We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best bang for your buck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Jo

Mount Jo
Lake Placid, NY
5185233441
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 41 things to do in Lake Placid
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“best bang for your buck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

up and back in 2 hours and has amazing high-peak feel and views in less than half the time....can be easily snowshoed or hiked depending on time of year

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Evans Mills, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go hiking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I had never been hiking before and we decided to try it! We absolutely loved it and can't wait to go again! It's really flat at first but then starts to get steep. The view at the top is breathtaking. Pictures don't even do it justice. It took us a couple hours to hike to the top and we had lunch at the top. We also met a chipmunk that ate right out of our hand! I would highly recommend if you decide to visit Lake Placid.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn45785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Don't waste your time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Went in December, maybe in the fall this place is great. Confusing trail and an inaccurate map make this more of pain than it needs to be. Make sure you bring hiking shoes.

Helpful?
Thank HI_96797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An Easy Hike with Big Pay-Off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Mount Jo is a great way to get your feet wet (figuratively speaking) in the High Peaks region. It's not a strenuous hike at all--something most can do--and it's got a great view at the top. Choose an off day to visit though. It's popular, but that popularity means that it can get a bit crowded. Still, it's always a fun jaunt.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LifeofThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mt. Jo...Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Pretty steep and rocky climb. Made it to the summit and it was worth the exertion. The veiw of Heart Lake and the Adirondac Mountains was really beautiful. Our 12 year old Coonhound was a better climber than I was (45)!! There were many people of all ages enjoying the hike.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Jo also viewed

 

Been to Mount Jo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing