We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best pie in town"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Main Street Pizza and Pasta

Main Street Pizza and Pasta
2673 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
518-523-5800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 86 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fast Food, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: Authentic NY style pizza.Pasta dishes are fabulous and reasonably priced. Please try our Grandma's pizza, you won't regret it. Owner worked for Chef Michael Maroni who had a meatball throwdown with Bobby Flay and was a participent on Food TVs chopped. James has been in the business for 25 years. He owned a pizzeria on Long Island and currently owns Paradise Pizza in Key West, Florida.
Wilmington, New York
1 review
“"Best pie in town"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Loved the staff, and the food was just a bonus! Family owned and it's the closest thing in town to real NYC Pizza! These is a must find eatery in Lake Placid, try the "Grandma's".

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james b, Owner at Main Street Pizza and Pasta, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    6
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a gem....and Earl was amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

My family and friends enjoyed their great pizza. earl was such a warm and friendly guy. He acted as our tour guide. Earl gave us some great ideas and things to do in Lake Placid. We left there feeling so good in our bellies and truly touched by how helpful Earl was. What a gem he is!! You gotta go there and experience their hospitality and desire to make your trip a good one! A-1!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james b, Manager at Main Street Pizza and Pasta, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
thank you for the great review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Main Street Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The staff at Main Street Pizza were hilarious and very friendly. They had a great lunch deal for something quick and simple; 2 pieces of cheese pizza and a medium soda for only $6.00! Also, if you love poutine, they serve it on a huge plate. When they say large, I guess they really mean large. Main Street Pizza is by far a great place to bring the family for lots of laughs, great food and a friendly clean atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james b, Owner at Main Street Pizza and Pasta, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't bother!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Totally weird employees, pizza was soggy, couldn't wait to get out of there! Tables were old and greasy looking, they were out of everything that normal pizza place should have. Keep driving up the road looked like some nicer restaurants up the road.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
1 review
“Nothing but Pepperoni!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wow, who would of thought that ordering just a pizza would be a big deal......and we didn't even have it delivered (can only imagine how long that would have taken let alone how they would have dealt with that)!!! Just wanted a pizza with pepperoni on the whole thing and sausage on half and what a screw up!!! When we got there we noticed it only had sausage on half and no pepperoni. After inquiring about our pepperoni we got no words, pizza taken back, pepperoni thrown on it, and handed back! No reheating, no offer to fix it and make it right, nothing but the pepperoni!! Now I know why I order take out from Mr. Mike's! Thanks for reaffirming what I thought I should have done all along!! (And btw, the pizza, while ok, is certainly nothing to write home about!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Main Street Pizza and Pasta also viewed

 

Been to Main Street Pizza and Pasta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Main Street Pizza and Pasta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.