We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Want a HUGE Sandwich Selection?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Mountain Deli and Creperie

Big Mountain Deli and Creperie
2475 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
518-523-3222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 97 Restaurants in Lake Placid
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Allentown, PA
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“You Want a HUGE Sandwich Selection?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

If you answered yes, then this is the place for you! 46 sandwiches, plus 5 bread choices!!!! And we haven't even mentioned the enormous variety of crepes!!!!!!!!

I savored the "Marcy" (roast turkey, cranberry horseradish sauce, cheddar cheese, apples, & cracked pepper mayo).........WONDERFUL!

My spouse really enjoyed his "Colvin" (grilled corned beef, Swiss cheese, sauerkraut, & Russian dressing).

One interesting note is that neither of usually order seeded rye bread, but this time we both did and it was superb!

Be prepared for a line...........this place is very popular!........but the staff moves very quickly, so you'll get your order faster than you expected. Don't let the line out the door keep you from having lunch (or breakfast) here, as you will be missing out if you do.

There aren't many seats in the place, but people seem fine with waiting in another line for seating after getting their food. I know we did and it was totally worth it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    185
    90
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Selection!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The chalk board had so many choices for sandwich options! After some deliberating we made our choices, though busy were had our food quickly. Both our our sandwiches were fresh, tasty, and ample. We were able to get one on the coveted window seats to be able to people watch from. The service was very friendly and as mentioned before, they move quickly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
builth wells, wales
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing choice of tasty sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Don't go anywhere else for a sandwich this is the best, excellent for veggies and if you want a beer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwich and crepe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Places with queues usually have them for a reason. Great selection here all freshly made. Highly recommend for a snack or breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Their sandwiches are the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

If you want a great sandwich for lunch for less than $9 on the go this is the place to go. Sometimes you don't want to sit down and have table service because you want to make the most of the outdoors in a place like Lake Placid. Order a sandwich from here, fill up on the tasty treat and you won't feel hungry until dinner. Perfect for adding to your rucksack if you're heading out for a hike.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Mountain Deli and Creperie also viewed

 

Been to Big Mountain Deli and Creperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Mountain Deli and Creperie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.