We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jack Rabbit Trail

Jack Rabbit Trail
Lake Placid, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 22 Attractions in Lake Placid
Type: Cross-country Ski Areas
Activities: Cross-country skiing, Rock climbing
Attraction Details
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Fabulous trail that is good for varied fitness levels whether for crossing country skiing or hiking. Easily accessible, lovely views and good variety.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Island, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Almost got lost”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We read about this trail online and decided to try it since we were pressed for time and the trailhead is located just outside of downtown. There supposedly are 3 loop trails, marked with red, blue, and yellow markers, each fairly short. However, there were virtually no signs or markers, and if it wasn't for local folks jogging and walking through the area who told us where to go, we would still be out there. One of those people told us there was no real loop, and we just headed back the way we came, getting back to our car barely before sunset. The area around the dam was very nice and scenic, but the trail itself was more rugged and rocky than advertised. The website we looked at mentioned the parts were handicapped accessible, but there was no way this could be true. There was a wooden bulletin board which we thought might have a map of the trails, etc. but there was no information at all.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lake Placid Dam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Short trail (20 mins), great for young kids. Takes you to a dam that is the outlet for Lake Placid. Great scenery and a fun family trip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Very Nice Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The trail was very nice although not perfectly marked. Make sure you take a trail map with you and do not worry too much about all the "Private Property" signs -- we were told most of the are not enforceable.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not very well maintained. Rough and woodsy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This trail is mostly woodsy, and not very well maintained. The trail is very rough, over tree roots, and the scenery is only average, considering the location.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Rabbit Trail also viewed

 

Been to Jack Rabbit Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jack Rabbit Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.