We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Careful Reading These Reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of High Peaks Information Center

High Peaks Information Center
Adirondack Loj Road, Lake Placid, NY
518-523-3441
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 40 things to do in Lake Placid
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For your next trip to the Adirondacks, stop in here for maps, guides, hiking equipment and camping supplies.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Careful Reading These Reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Having been a volunteer here for the Adirondack Mountain Club and the 46ers, for over 35 years, I wonder what areas some of the other reviewers are talking about. This is the trail information facility and store at the trailhead leading to several of the high peaks, such as Mt. Marcy, Algonquin, Mt. Colden, and others: it is not a general tourist info center, nor does it have glass-bottomed viewing platforms. Trailhead parking is available here for a fee. Advice is given, but it is couched in terms that leave it up to you to make your own mind up. If you do get advice, take it: these people live and work here, and know the area intimately. It's not the sidewalks of a major city! There are also regulations specific to groups, overnight camping, and fires -- learn about them before you go, or at least learn about them here! Be forewarned: the staff can get a little frustrated at times, especially on days when they've heard the same question dozens of times: cut them some slack.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best Hiking in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our second consecutive year taking a hiking vacation in the High Peaks Adirondacks area - Lake Placid. I love the hiking here. The scenery is breath taking, the challenges demanding, the rewards of scaling a peak worth every drop of sweat. To put my comments in perspective you need to know that I love hiking, and so do my husband and oldest son. I used to be an avid backpacker during my single years and early marriage (before kids). I have hiked up and down the Blue Ridge and trails off of the Appalachian train in NC, VA, MD and PA. I've hiked in Acadia, Grand Canyon, Mesa Verde, Yellow Stone, Sawtooth range, Bryce, Badlands, Mount Katahdin, Glacier, and some others I have probably forgotten (some places in France and elsewhere). The hiking in the High Peaks area is the most challenging and fun. If you like to hike this is your destination.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, MD
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful Falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is privately owned so there is a fee to enter, but the trails are well maintained and the view is great. There is even a small glass bottom overlook! Don't miss the nature trail after you leave the falls. It is a mile, but is not too difficult and doesn't seem that long.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Helpful...as usual. Has almost everything you need if you forgot something at home for the hike. Not open late...check hours before you leave for the hike.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“tourist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

so pleasant to have personable people providing outsatnding service

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Peaks Information Center also viewed

 

Been to High Peaks Information Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Peaks Information Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.