We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mountain View Inn to your Saves list
Mountain View Inn
2548 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Lake Placid B&B and Inns
Reading, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived at the Mountain View Inn on our bikes during a rain storm. We were treated wonderfully and greeted warmly. Our stay was wonderful, the rooms were nice and met our needs fully. The view is lovely, especially from the middle and upper floors. The trolley stop is right in front, and they let us park our bikes under the awning away from the rain.

The chais on the balconey allowed for comfortable people and scenery watching. This is a lovely place to stay, not fancy, but very nice and I will return to stay again.

Room Tip: Middle and upper floors have better view Lower floor is easiest carry in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    103
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
144
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great location, Staff is very friendly and attentive, Hotel is very clean, and maid serviec is excellent, Great views of Mirror lake, located on the trolly stop,right in town where all the action is, priced lower the MOST hotels in same area, and is a great value for the money....Will return again next year

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Mountain View Inn is a chalet-style 2-storey inn on the main drag but slightly up the hill. The upper rooms have dedicated sections of the balcony, though the door opening isn't screened (didn't need it in Sept).

The picture is misleading, it is not a picture of the Mountain View Inn, it is the picture of the view from the inn. It shows across the main street to other hotels and the small lake/mountain view mainly available to the more expensive upper right rooms (where I stayed). Views of the other mountains in the distance are nice, but as there are no side windows, you can only see them from the balcony. If you insist on a waterview room, you will have to try at the large hotels mainly at the northern end. My bottom line for two weeknights in mid Sept, incl taxes, was $237 for two nights.

Nobody unplugged my phone and laptop chargers. I plugged them into the TV strip; they didn't need it for the vacuum.

Lake Placid is a nice town with multiple restaurants within walking distance. Very little waterfront activity (Mirror Lake) as the hotels dominate. There is a sidewalk walking route that goes around the lake.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunn loring
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Location offers views of Mirror Lake and Whiteface Mountain and is right at the shop and restaurant row and around the corner from the Olympic venue. A common balcony with chairs outside your door lets you enjoy the scenery and/or people watch. Being able to easily walk everywhere is a huge plus. The room was a reasonable size, clean, and the bathroom updated (no ugly grout!). Think a well-kept Hampton Inn. The staff was friendly and helpful. There are only a few other close-in hotels and they were much more expensive. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at one end also have a view of the main street. Smoking is allowed outside of your room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our first time up to Lake Palicid, it was excellent. the rooms are very clean, can not beat the location and the rates were more than fair. I can not say enough about this hotel. It really was wonderful great exprience for my whole family. I would definetly go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband has stayed at The Mountain View Inn several times when on trips with "the guys" but this was my first experience. I LOVE the location easily walkable to all the restaurants, shopping and the lake. The room was a good size and very clean. The person at the desk was efficient and friendly. I would suggest asking for a second floor room (better view). I was put off by the people sitting in front of their room drinking beer for several hours; I was worried they would be up partying all night but that was no issue they were sleeping before we even made it back to our room.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Good location, reasonable cost. Good place if you're not expecting 5-star quality. Pillows were pretty stiff. Parking is a bit tricky if you are on motorcycles - the lot is on a steep incline. Overall, recommended.

Room Tip: One caution - try to take the 2nd floor rooms. The building is built of wood, so you can hear your n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Inn

Address: 2548 Main Street, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Mountain View Inn, a family owned and operated inn located in the center of downtown Lake Placid, NY. Each of our 18 cozy rooms is furnished with a 32” flat screen television, microwave, refrigerator, and coffeemaker for your convenience. We hope you enjoy our scenic lake and mountain views, friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, and wonderful location. Enjoy your morning cup of coffee sitting out on our balcony or enjoy sitting in our Adirondack chairs and capture the view of Mirror Lake. Whether this is your first trip to Lake Placid or your 50th, we love it here and hope you will too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.