We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Redneck Comments"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar

The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar
2431 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
+1 518-523-3036
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 85 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: French, American, Bistro, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In our 15th year as Lake Placid's premiere wine bar with award winning wines paired with an eclectic French American fare in a quaint, romantic setting over looking Mirror Lake or have a bite and a glass of wine in our Bar and lounge- serving both Lunch and in between cafe menu and dinner everyday.
West Point, New York, United States
1 review
“"Redneck Comments"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Best livestock in town!!
Great wine, drinks, appetizers and service. The atmosphere and steaks were AWESOME!
Must have the chocolate cake and peanut butter pie!
We will be back!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    119
    48
    26
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
hickory creek texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great food, service and atmosphere. I'd go back in a heart beat. Wine selection rates an A. Beautifully decorated for Christmas. Seem like more than one waiter was handling our table and they did it seamlessly.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Does not disappoint for 2nd visit 2 yrs later”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We ate here 2 yrs ago on a trip to Lake Placid and looked forward to eating here when we returned this year. It was one of our favorite places to eat during our last trip. This visit did not disappoint. Excellent service. Great food. Had the special of the day for lunch a lobster and shrimp quesadilla which was oustanding. Hubby had the special sandwich of the day a turkey, cranberry and stuffing pannini, again, outstanding. Views of the lake are great. Nice wine list. Great place to relax.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Only good things to say about this restaurant! We had the escargots for starter and the duck two way and the filet mignon for entrees, both dishes were excellent! It came with a choice of either soup or salad. A little pricey but you get what you pay for, we were not disappointed! Make sure you make a reservation as it is a small restaurant and it can be hard to get in.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best in LP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Favorite place ever. Really fresh ingredients, always well prepared. Good wine list with something for everybody. Try the wine pairing dinner on Saturday evenings for an over the top experience

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Dog Cafe & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.