We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh sandwiches and drinks and "whatever ails ye!"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adirondack Corner Store and Deli

Adirondack Corner Store and Deli
188 Newman Road, Lake Placid, NY
518-523-1689
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 86 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Ice Cream
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
1,516 reviews 1,516 reviews
995 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
467 helpful votes 467 helpful votes
“Fresh sandwiches and drinks and "whatever ails ye!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stopped in here before hiking on Labor Day weekend. This is more than a deli. It's got almost anything that you could use for a light meal, plus the other stuff that you'd find in most convenient stores; the candy, the magazines, and everything else. The food is good, and they carry almost anything you'd need from your neighborhhod 7-11, except these folks get to know their customers by name. Try it...you'll like it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, Owner at Adirondack Corner Store and Deli, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our business. Your positive comments and feedback are very much appreciated. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great deli sandwiches - Boar's head”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We've been in Lake Placid for a week, visiting from Virginia. We were so happy to discover this market and deli. Their custom deli sandwiches are delicious with generous amounts of Boar's Head meat on a variety of bread options. They are super fast - lines go very fast - and very friendly which I have to say is not the norm around the Lake Placid area. We've come several times for sandwiches for both lunch and dinner meals. They are open until 10pm which is very convenient for a light dinner. The market has a good selection of chips, cookies, snacks and drinks.

There aren't many restaurants that I'd recommend in Lake Placid and we have very much liked this deli as a good, affordable and friendly option for our family vacation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, Owner at Adirondack Corner Store and Deli, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review for Adirondack Corner Store and Deli. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated. We are happy that you enjoyed your sandwiches and look forward to you returning to our deli on your next trip to Lake Placid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches for Hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

on the recommendation of the guy at the front desk at the Marriott where we were staying (across the street), we went to the Corner Store around 7:30am to buy sandwiches for our hike. They open early and will make sandwiches right when they open. They use Boar's Head meats and the bread is also good. Highly recommend it if you are looking to get some food for lunch.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, Owner at Adirondack Corner Store and Deli, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our deli. Your positive review is very much appreciated. Again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location to the hotel I stay at. Just a short walk to get a sandwich, soup, coffee, drinks, etc. did not like the honey mustard on my deli sandwich though. Soups are good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, Owner at Adirondack Corner Store and Deli, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review Adirondack Corner Store. I see that you did not enjoy the Honey Mustard that you chose for your sandwich. The honey mustard that we serve is Boar's Head Brand and we have found that a few customers simply do not like it. We apologize for this and would like to offer you a sandwich ON US upon your next visit. Please print a copy of this response or show it to a cashier to claim this offer. Again, thank you for taking your time to review Adirondack Corner Store.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not as fast as the fastest food stops but it is worth the wait. Orders can be phoned in and all sandwiches are made to order. Check out the daily specials for a tasty bargain.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan B, Owner at Adirondack Corner Store and Deli, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our business. We really appreciate your positive comments and are happy that you enjoyed your meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adirondack Corner Store and Deli also viewed

 

Been to Adirondack Corner Store and Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adirondack Corner Store and Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.