We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Prague Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Prague Motor Inn to your Saves list
Prague Motor Inn
6048 Sentinel Road/Route 73, Lake Placid, NY 12946   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Western NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I booked a suite here after reading some glowing reviews. What a mistake! The pool shouldn't even be open - if there is a filtration system, it wasn't on. There was a ridiculous amount of gunk at the bottom, the cement around the edge was crumbling and the water was turning green. The large, overgrown bushes surrounding the door to our room were covered in spiders. The suite was very large, but sadly that was the only plus. The musty smell was overwhelming. There was a window that was off it's track and wouldn't close. The door lock was nothing more than a standard bathroom door lock you might have in your home. Definitely not a feeling of safety here! There were cobwebs in all window blinds. This place is severely neglected. We were so disappointed that we didn't finish our stay here and booked a much nicer (and less expensive!) room elsewhere.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    2
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This motel ended up being an excellent value and a great size for the 5 of us in our family. We had a room on the second floor of one of the "Chalets" which had 2 Queen beds, a small kitchen, table with chairs, bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and a large balcony overlooking the swimming pool and river. Room is a bit dated but was clean, comfortable and large enough for 5 of us.
The proprietor, Charlie, was very friendly and welcoming.
Only thing that wasn't as advertised was the pool was not heated but the kids didn't really care!
I would definitely return to this motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Was doing a last minute search for a room for two nights for the Lake Placid Ironman and came upon an opening at the Prague. We jumped on it and we're glad we did. Yes, it's old and yes the office doesn't look too inviting BUT the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Everything worked. The pool was refreshing. The owner couldn't have been any nicer. What really made this perfect for us was the Prague is on both the bike and the run course and as a result we got to see our participant go out and back twice on the bike and out and back twice on the run. The owner told us to feel free to take the pool chairs to the front lawn to watch the event which we did. (and returned them when we were through) If you need granite countertops and a flat screen TV, this is not the place for you. If a clean and comfortable bed and bathroom and a very large living space (including full kitchen) are enough for you, give this place a try. One tiny shortcoming....bring your own shampoo. If we come back to Lake Placid for another Ironman, we'll definitely try to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Wow. What a find. This is NOT a Hilton or Holiday Inn. it is a very reasonable- owner-lives here bunching of cottages and outbuildings. Our family of 5 enjoyed a spacious place with fireplace, full kitchen etc... Thank you to Charlie for the kind welcome, the firepit set up (he even left some nice long sticks when he heard we wanted to roast marshmallows!) It was very clean, wifi good. Had trouble with phones, but I think it was due to a storm. Very close to village. We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were going to stay at a different property and it fell through last minute. The day before our trip I called Prague Motor Inn and booked a room for a the next day. I am so glad we found this place, it was the first call that I made. This place was perfect for us. We are simple people and do not need all the luxuries. We rented the 2 bedroom cottage w/ jacuzzi which has a full kitchen with gas range. It had everything we needed for a fair price. We brought the whole family. Myself, my wife, our 3 month old and our dog. The cottage was basically a house and it was clean and tidy. There was a fire pit in the back of the property which we took full advantage of and we also had internet access which was great. Charlie the owner was very nice to us and would setup a fire for us whenever we wanted. We had unlimited wood to burn also. The buildings may not look like much on the outside, but they fine on the inside. Do not expect a five star resort, but if you want value for your money this is the place to stay. The owner is very down to earth and was very good to us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This place is great for any groups or just a couples weekend away. The property and owner (Charlie) are worth the stay. You can cook on grills, swim in the pool, and/or hang by a bonfire in the evening (owner supplies firewood and pit). What more could you ask for? My rugby team and I have stayed here several times and we always enjoy the trip. You are just a short walk to historic Lake Placid and many other local sights. Something different and a bit of a change from this fast paced World we live in.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north pole, AK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

Charles was very nice. We appreciated his hospitality. He lives on the property and that made us feel safer. Basically he lives in the front house and had his series of rooms in buildings in back that he rents out.

Yeah, 70,s but we rented his suite and it was very spacious! Huge actually especially compared to your typical hotel room. 
He Extended to us a military rate and we appreciated it.

CLEAN! Thank you!

Our suite was 2 adjoining rooms w kitchenette in the middle. Modern fridge and gas stove.
It was nice to be able to close doors for privacy if needed. 
2 beds in each room. 
 Plenty of storage space for unpacking. Fireplace well stocked w wood. 
LOVED the Water view from the room!  Beautiful woods surrounding. 
Also, room looks out directly on pool so you get to keep a perfect eye out on your children. 
Nice oversized window let's you take the entire view in. Practically like sitting right outside except in a/c room. Lol
Appreciated the use of the crib verses a pack n play. 
Highly recommend this place for a family due to the space. Bathrooms altough small, both had bathtubs and medicine cabinets. 
Large wide mantel above fireplace and right next to bathroom 1,  allowed us ample space to store additional toiletries. 
For us, having the space and view was far better than a swanky hotel. 
Very good deal! 
Great water pressure in showers. 
Tap water tastes like spring water.
Very good. 

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prague Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague Motor Inn

Address: 6048 Sentinel Road/Route 73, Lake Placid, NY 12946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake Placid
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Lake Placid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Prague Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prague Hotel Lake Placid

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prague Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.