We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best bang for your buck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Jo

Mount Jo
Lake Placid, NY
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Attractions in Lake Placid
Type: Mountains
Attraction Details
Fayetteville, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“best bang for your buck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

up and back in 2 hours and has amazing high-peak feel and views in less than half the time....can be easily snowshoed or hiked depending on time of year

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    27
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Evans Mills, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go hiking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I had never been hiking before and we decided to try it! We absolutely loved it and can't wait to go again! It's really flat at first but then starts to get steep. The view at the top is breathtaking. Pictures don't even do it justice. It took us a couple hours to hike to the top and we had lunch at the top. We also met a chipmunk that ate right out of our hand! I would highly recommend if you decide to visit Lake Placid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Don't waste your time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Went in December, maybe in the fall this place is great. Confusing trail and an inaccurate map make this more of pain than it needs to be. Make sure you bring hiking shoes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An Easy Hike with Big Pay-Off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Mount Jo is a great way to get your feet wet (figuratively speaking) in the High Peaks region. It's not a strenuous hike at all--something most can do--and it's got a great view at the top. Choose an off day to visit though. It's popular, but that popularity means that it can get a bit crowded. Still, it's always a fun jaunt.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mt. Jo...Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Pretty steep and rocky climb. Made it to the summit and it was worth the exertion. The veiw of Heart Lake and the Adirondac Mountains was really beautiful. Our 12 year old Coonhound was a better climber than I was (45)!! There were many people of all ages enjoying the hike.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Jo also viewed

 

Been to Mount Jo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Jo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.