We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fireside Steak House

Fireside Steak House
229 Main St, Lake Placid, NY 12946-1516
(518) 523-2682
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 86 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Bloomfield, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Very good service - professional and friendly. The food was good -one of the best steaks I've had and the garlic mashed potatoes were delicious. We sat on the glass side where we could look out over the Olympic buildings and colourful scenery. We were hoping to go back but decided to take another route home - definately next time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    42
    38
    22
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mount Hope, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre food, average service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When in Lake Placid, we usually eat here and enjoy their prime rib special. For the second year in a row, the waiter claimed he had misunderstood both of us and brought the regular cut. I told him to take that cut back and bring the smaller cut that we had ordered. After a lengthy delay, he returned and told us we could have the meal for the lower price. We were unable to finish such a large portion, partly because it was not very good at all. The garlic mashed potatoes were obviously from a mix and were very watery. We will never return. Be very careful if ordering the special and ensure that you are not served a more expensive cut.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemptville, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Great Dinning Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

On Friday 20 September we arrived in Lake Placid and were looking for a place to have supper. We chose the Fireside Steak House. We were treated to an excellent dinning experience. The atmosphere as we entered was warm and friendly. Our waitress, Dede was very personable and professional in her manner and approach. The menu was varied and the prices were very reasonable. I had the prime rib and it was just perfect. Everyone at our table was more than please with the service, the meal, and the meal presentation. We all had a salad and were very impressed with it`s freshness, and taste. It was very obvious to all four of us that the staff of this restaurant took great pride in everything they did for their customers. You did not have to ask to have your water glass refilled, and the young lady that did that job demonstrated a very pleasant, friendly personality. It has been a long time since I have eaten at a restaurant that had it all, warm friendly atmosphere, friendly professional staff, a large varied menu, good prices, excellent food, and excellent presentation. On our next visit to Lake Placid, I know where we will be having supper on our first night.

Rick banks

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great food, service and prices.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We enjoyed this restaurant last year and decided to stick with a winner this year and we're glad we did. We dined here both nights of our visit and enjoyed excellent starters, steaks, prime rib, and pasta. Fresh warm bread was a nice touch and compared to most Lake Placid restaurants, prices were very reasonable. Our bill for the first night (2 starters, 4 entrees, wine and beer) came to $140 including tip and $110 for the second night (2 starters, 3 entrees, wine and beer. Service was prompt, friendly and knowledgeable. We did not have a reservation either night but were seated immediately nonetheless. This has now become "our" restaurant in Lake Placid.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great prime rib and scallops special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed nearby at the Golden Arrow. The restaurant is in the opposite direction of the busy main street storefronts. It took five minutes to walk there. That day they had a special - 14 oz. prime rib with scallops, soup, and potato for $14.99. You can't beat it. It was delicious. My husband had the Fireside Veal dish which is a breaded veal cutlet topped with Canadian bacon, lobster, cheese and hollandaise sauce. There was a lot of lobster on it. He was very full by the end of that dish and it was also delicious. This restaurant is a great choice for good food at a lower price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fireside Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Fireside Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fireside Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.