We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mountain View Inn to your Saves list
Mountain View Inn
2548 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Palm Coast, fl
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

I recently had the opportunity to visit Lake Placid and stay at this wonderful motel. The accomodations were great, the view outstanding, and all was done in a very personnal and homey way. Location is right in the middle of town, you can walk to almost everything there is to see and do. Great location, motel, and people.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    106
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
63
149
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

It was a fabulous place to stay. The view was nice. Management was great and was happy to help with anything. Our room was clean and well kept.The location was great easy access to everything in downtown Lake Placid.

  • Liked — management
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

This Hotel is a very well groomed inn. The Staff is out cleaning snow and ice all day and night. This is a well run, safe hotel and the value is great compared to the rest of inns and hotels. This review is from someone who has stayed in hotels 30+ nights in the past 4 months..

  • Liked — STAFF
  • Disliked — NONE
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

Upon booking this hotel, we spoke directly with the owner (Carol...sp?) who stated she arranged our room to be near another group in our party. The cost was fairly in expensive at $450 for 3 nights stay. HOWEVER, there were three different rates given to the three rooms rented by our party ours being the most expensive. We did not argue these prices with the staff, apparently they barter and we will remember this next time.

Upon arrival, the property was found to be neat and clean, but dated. The staff was friendly and informative. Once we entered our room, the gentleman who checked us in walked us to the room and demonstrated the use of the heater, and showed us the view. There were two double beds, a shaky TV on a stand, two arm chairs and a table, and on the floor a small refrigerator, and a microwave. There was a dresser and a mirror as in all hotels. We had a balcony which overlooked much of Main St., and in the distance the Olympic Ski Jumps. We could watch the dog sleds on Mirror Lake with a few of the High Peaks in the background.

As far as the stay, it suited our needs, was clean, and as I said friendly. The water did fluctuate in temperature while showering, but the pressure was consistently ample. The rooms were cleaned daily by the staff even given the fact that we didn't leave our room until well after noontime. We may stay again in the future if all that is needed are the basic needs (shower, toilet, and a bed).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The buildings interior and exterior are quite dated.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrnMtnState
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

Very nice room. Clean as could be. Loved the balcony despite the spiders. Need exhasut vent in bathroom...the steam, heat and odor made for a difficult start to the day. Bring earplugs on the weekend...noise from bars and partygoers on mainstreet kept me up till 2AM. Just started to fall asleep when the loud street sweeper kicked in around 3AM. Gave up on sleep after that as had to get up early and hit the road again. Are there police in Lake Placid? Seems non-existant from what I could see....it's very much like a town out of the old wild west. By the way...who is that strange man who stands on the sidewalk down by the theater year after year with a beggers cup for money in his hand? He just stands there, in the same place all day with his cup held in front of him. When I walked by him, he said some weird things and it scared me!! Again, where is Lake Placed law enforcement?

  • Liked — Balcony with great views of Whiteface Mountain and Main Street action.
  • Disliked — Noise Noise and more Noise.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

We love staying here in the heart of the Olympic village. Each time we come we are treated very well by the owners, Carol and Vic. The room is spacious and clean and the view of the mountains breathtaking.
The Olympic center is a very short walk from the inn and with my husband's early morning figureskating lessons, it makes it easier for him.
Always a pleasure to stay here!

  • Liked — The wonderful location.
  • Disliked — Having to go home.
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

Ok, so I did choose this hotel very quickly, based on location, which was ideal, but that is where the pluses for this hotel end.

Our stay was marked by incredibly rude treatment from the staff from the moment we walked in the door. They were not considerate regarding their limited parking situation and did not provide simple amenities such as towels or pillows when asked. My husband was told that we were allotted one extra pillow for the room for both of us, however this may have been told to him in haste so that the employee could go back to watching his television show; he made it very clear that our mere presence was annoying him. Although I will agree that the room was clean it was incredibly basic, with a dorm room refrigerator and microwave on the floor. The decor has not been updated in decades either. The bathroom was not ventilated, which I assume violates standards, and the water temperature was either freezing cold or scalding. The shower head is located at about 5 feet so it would work for children but not adults, needless to say I opted to take a bath but the tub was broken and the water drained out. The walls and ceilings are paper thin, so we heard the children above us stomping around at all hours of the night, horrible. I am also not a fan of the basic locks on the door for a hotel that has its' doors leading directly outside, even if it is located in a safe town.

For the amount of money that this place costs, for the location only, I would never recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 2548 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mountain View Inn, a family owned and operated inn located in the center of downtown Lake Placid, NY. Each of our 18 cozy rooms is furnished with a 32” flat screen television, microwave, refrigerator, and coffeemaker for your convenience. We hope you enjoy our scenic lake and mountain views, friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, and wonderful location. Enjoy your morning cup of coffee sitting out on our balcony or enjoy sitting in our Adirondack chairs and capture the view of Mirror Lake. Whether this is your first trip to Lake Placid or your 50th, we love it here and hope you will too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.