We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service and atmosphere at a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pan Dolce

Pan Dolce
2166 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid, NY 12946
518-302-5005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 85 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood, Bar, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pan Dolce, meaning “sweet bread” in Italian, is a full service restaurant located just beyond the hustle and bustle of Main Street in Lake Placid.Our menu offers a selection of seasonal dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We pride ourselves in creating a casual gourmet experience with high standards of quality, service and convenience. All of our tempting dishes are crafted in our kitchen using carefully selected local ingredients.We braise, roast, poach, boil and bake all our own meats, poultry, and breads. Enjoy our distinctive, spacious, Eco-friendly, restaurant - designed with natural materials and a contemporary feel. Pan Dolce welcomes families, friends and groups of all sizes.
Farmington, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, service and atmosphere at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A great alternative to main street LP restaurants that are often average but pricey and noisy. Food is excellent and prices moderate, but portions are modest, so don't show up starving after a busy day of outdoor activity.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pan D, General Manager at Pan Dolce, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear bill c,
Thank You so much for taking the time to share you comments and venturing off main street for a night at Pan Dolce. We take serving our guests personally and appreciate hearing that you noticed the effort, enjoyed your meal with us, and gave you a good night in Lake Placid. We hope to see you again and look forward to welcoming you back to Pan Dolce!
Sincerely,
Keith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    71
    27
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service, bread and pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We checked the reviews and on our first night in Lake Placid we headed to Pan Dolce on a Tuesday night. The manager seated us promptly - tables with chairs or with benches. Comfortable, clean, modern, lots of aisle space for servers and patrons, large windows on 3 sides letting in light. One side is a McDonalds and other views are the outdoor patio fronting on Saranac Avenue and the parking lot on other side - not the best but the food and service make up for it. Two large screen t.v.'s are set up at each end of the room with a slide show of adirondack scenes - adirondack chairs, farmers' fields, etc. They certainly were not intrusive.

The manager explained that Tuesday night was Family Pasta night - a serving for two for $25, choice of one of 4 sauces, two of 4 proteins, one of two pastas and any or all of 5 or 6 veggies. Also, the beer were $2.50 each all night. My husband was thrilled!

The bread, pasta and salad dressings are all made fresh in house and you can tell! To start, we had very excellent crusty bread, sliced thin with an oil dip.

A large green salad bowl was next with two plates so we could serve ourselves. We each chose our own dressing, balsamic for my husband and dijon vinagrette for me. It was fresh and a good size for two, and the dijon was creamy with a nice bite. My husband was happy with the balsamic

Our main was gigli with Tri (?) Diablo sauce, chicken and shrimp, peppers, onions and mushrooms.The pasta was al dente, the sauce was a spicy marinara which we both enjoyed - the heat lasted but did not build. The shrimp (4) were large but a little rubbery, chicken was nice and the veggies were cooked just right.There was more than enough for two. The restaurant increased protein choice from one to two as recommended by a patron in a review below - I'm impressed by this response and it certainly enhanced our experience.

Water was served promptly after we sat and throughout the meal, service was attentive - the manager and the waiter alternated. The manager in particular was gregarious - we had a good time talking to him.

When we visit Lake Placid again, we look forward to stopping by on Pasta Family Night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pan D, General Manager at Pan Dolce, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Blue-eyes-too,
We are delighted to read your very kind comments and thank you for taking the time to let us know what a great experience you had with us. We have already passed on your comments to Chef Chris and I am especially glad you all enjoyed his homemade Pasta, Sauce and salad dressings. We all take great pride in his "made from scratch" philosophy and are elated you noticed!!
"Family Style Pasta Night" has really become a favorite of both travelers and Locals alike and we truly look forward to welcoming you back for Pasta Night in the near future.
Thank you again, Warmly,
Keith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, very nice experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

As with many Lake Placid restaurants, the menu is on the pricey side, but the food was excellent and everyone there was so attentive. The menu is limited but everything is fresh!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pan D, General Manager at Pan Dolce, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear SkyTravel,
We are delighted to read your very kind comments and thank you for taking the time to let us know what a great experience you had with us.
Limiting our menu was a decision on our part to ensure the quality of each dish and we take great pride in using locally sourced, FRESH food daily and preparing each and every dish "TO ORDER" - for each guest. I am delighted you noticed! It makes the extra effort(and sometimes the wait) well worth it. Thank you again so much, from all of the team. We hope to see you back very soon.
Warmly,
Keith M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are following Tim Ferris's diet and today was out binge day. We were craving for a nice brunch.
The host (also the owner I believe) was courteous and gave us a spacious booth for 6. Although we were late for brunch, at our request, he asked the chef to make us some Egg Benedict's. I must say, they were great and also special. Fresh homemade hollandaise sauce, nicely made eggs and crisp baked potatoes with a hint of garlic, hit the spot. Great pancakes too.
After some Mimosa, Bellini and LP IPA, we felt sad to leave.
Great owner and Great Service. I will be visiting this place again!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pan D, General Manager at Pan Dolce, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear ArdeeA11
I remember you and your bride well, and though I am not the owner – I am complimented and very much appreciative of your kind words. Thank you for taking the time to share your visit with us.

“Excellent food and great service” is EXACTLY what we are working for and I’m thrilled we exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for choosing us to share some afternoon champagne with!! We hope to see you both back soon.
Warmly,
Keith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Dinner for Parents and Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We ate at Pan Dolce last week and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. I'll admit that there weren't a lot of menus in Lake Placid that appealed to us (we did some online research ahead of time). Pan Dolce's menu looked great and it didn't disappoint.

I had the Signature Burger with gorgonzola and bacon and it was delicious. My husband raved about his trout dish. And the kids' menu was wonderful - both of our boys had the grilled cheese and it was to die for (I wish I could have eaten theirs too :) ). A buttered baguette with lovely brie cheese and homemade fries.

The service was fine (we didn't fine any of the service in Lake Placid to be outstanding, but it wasn't bad). Unfortunately, it's not on the main strip (it's on Saranac Ave and so we had to drive 2 minutes off the main strip to get there) and so it doesn't have a view at all (just the street!), but it had a nice atmosphere and was well-priced for what we got...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pan D, General Manager at Pan Dolce, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear alwaysafrica,
Thank you for very much for venturing off the main-strip - I am glad your daring paid off, and you enjoyed your grass-fed "Kilcoyne Farm" Burger!! Every one of our entree's are made to order with the freshest local ingredients, and I am glad your son's let Mom at least have a taste of theirs. (LOL)
Thank you again for sharing your feedback and kind endorsement. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Warmly,
Keith
General Manager 
Ps; No need to get in a car - from downtown the FREE Trolley stops right outside our door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pan Dolce also viewed

 

Been to Pan Dolce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pan Dolce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.