We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thrills, just great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Air Motel

Alpine Air Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Placid
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Air Motel
Save
You added Alpine Air Motel to your Saves list
99 Saranac Ave., Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No thrills, just great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Yes, you will think you went into a time warp and ended up the 70's. Bottom line is that the room was comfortable and what you would expect for an older motel. It is the best value in town. Will definitely stay there again when we return for another ADK hiking trip next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed at Alpine Air Motel last week. Value for what you get is great. I stayed for one night while on a mini ski vacation. After I checked out I noticed I had forgotten a piece of clothing in washroom. Contacted hotel and owner very professional in responding to my concerns. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: The further you are from the main road the more peace and quite you will get
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 458andrewr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Travelled to Lake Placid for a weekend, got there late on a Fri and checked out on Sun. But I loved this place. It is a bit dated, but it is well maintained, clean and comfortable. There's so much to do and see in Lake Placid, there's no need to spend a lot of time in the room. The rooms have a fridge, free wi-fi, free parking, tv with enough channels. The office is not open 24 hours but they made an exception for me checking in late. It's not far off Main St and easy to find. There's a supermarket across the road and plenty of shops and restaurants on Main St.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glurch2891
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

On a last minute getaway for Labor Day weekend, we were able to get a room at the Alpine Air Motel. I think the rest of the town was sold out! Thank goodness the weather was great because the hotel was not anyplace you want to spend any time. The furnishing were so old, they could shoot a 1960s TV Sitcom here without any problems. The pool is in a chain linked cage in the parking area. The appliances and lights have to share an outlet, i.e you have to unplug one to use the other. Thank goodness it was clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. In a pinch it was okay, but just a slight improvement from sleeping in the car.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glurch2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Placid hotels

Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

For a quick overnight and a hike in the Adirondacks this motel is great....price is right. The location is perfect...near the restaurants, just outside Lake Placid and close enough to the High Peaks. You may have the pool (outdoors) to yourself. Motel is usually used by overnight guests.

Room Tip: Second floor quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodge234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My girlfriend and I went for a four-day weekend to Lake Placid. We spent little time in our room, but found the accommodations more than enough for our admittedly simple needs and expectations. We had complimentary Wi-Fi, heat and AC, a fridge, and hot running water. We could walk to the center of Lake Placid in less than half an hour. When we checked out, the guy at the desk shook my hand and thanked me for staying. We had a very good experience considering the low cost we paid to stay.

Room Tip: We only shared a wall with one room, but never heard a peep regardless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benjamin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

The Econolodge at the other end of town wanted 90+ dollars a night, got a room here for ~50.
The first room I got smelled quite a bit - made mention of this to front desk - they gave me the room next to it - it smelled less - bought a can of Febreeze, it helped. It is run down and not somewhere I would recommend to a couple or an asthmatic - but a great find for a hiker or kayaker who already smells a bit anyhow. I would stay here again, unless I found better accommodations at the same price, which in Lake Placid is probably not likely. Better than a rainy night in a tent, and close to downtown ~ 2 minute drive.

Room Tip: they were willing to provide me with another room after I found the first one a bit smelly, don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tedley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake Placid hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort & Golf Club Lake Placid
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Town and Country Motor Inn
Town and Country Motor Inn
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
#5 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 stars 994 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Air Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Air Motel

Address: 99 Saranac Ave., Lake Placid, NY 12946
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Alpine Air Hotel Lake Placid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing