We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mountain View Inn to your Saves list
Mountain View Inn
2548 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Latham, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a pleasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We and another couple stayed in our favorite hotel. Excellent accommodations as always. Quiet both evenings and cozy as ever. Perfect location and close to everything we love about Lake Placid. The only thing we dislike is having to leave. See you soon. thanks for everything!!
Andy/Donna- Paul /Yvonne

Room Tip: Front rooms around the office offer great views and easy access in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    103
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
144
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

While the location is great, the room and service was disgusting!

The Mold smell in the room is a health hazard. It was disgusting! The front desk employee ran to turn on the heat before we entered the room. Once I entered the room, it was obvious that he did that to dry the moist & moldy air.

The most disgusting part was that a white multi legged bug was crawling on me while I was asleep. My son noticed it and yelled to wake me up. We were both freaking out. I left multi messages for Carol, the owner, to call me back, but she never did.
We tried to cancel the 2nd night and leave, but because of their stupid policy they don’t refund you. You leave, you lose. There are no exceptions to their rule.

I will never stay there again, nor recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtviewin2011, Owner at Mountain View Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We appreciate your review. It does seem strange nothing was mentioned about the mold (where?) or bug until the issue of the second night was mentioned. One of our busiest week-ends we were called at least 5 times during the day to see if we had re-rented the room as we always refund if we can re-rent the room. After repeated phone calls this guest came back and stayed the second night. Would you go back into a room that had mold and bugs? I think not. This customer had stayed with us before and gave us a good review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This motel is in a great location in Lake Placid! It is convenient to everything and the staff is very friendly! The rooms are clean and comfortable. We stayed here while my daughter competed in the Empire State Winter Games and the location was perfect for getting to the arena quickly. I would definitely stay here again and I would definitely recommend it to friends or family!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our first time visiting Lake Placid so we didn't know what to expect. The Mountain View Inn was perfectly located, allowing us to walk to all the bars and restaurants. I was pleasantly surprised that their accomodations which included wi-fi. I would definately recommend this establishment to anyone spending a weekend in Lake Placid.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

We rented the cottage and It met our needs and beyond. The people who are I charge of the hhotel and this cottage were so nice! We are planning to stay here again when we have a winter event to attend in Lake Placid.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is our 7th year staying at the Mountain View Inn. It's the perfect place because you park and everything is within walking distance downtown. The staff is helpful. We snowshoed Esther on one day and XC-skied the Jackrabbit the next. We can wait until the next time.

Room Tip: all rooms seem ok to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just spent the weekend at this hotel. It was the only hotel that had rooms available which made me skeptical. I was pleasantly surprised, this hotel was centrally located in the middle of town and the rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. This will be my first call next time I'm heading to Lake Placid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 2548 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mountain View Inn, a family owned and operated inn located in the center of downtown Lake Placid, NY. Each of our 18 cozy rooms is furnished with a 32” flat screen television, microwave, refrigerator, and coffeemaker for your convenience. We hope you enjoy our scenic lake and mountain views, friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, and wonderful location. Enjoy your morning cup of coffee sitting out on our balcony or enjoy sitting in our Adirondack chairs and capture the view of Mirror Lake. Whether this is your first trip to Lake Placid or your 50th, we love it here and hope you will too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.