We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place to stay right in town.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Haus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Haus to your Saves list
The Haus
2439 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice little place to stay right in town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at the Haus for 3 nights and it was a wonderful little place to stay. It is more like an apartment than a hotel room. We really loved the convenient full size kitchen! It was so nice to make a cup of tea or store baby food. The location is right in the middle of the strip which makes it nice and easy as well. The decor is very modern and minimilist - furniture is pretty much IKEA but well thought out. The floors are a bit slippery and we fell down a few times but got used to it after a while.
We stayed during Hurricane Irene and the power went out for about 2 hours and nothing worked because everything in the room is electric but luckily it wasn't out for too long. Antony was great- helped us check in and with our bags. Other than check-in you really don't see the proprieter's at all. It was a nice- home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
36
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Island City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I came by train / bus and I was very happy I selected The Haus. I was drawn by their eco friendly feel, birch / white clean decor and large rooms. My expectations were met on all points and more. The room was very large, with just the right touches of decoration.

I appreciated the Aveda products, the comfortable bed, the overall space, the welcome.
Next time I will book the room with a fireplace to top it off!
As expected there is no common areas but you are right on main street, so you have more than enough options to pick form - I waited for my bus at High Peaks with the fireplace.

I wanted a relaxing experience in style and fashion, and it's what I got; The Haus delivers what they promise on the website and that's unique.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011

Staying at The Haus was a dream come true! Our room (Suite 1) was beautiful; chic yet comfy, with all the amenities to make your stay easy and enjoyable. The room was tastefully decorated and laid out with some delightfully unique touches (loved the birch trees behind the bed!).
There was plenty to do in the Lake Placid area, whether you are looking for outdoor adventure or shopping and cafes, and the management provided a binder full of activity ideas and recommendations.
Anthony was very welcoming and personable, both before hand and during our stay. I only met Andrea very briefly but she seemed great too.
It was a pleasure to stay here- The Haus was everything I was looking for in a Lake Placid weekend getaway. I only wish I could have stayed longer, and hope I'll be able to return someday!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

This is not our first stay at The Haus and will not be our last. It is absolutely wonderful, a great mix of B&Bs and boutique hotel. The decor is very tasteful and in the style of the region without too much (love the chandelier going up the stairs, the old skis, etc.). We felt right at home. The views are gorgeous and the location is perfect, right downtown next to cafes and shops. We are two Montrealers (Lake Placid is only a short 2 hour drive from home, including stop at the border), fond of the outdoors and we love the laid back feel of the Haus. Hiking and skying are just a short ride away from the Haus. Anthony and Andrea are wonderful hosts, very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

Great accommodations - the owner was extremely helpful and had us checked in and settled within minutes (perfect after the camping segment of our trip left us craving some comfort). The suite was immaculate, and the extra space of a living room and kitchen area allowed us to spread out and make ourselves right at home. Mirror Lake was a few steps from our door, and the convenient location cannot be beat. Our experience was 100% enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

The Haus has a remarkable combination of being right in the center of town while still feeling like it's miles away from everything. We stayed in suite 8, which is on the top floor on the lake side (mirror lake - the village of Lake Placid is located on Mirror Lake, not Lake Placid, which is surrounded mostly by private homes), and it was perfect. The architecture is beautiful, the entire suite was bright and clean and furnished in a tastefully modern style. The bedroom was large with a nicely sized en suite bathroom, and the bed was very comfortable (a big plus, since we were there for the Lake Placid Marathon). The kitchen is fantastic, with a full sized refrigerator, oven/stove, coffee maker, dishes, silverware, pots, pans, and other kitchen tools. There is a nice bar in the kitchen that looks into the living room. The living room is a very comfortable place to relax, and has a door that leads to the large deck, which has a spectacular view of Mirror Lake. It was great sitting out there in the morning and night to take in the beautiful scenery. We met Anthony, the owner, when we checked in. He helped us with our (very heavy) suitcase, and was very friendly and gracious.

We've been to Lake Placid a number of times and have never been disappointed with our accommodations, but this is probably our favorite place. The combination of a beautiful suite, convenient location in town, and lovely location on the lake is unbeatable (not to mention the very reasonable rate!). We will definitely be staying at The Haus the next time we're in town.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Pros: The Haus offers just a few (about 8) apartments/suites for rent right in downtown Lake Placid. If you're looking for a very comfortable, relaxing place to stay without the hustle and bustle of the resorts then this is the place for you. They try to be as sustainable and eco-friendly as possible and it is run by a local family. The bed was very comfortable and the jaccuzi tub was great after a long day out in the snow. I love staying someplace that has a kitchen so we can have a relaxing morning drinking tea in our pajamas without having to get dressed and showered before breakfast. If it hadn't been frigid outside, the balcony overlooking Mirror Lake would have been really nice too.

Cons: The only downside here is that there is relatively little sound-proofing between the floors of the different suites. We were on the second floor and I think the people on the third floor either had a toddler wearing boots or they were clog dancing. Luckily they were quiet by 9 pm. If you're a light sleeper or worried about the noise, either book a unit on the third floor or bring earplugs or a white noise machine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adawsonellis, Owner at The Haus, responded to this review, May 13, 2010
Thank you for your comments. Since you posted this review we now request guests notify us with any issues they may have during their stay. And to your concern we replaced the area rugs with thick padded custom fit area carpets to help dampen footfalls (in all our top floor rooms). As we don't live in the rooms ourselves comments such as yours help us better address any shortfall to our remodeling.

We have done our utmost with renovations to our historic little lodge on the lake, consciously choosing to restore the hardwood floors rather than wall to wall carpet. I hope you will consider us again in warmer climes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haus

Address: 2439 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 10 Lake Placid apartment suites are each unique. These all new, large units have a modern Alpine design and amenities including jetted tubs, large flat screen TVs, bedroom A/C, and stainless appliances in FULL-SIZE* kitchens.Our Main Street, lake front location gives you a lovely “downtown” aspect of our quaint village. Please browse our rooms on our site (TheHausLP) to find the perfect layout and fit for your trip to Lake Placid.Make The Haus your Lake Placid hotel home away from home.Every suite at The Haus is equipped with:• FULL stainless steel kitchen*• Hardwood floors• Whirlpool bath• 38″ flat screen TV*• Bedroom air conditioning*• High ceilings• FREE Wi-Fi• Modern Adirondack designFour units feature large, private balconies overlooking Mirror Lake and the Mountains; ideal for a summer breeze! Most have views of the High Peaks and Olympic Venues.Unique to the area, this vacation rentalis not to be missed.The Haus On Mirror Lake is located in the village of Lake placid and conveniently located on Main Street, close to all shopping, dining, and activities. Our views are outstanding and the suites are spacious, perfect for your romantic getaway or family vacation to Lake Placid. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haus Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.