as Lake Placid's premiere wine bar with award winning wines paired with an eclectic French American fare in a quaint, romantic setting over looking Mirror Lake or have a bite and a glass of wine in our Bar and lounge- serving both Lunch and in between cafe menu and dinner everyday.
Syracuse, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great wine, good service, lost us on political comments”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Looking for a nice place to have dinner on our anniversary, walked in and was greeted by the bar staff, very friendly and entertaining. Whike we were having our wine and looking at the menu, a wait staff person was talking politics and where we respect everyone's right to an opinion, we didn't think it right for wait staff to talk down about past politicians in that atmosphere. When we ledt we informed tgestaff person why and he difn't really care, nice retaurant that needs to train staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    114
    45
    24
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food! Great view!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

While walking along the streets of Lake Placid on this very chilly day, we visited a few of the shops and then decided to have some lunch. We just happened to be in front on this cafe, so we though we'd give it a try. We were seated immediately at a table with a beautiful view of Mirror Lake with the Adirondacks behind it. We both ordered the French Onion Soup, and it came out piping hot with lots of cheese. My husband ordered the Rolex Patty Melt, and I ordered a half-size of the daily panini - both were yummy! Would definitely return and recommend this as a great place for lunch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montvale, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went here for dinner based on Trip Advisor reviews. The pan roasted chicken with goat cheese could be one of the best chicken dishes I've had in a restaurant. Great view of Mirror Lake. Service was excellent, thanks Jimmy! Highly recommend to all.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of a kind...in a bad way”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have been to lake placid several times and always enjoy it. Our experience here ruined an entire day. I can't really comment on they food, though the 2.5 hours we spent trying to get a simple lunch left guests from other tables commenting to us about how bizarre the service was. We were not the only ones. At another table the couple eventually got up and left after ordering. When the server brought food, she seemed puzzled that they had gone. Even after I pleaded with the server to forget the other half of our order (two items came after about an hour and then nothing for the others two with us for a long time) and just give us the check, they brought food out.....and then had the nerve to charge us even though we came in around 12:30 and it was now almost 3.

No apology, apparently no awareness that this ruined a family vacation day.

I can't quite figure out how to explain our experience given some of the other reviews here. Beware.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love the wine bar but restaurant is dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We visited the Brown Dog Cafe on a recent visit to see fall colors in Lake Placid. The wine bar beckoned after a day of shopping the main street. We were attracted to the warm woods and wine display of the front of house wine tasting area. We sat on a comfortable overstuffed sofa and sipped our wine. The spiced olives provided were a nice touch. Our experience was so good that we cancelled our supper reservation at the Boathouse and decided to give the Brown Dog restaurant a try that evening.

This restaurant seems to have a split personality! The front area is urban and young while the back of house formal restaurant feels like a tired old family restaurant from the nineteen fifties. It was disappointing, the food was not cooked to order and the waiter seemed unable to correct the order. I overheard complaints from a neighboring table that their food was not prepared the way they liked it...one patron actually reordered a new meal as his food was undercooked and they could not seem to organize correcting the item. It was pricey and we left feeling cheated. Stop in for a glass of wine but give the restaurant a pass.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly T, Owner at The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for coming in and having dinner with us, I am sorry your dinner was not to your liking but, confused on what exactly was wrong? Did you let anyone else know about this? Feeling 'cheated' is a strong word to use as we strive to have everyone leave having enjoyed themselves. As for the "tired family restaurant from the 1950's". Ouch! Being that I was born much later than the 1950's and the walls of the restaurant are filled with twenty low numbered, some signed to me, orginal Stephan Huneck Woodcut prints, who's art just happens to grace the walls of the Smithsonian Institution and private collections such as President Bill Clinton, Sandra Bullock and Senator Patrick Leahy. Maybe we just have a differance of opinion when it comes to taste, beauty and art.
All the best,
Kelly Tennant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.