We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“looking for cold weather” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mountain View Inn to your Saves list
Mountain View Inn
2548 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Lancaster,Pa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“looking for cold weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Owners are great, so is the staff. Very attentive. The room we were in is not new. The room was clean. The location is great for us. We like to walk everywhere. The outside rink is close, the inside rinks are close. Nice small coffee shop across the street overlooks the lake. If you are looking for the Ritz this is not it. If you are looking for value and good location stay here. Only caution is the patrons of the bar down the street are a bit noisy when they leave at 2:30. Only an issue if you are a light sleeper. pz

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    103
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
144
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Our second stay at the Mountain View and we'll be back again. We were up for some outdoor activities, so we really just needed a place to sleep. Rooms are clean and comfortable and reasonably priced compared to its neighbor hotels. Less than 1/2 the price of the Golden Arrow. Sure it's not ON the lake, but they have microwaves in the room (which the GA does not!). Great new HD flat screen tv, too! Nothing fancy, just a decent place to get a good night's rest.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester, ny
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Mountain view was in a perfect location close to everything. The room was nice -- not gorgeous but clean and spacious. We loved getting away to Lake Placid and I would not hesitate to stay at the Mountain View Inn again. My only complaint was the heat was hard to regulate. Other than that, it was fine.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

The Mountain View Inn is a great location within Lake Placid. It is a very short walking distance to cute little shops on main street and the movie theater. The view from our room was beautiful! The owner is friendly and helpful and the room was clean and fresh smelling. The beds were firm and comfortable, the bathroom new and well kept. In short, it is a good deal for a reasonable price. No skimping on hygiene, no ratty rug, no feeling cheap or pathetic for wanting to save money. The only thing I would have added, was scrapping ice off the driveway so it would not be slippery when walking out. But that being said, from our room we could see car after car slipping downhill while trying to get out of the garage of the Golden Arrow on their rather steep ramp. The Mountain View Inn parking was much easier to get in and out of. Oh! and walk only 20 or so steps and the Whiteface Mountain shuttle will pick you up! Lake Placid is absolutely lovely!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Spent New Year's Eve and weekend in LP. The Mtn View Inn was in a great location right on Main street. Easy walking to restaurants, shops, Olympic Center & ice rinks. Lovely evening skating on outdoor speed skating oval. Fantastic nordic skiing just a few miles up the road. Innkeepers were very inviting yet not intrusive. Great view of lake and mountains. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tnt1010
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Great place. Friendly, clean and helpful. Would absolutely stay again. Best location right in town and between shopping and athletic facility. Walkable either way.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

This was a return visit for myself and friends to Lake Placid. We were fortunate to be able to book our ( a group of 10 this time) return and stay at the Mountain View. Carol was a most hospitable host and met all of our needs with a smile. We would return again for the affordable and clean and cozy surroundings which were well located within walking distance of all the amenities of Lake Placid. My friends and I say "thanks" for making us feel welcome AGAIN!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 2548 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mountain View Inn, a family owned and operated inn located in the center of downtown Lake Placid, NY. Each of our 18 cozy rooms is furnished with a 32” flat screen television, microwave, refrigerator, and coffeemaker for your convenience. We hope you enjoy our scenic lake and mountain views, friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, and wonderful location. Enjoy your morning cup of coffee sitting out on our balcony or enjoy sitting in our Adirondack chairs and capture the view of Mirror Lake. Whether this is your first trip to Lake Placid or your 50th, we love it here and hope you will too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.